We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #9 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chelsea Pines Inn was a wonderful place to stay to really have a taste of what it's like to live in the City. The rooms are very nice and homey, the staff personal and very accommodating. Very easy access to any place you want to go. It was just terrific staying in such a personal hotel. It really made my trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    284
    51
    12
    13
See reviews for
261
1,015
235
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A personal hotel with extremely helpful staff. Rooms are also rather big for NYC, and the location is good with the E- and L-train stations right next to the hotel. The breakfast is also good and sufficient, which is rather exceptional in the US/NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tuomas_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wonderful sums up the Chelsea Pines just fine. Excellent location,comfortable accommodations, extraordinary staff. After the great included breakfast,the entire city is easily accessible by subway located minutes from the inn,or, you can just enjoy the neighborhood that contains many fine restaurants, shops, art galleries, and, the lovely Highline, an urban park.When in New York, the Chelsea Pines Inn is always our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn from June 23rd to June 27th in the Ann-Margaret room, and everything good that you read here is true, the Chelsea Pines is an absolute gem. The owner Jay has assembled a fabulous team of people to work here, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful and really seems to enjoy working here. If you're like me and place a priority on cleanliness, you will be completely satisfied. We loved the old-Hollywood celebrity themed rooms, and the breakfast each morning was fantastic (my husband particularly enjoyed the fresh-baked 'bread of the day' each morning). We also appreciated the cookie jar and the lemonade or iced tea made available all day in the kitchen. And we loved Charlie, who is a delight.

The location is excellent, it's located on the same block as a subway station, and within easy walking distance to the Highline, fabulous shopping, and incredible restaurants.

We are planning to return to New York next year and we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We started out our vacation knowing it would be an excellent adventure but little did we know how much the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn would take it over the top. We received a warm welcome, never had to worry about how to get from one place to another. Their restaurant recommendations were on the money. We felt at home especially coming down for breakfast in the mornings. It felt like the other guests were family as we shared our previous day's experiences. Jay and his staff are awesome!! Wouldn't have changed anything about our trip. Thanks again, Jay, Anna, Romel, and Troy, for sharing in our celebration. This will always be our "home away from home" when in NY.

Room Tip: If you can't walk stairs, please be sure to let them know as there is no elevator due to the age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StraitTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to New York City for the first time, we have used Trip Advisor before to independently book a hotel so thought we would use Trip Advisor again.
When I read the Trip Advisor reviews I always hope they are accurate,but I always have that anxious wait until I see the hotel and room where I will be staying and call 'home' for the next few days/weeks, so when my wife and I arrived at The Chelsea Pines Inn we wasn't disappointed. We received a warm welcome from Jay, and once the formalities of credit cards and hair dryers was sorted ( lthough the rooms don't have a hair dryer they are available on request) Jay gave us a thorough description of places of interest, bars, restaurants and shops local to the area including maps. Our room was on the second floor (UK first floor) The Susan Haywood room, to be honest I thought the room was very competitively priced (basing this on London Hotels), it was clean, the bed was firm and very comfy (we stayed for 15 nights) and it was just what we needed for a City holiday - somewhere to eat breakfast, sleep and shower, I was surprised to find a fridge which came in very handy(especially when there wasn't a hair dryer as standard in the room). The breakfast was excellent (some plain bread for toasting would be a good addition for the British visitors) and convenient, it certainly stopped us wasting time looking for somewhere to get breakfast each day. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Rumel and Anna. I would defiantly recommend this Hotel to stay in, it is ideally located, only 2 minutes from the Subway station. The Meat Packing area is very vibrant, and the Highline beautifully planted like an English Country Garden - All of New York is very accessable from this professionally run hotel just make sure you pack some comfy shoes, New York is a giant city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Badgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been returning to this hotel for 2 years now and they never failed me.

You will find rooms quite small but I have stayed in several hotels around New York City and small-sized rooms is very normal for a standard ave hotel rate unless you are willing to pay more than USD500 a night.

I don't really mind going up and down the stairs. I have been accommodated to all the floors of this hotel from 1st to 5th floor and it is not a problem for me even without the elevator. Helps me burn the calories!!! Especially after eating all those delicious choco chips and oreos from hotel's kitchen!

Breakfast is delicious and filling which will energize you for your days' activities. They have microwave, bread toaster and coffee maker in their kitchen which you may use anytime of the day. For me, I normally go to NY for business and usually exhausted to go out at night for dinner. Hotel's kitchen is very homey and I don't really mind eating both breakfast and dinner while watching tv. :-)

Hotel staff and service is one of the major factor for me when I choose my hotel. And Chelsea Pines Inn never failed me when it comes to service and friendliness. They have the friendliest and most accommodating staff. I always feel welcomed and their sincerity comes from the heart.

Jay, the owner as I observed, is totally hands-on his business and I believe this what's makes him successful. Congratulations Jay!!!

Thanks to the following, Al, Troy, Daniel, Anna, Rumel and the rest of the staff! I will see you again in September!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,944 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#2 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,069 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing