We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Perfect Place To Stay In NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #9 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place To Stay In NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Chelsea Pines over Easter (apologies for the delay in writing this review!) and found it the most perfect place to stay. The staff were so welcoming and friendly it made us feel right at home, and they were more than happy to give advice and help with booking events. We decided to book one of the larger rooms and got the Rock Hudson, which was spacious and nicely done out. The room was kept fastidiously clean by the cleaning staff, who were also very friendly. The position of the hotel is very good - there is a subway station within 30 seconds that gives easy access to the whole of Manhattan and beyond, but also many places are walkable and the great restaurants and shops of West Village are pretty much on the doorstep.

We got engaged whilst in NYC and after we mentioned it to the receptionist, we came back to our room the following day to find a box of artisan chocolate, roses and a lovely card from the staff. It was a lovely gesture and summed up the attitude of all the staff.

If you're planning on visiting NYC, you won't do any better than Chelsea Pines!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iwanroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    284
    50
    12
    13
See reviews for
261
1,013
234
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just stayed a couple of days at the Chelsea Pines Inn. This was my second visit. My favourite place to stay in NY. Jay and his team are just wonderful people, taking care of you and making me feel at home! Chelsea Pines inn is in a great neighbourhood with lovely dining places all around and easy access to public transport. A great place for a business woman travelling on her own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Have just spent 10 days staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn for my first visit to NYC. Couldn't have chosen a better home away from home. The Chelsea Pines team were brilliant, efficient, helpful and caring, friendly and welcoming, no matter what time we got home. The rooms are spacious, clean, filled with great film star posters which make each room individual and interesting. Loved the breakfasts laid out each morning and the all day coffee and cookies. Can't wait to go back. Jay and his team have got it right!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiesabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I reserved a room for my sons 24th birthday present. He was not familiar with New York and J ad his staff made it so easy. They even made cupcakes for his bd. where would you ever get that personal attention. The location was great, near subways. This is a gem.

Room Tip: You have to walk stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovemustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Exceptionally friendly, clean, lovely breakfast, cute rooms, fantastic location, great service, lovely ambience - this hotel deserves every possible endorsement, as we had a fantastic time there. Will have to do a lot of training to work off an excessive intake of Oreos from the cosy cafe/kitchen area ;)

Room Tip: You have to have good legs to climb to the rooms on the 5th floor - but the staff carried our bags f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can't say enough about my stay at the Chelsea Pines. The staff is so helpful and friendly. I was there for my sister's 40th birthday weekend, and we had a fantastic stay. The breakfasts are awesome and visits from the Inn's kitty make you feel at home. I will be back for certain. Hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chelsea Pines Inn is my favorite place to stay in New York. The employees are so friendly and helpful, the location is perfect and the price is right. They have a great breakfast, rooms are fine. Make your reservations early since they fill up quick.

Room Tip: Don't book through a booking engine (Expedia, Booking.com etc) Call and introduce yourself and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,933 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing