We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A unique find in a busy city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #28 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A unique find in a busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed a few weeks ago while looking for an apartment for my son, who will be starting graduate school. Chelsea Pines made an otherwise daunting experience pleasant. The location and relaxed atmosphere were major bonuses. We could eat a wonderful (and included) breakfast before pounding the pavement, stop back mid-day for coffee and biscotti (also on the house) and enjoy the use of free Wi-Fi at night to contact relators. A true bargain for the excellent location.
Not your average place to stay, rather a unique experience. Clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly and awesome breakfasts, which alone would cost $20 in the city.
Convenient parking garage right next door, really met all our needs. My son found a great apartment, we learned a lot about the neighborhood, and will surely be back when we visit him.

Room Tip: Compact, yet comfortable. You're in NYC...how much time are you going to spend in your room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    303
    65
    15
    18
See reviews for
276
1,060
250
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chelsea is located in a fantastic part of NY and has a beautiful garden and kitchen facility. Also, I noticed at some hotels they love to give you an expensive looking room but the place just isn't scrubbed and clean. This place really cleaned their bathrooms nicely.

I really liked how much character it had but what really made it for me was the service, they were incredibly thoughtful and friendly. I happened to mention to one member of the staff that I was going to a birthday dinner and when I got back to my room in the evening, I had such a lovely surprise from the staff!

It really made me feel special and was such a wonderful end to the day. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberrohrdorf
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

you guys are amazing! location is perfect, close to nice restaurants, the subway and the beautiful greenwich village! staff is very friendly, charming and helpful with everything you want! we will come back for sure, there's no better place to stay in nyc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetoVoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
305 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and daughter spent a week in NY for tourism and shopping and based on Trypadvisor booked in Chelsea Pines Inn, the experience was great, located in a very convenient place with a nice set up of the rooms and the best was a very nice attidute of all the staff of the hotel. everything was settled promptly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holstein, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First trip to NYC for my wife, so we chose Chelsea Pines due to the many positive reviews!
I have traveled quite a lot over the years. I have found this place to be a nice change of pace from the larger hotels uptown or the other dispassionate lay-your-head-down operations in the city.
One way I have found over the years to get the sense of place is to say, “Yes, it is my first visit here and what would you recommend.” From here it doesn't take long to measure up a place or the staff that runs it. I found them to be knowledgeable, honest, and helpful…very much the genuine article!
Chelsea Pines Inn does live up to the many expectations given from previous reviews, and that takes very special people to make that happen week in and week out!
It is simply in the details and customer attentiveness that Chelsea Pines separates it from the rest, and I would say that comes from the excellent hiring choices made by the owner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at this fantastic and friendly hotel with its wonderful staff. Family feeling and always a nice word and caring questions. Unexpected services are for example the nice breakfast (and it's included in the room rate) and the "office room" with possibilities to surf on the internet and even use the printer, all for free. Free wifi on the rooms, of course. Most af all we enjoyed the atmosphere. We will never choose another hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a Wonderful Stay In This Very Friendly Hotel.
Our 1st Time In NY, Celebrating My 60th Bday.
The Owner, Jay And The Entire Team Were Extremely Welcoming
And Very Helpful Indeed...They Went out of their way to make us feel
At Home.
The Room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious.
Jay and his staff have created a brilliant ambience.
I was Very Touched By The Card And Red Roses Which Appeared in our room.
The Chelsea Pines Inn Is The Only Place To Stay In NY....I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#321 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#14 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing