We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service! Clean, clean clean!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Five Star Service! Clean, clean clean!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I highly recommend Chelsea Pines Inn for your stay in NYC! The location is amazing for this inn, right at the 14th Street subway station, one block from the amazing Chelsea Market and the Highline. The inn is very quiet and the soundproofing is great from city street noise. They offer a complimentery breakfast each day with cheese, yogurt, bread, jam cereal, etc...and the outdoor patio area is very nice. The staff was wonderful, they carried our luggage up to our suite on the 5th floor. Whatever we needed, they would help us out. Troy is very helpful and was a joy to deal with! I rarely ever give a hotel a 5 star rating, but the Chelsea Pines Inn is deserving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,671
    320
    73
    17
    18
See reviews for
283
1,072
259
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Another stay at the PInes. If we cant get a room here we wont go to NYC. This place is that good!. Thought twice about posting on here as it means we might not get a room but Jay and his great family of staff deserve the review.
I love movies and love the rooms named after stars and the posters. Jay, Troy and the staff are always eager to hear what the guests have done to see whther it is worth putting in the Chelsea Morning. They love feedback. We went to a crap show and Jay was wanting to hear our experience, it was a good story, ask him lol.
All in all a fantastic hotel in a great location and a great price. But please dont all rush there as we want to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

...you'll love the rooms here. I was in the Jeff Chandler room on the 2nd Floor facing the garden. It was perfect for one person, but would be too small for two. Updated bath was excellent and amenities were replaced daily. The continental breakfast is top notch and European in style, but the space is tight, which means you'll often bump into fellow guests. Location is perfect with a subway stop 1/2 block away, the High Line about 3 blocks away and the wonderful Chelsea Market about 2 blocks away. (Definitely plan to dine at least once at one of the several venues in the Chelsea Market, but be aware that they close fairly early - 9:00 or so.)
Staff were excellent without exception and very eager to provide neighborhood and beyond suggestions. They even arranged for fixed price car service to JFK. Highly recommended for a solo traveler or, in a larger room, a couple.

Room Tip: Unless you prefer urban noise, ask for a room facing the rear garden. As others have noted - no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Chelsea Pines Inn is the place I recommend ever since my wife and i spent a wonderful week in this special place: quality and customized services, dedicated team (caring, professional and passionate). This hotel has the size of a boutique hotel, the services any business traveler needs and touch of "i'm home" that few B&B manage to reach. Congratulations to Jay and his team, l look forward to my next stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gae-bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very friendly, good service and helpful staff, room is not to big but is very clean.
Small breakfast is very good : cheese, bread, jam, some fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffe, tea, soft cheese.
Bathroom is separated WC from shower (practical).
The bed is too soft for us. Be aware that there is no elevator, so going up or down with luggage is hard even hotel staff is very kind to help.
Safe box in your room as well a small refigerator, also have a internet room so you can print your boarding pass (no charge)
Rooms are named after old American movie stars, room with the old film posters of the movie star.
Neighbordhood is nice, half block to subway lines A,C,E and 2 blocks for lines 1,2,3
Near High Line Park, that we didn´t know about and they recomended
We recomend the Pizza restaurant Rockys almost crossing the street from the hotel, they are open until 5:00 am

Room Tip: We staid in first floor (no elevator) and in the back so it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmarrufo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raalte, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located in the Meatpacking district, which is vibrant and gorgeous & a great place to explore from. The subway is right out front. All the rooms are named after famous movie stars and you are treated like one of the family. Very friendly & dedicated staff who make you feel right at home & are very helpful. We loved the breakfast with all the fresh fruit, joghurt, all kinds of tea and coffee, bagels, muffins and cereals. The garden is like an italian patio.
Wonderful location, wonderful place, wonderful staff!
I hope to come back.
Great Place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Chelsea Pines. It is convenient to several subway lines and within walking distance to the Highline Park and Union Square. The service was exceptional and the staff is upbeat. They serve a complimentary breakfast each morning which was a real treat. There are no elevators so we learned to pack for the day each morning. The staff will help you with your bags as you arrive and depart. We will definitely stay here each time as we return to NYC to visit with our granddaughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkeley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
807 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing