We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great area, convenient to all subway lines”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #68 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You pay a price in New York for hotels. That said, often one pays for the luxury of a chain hotel and finds little charm. This jewel in Chelsea is not a luxury hotel, but it is full of charm. The staff is uber-friendly and well-versed on any aspect of the city that one might need to know. They go out of their way to help you find subway connections, restaurants, and shopping as well as providing good advice for making the most of your stay. All of the staff are full of personality, and their demeanor shows how much they enjoy their employment. The rooms are small but well appointed. There is no elevator. If you are limited in mobility I would suggest asking for a lower floor; I had a fifth floor walkup. The breakfast each morning is excellent. The selection is broad enough to please any taste. Charlie, the house cat, is a charmer as well. I felt like I was staying with friends. That is rare in Manhattan. The proximity to the West Village was a plus for me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Remember . . . no elevator. Plan accordingly when you reserve your room. And, get a metro pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronspeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a result of the outstanding reviews. The staff are very friendly, and in particular Troy was spot on with restaurant recommendations. However we were disappointed with the quality of our room: barely wide enough for a double bed with a very basic and small bathroom. Decor is fun & quirky but the bed, furniture, linens, bathroom fixtures, etc are what I would expect at a budget hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank niamhleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Chelsea Pines after reading so many great reviews and coupled with the great draw of Charlie, it was a great fit for us! Couldnt have been made to feel more welcome in any way and the place is in a great location to the cool nearby Chelsea Market.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

loved it!service abit dreary sometimes.hotel food was ok We ate breakfast ourdoors every morning and throroughly enjoyed that. Food was great, daily news sheet thanks 2 everyone else to manoeuvre the subway and buses. One tip, get a Metro pass if you are there for a while...it is invaluable!!

Room Tip: lots of local restaurants near by that are cheap and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thee-tennis-queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm not sure how I can sing the praises of Chelsea Pines Inn more than the reviews already on here, but I will have a go!

Chelsea Pines Inn is a godsend for anyone basing themselves in New York, either for work or pleasure. I travel a lot (regionally in the UK) and in Asia and the Middle East - and can honestly say the level of service, care, accommodation and extras will give the Marriott a run for it's money (and I love the Marriott!) - in fact it could learn a lot from this small and friendly establishment!

I stayed for 5 nights last week, and it exceeded all expectations - albeit high expectations. I have stayed in various locations in NYC, but this is by far the best. In the heart of Chelsea, with the Meatpacking district and Greenwich Village on your doorstep, you cannot go wrong, The High Line is 5 mins, and Chelsea Market just around the corner - fabulous, We spent most eveining aroud the area., as you are spoilt for choice with dozens of fabulous bars and restaurants - and daily recommendations from the very lovely Troy, in the daily newsletter that is popped under your door each morning. Plus the vast list of local recommendations that you receive upon check-in.

The nearest subway is 2 mins down the road, and approx 3 or 4 stops to Rockerfeller centre - so exploring the delights of NYC is so easy!

Now, it is the small thoings that make such a difference - many that you would not get in a big hotel without paying extra (Marriott - take note). Free wifi for your own devices, a business centre with pcs and a printer to print your boarding passes, do last minute planning, tea/coffee and delicious home-made cakes and cookies 24 hours, and a wonderful staff!! The breakfast is a joy to behold too - I had to resist temotation with the daily freshly baked bread and cakes! Even in bigger chain hotels you may well have coffe making facilities in your room, but it is so much nicer to have this in a communal area on the ground floor/outdoor patio, where you are not confined to your room!! Like I say, its the small things, but really they make a huge difference!!

A big big thank you to all the staff for making this stay so exceptional - in particular the lovely Troy and Jay. And not forgetting, the very furry Charlie, who is the very special resident cat who adds to the homely feeling.

One more thing. In addition to the stylish and quirky decor of the rooms, the bed and bed linen are devine - and so important when you have spent the day walking for hours around NYC! I have had back ache recently, and since having fabulous night's sleeps here, have now ordered a far better bed at home. Plus - thank you so much for the BIG towels - such a novelty these days.

Well done to everyone at Chelsea Pines - I shall be recommending you to all my colleagues and friends, and will, without question, stay with you again on my next trip to New York!

Room Tip: 406 was a slighlty bigger room than some of the others, so it was nice to have a bit more space for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoedanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were so glad that we had heard about Chelsea Pines from Trip Advisor. It was beyond our expectations! Our room was small but perfectly thought out. My husband even had a desk to do necessary e-mail/downloading pictures etc. In our reservations, we were asked whether we wanted a room facing the garden and I believe we could request a floor. We are over 60 so did not want to be slogging suitcases up flights of stairs but the staff offered to do this for us, so it wasn't a problem. We found it very quiet. The first day we were welcomed warmly by Anna and she gave us a brochure of area businesses, which was helpful. We did the Highline from one end to the other and back and it was a great introduction to people watching in New York and the unique use of space. The vegetation was lovely and it was great to have a vigorous walk. It is busier at the start but the crowd thins as you go further. The Chelsea market is just around the corner. Our son and his wife stayed in the Times Square area and it was certainly a lot more hectic... we were always glad to "head home" to Chelsea Pines. We ate breakfast ourdoors every morning and throroughly enjoyed that. Food was great, daily news sheet and great help by Jay and everyone else to manoeuvre the subway and buses. One tip, get a Metro pass if you are there for a while...it is invaluable!! Being animal lovers we thought Charlie, the cat, was a welcome addition.

Room Tip: Probably overlooking the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the moment we rang the door bell our stay was memorable as Jay and his staff treated us as family. The room was spotless, breakfast foodstuffs were a great way to fuel a frenetic day but most importantly Jay's advice was priceless. From restaurant suggestions to transit advice, the Chelsea Pines Team helped make our NYC stay a magical experience. Highly recommended. And try the Lobster Roll at Chelsea Market - it's to die for!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank islacurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 473 in New York City
971 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 473 in New York City
733 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
1,519 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#147 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#129 of 473 in New York City
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing