We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've found our home away from home in NYC at the Chelsea Pines Inn.

This was our third stay three years in a row. No complaints.

The staff - outstanding. Willing to help with anything. Friendly, and outgoing with great local tips. Do listen to their restaurant tips. They recommend some amazing places where you'll be the only tourist in the restaurant surrounded by locals.

The location - can't be beat. Close to the A,C,E, 1,2,3, L, and even BDFM and 456 subway lines. It's Manhattan and nothing is too far away, especially with the subway right out the door!

The value - terrific. You can't beat the value. Decent room sizes. We've stayed in smaller rooms in years past but for the past 2 years have stayed in the Deluxe which we like just fine. I highly recommend it. Walking up to the 5th floor is never a challenge. They provide a great free breakfast. The mimosas and salmon offered around New Years every morning were great!

There are no complaints with the CPI or its staff. They are the best of the best and we look forward to more future stays here when visiting our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    316
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
282
1,068
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really want to be able to rave about this place, as others have done.
Don't get me wrong, for value and location, this place is great! Chelsea, Meatpacking and the Highline are all close by, and I enjoyed staying in this area so much more than in Midtown. The proximity to the subway was also a plus, as it made it so easy to get around.
We stayed on the third floor, which was a bit of a pain to walk up esp after doing so much walking around the city each day, but which was made up for by the cool view from our window. We had plenty of space in our room (this differs massively from my other NYC hotel experiences), and the decor was clean and tasteful.
The staff were generally polite, though not really friendly, and I found myself wondering why, when so many others have raved about the friendly service here.
Maybe it was because we did not take advantage of the free breakfasts most mornings, but hey, I believe when you are visiting somewhere like NYC you should take advantage of all of the amazing eating places available, so we ate out for breakfast (Clinton St Bakery, Balthazar, Sarabeth's, etc). Did this prevent us from meeting with some staff personally? Or were we just not the kind of guests they preferred?
Everything at the Chelsea Pines Inn was very satisfactory, don't get me wrong, but reading the other reviews, I can't help but think we missed out on something, for whatever reason...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really comfortable rooms, fantastic helpful staff, wonderful included breakfast and terrific location. We sayed for 4 nights with friends and the hotel was just what we needed - a great little hotel! Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Chelsea Pines Inn during November 2012, travelling to NYC to run the NY Marathon and to get married.
Every single staff member at the Chelsea Pines Inn made our stay a complete pleasure, nothing was too much for this team including our last minute request to use the atrium for our wedding ceremony - our plans for a Central Park wedding changed after a snow storm saw a closure of the park.
Chelsea Pines Inn could not have been more accommodating, they set out platters of food, champagne, beautifully arranged the room for our special day and made our guests - most of whom had travelled from Australia - most welcome. They caused the closure of the park for us into a positive, providing the perfect setting for a great day and very special memories.
We would also like to highlight some key features we believe sets the Chelsea Pines Inn apart from other hotels in the neighborhood;
- delicious breakfast, excellent variety of fresh foods and Nespresso coffee.
- knowledgeable, genuine and personable staff always able and willing to provide excellent reccomendations.
- clean and comfortable rooms and facilities including the business centre.
- a personalised service we have not come across before, genuine interest in guests in trying to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
A special thanks to owner Jay who went out of his way to ensure our special day went off without a hitch!
Thanks Chelsea Pines Inn, hopefully see you next time we attempt the New York Marathon!!!
Tomahawks

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TomLembongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is my new favorite hotel! My wife and I were in NYC for four days...enjoying the city right before Christmas. We walked into the Chelsea Pines Inn and felt immediately at home. We have never stayed anywhere with staff so friendly and helpful. Everyone had time to answer our questions, tell us what they loved about the city, and make little suggestions that we would not have discovered on our own. West 14th is a great neighborhood! It's not as frenetic as mid-town, close to the Highline Park, Chelsea Market and many good small restaurants. At the same time, it's easy to get to anyplace in the city via subway, just a few minutes walk from the front door. Breakfast was wonderful- many, many choices, all fresh. We picked this hotel because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, garden view. It was quiet and easy to get up and down the one flight of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for 16 nights and loved it! The place is so neat, clean and comfortable and the service is fantastic. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Best breakfast buffet ever with so many choices. Location is great, so close to everything. Charlie the cat is an added bonus! We would highly recommend and would definately return!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a little extra room than a one bedroom and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narellekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed several times before and always loved it, but we have not visited for almost 3 years, and our "home from home" in NYC is almost better than our own home ! I would not have thought it could have got better, but it has ! You will never go near one of the chain hotels again after you have stayed at CPI.
Thanks to owner Jay, and Troy,Al, Ramen, Danny, Anna, the boys who clean the rooms (and sorry if I have forgotten anyone!!) for making it so unique, comfortable and special.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLondon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 468 in New York City
776 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,492 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,574 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelPower and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing