We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our New Favorite Place to Stay NYC”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Place to Stay NYC”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chelsea Pines in late September to celebrate our anniversary. Our stay was so enjoyable that we have rebooked for February. The staff and customer service way exceeds any other hotel I've ever stayed. Jay knew it was our anniversary and I had a vase of roses put in our room. It was so sweet and thoughtful.
The hotel location is fanstastic. The rooms are fairly large and well kept. It feels more like a quaint B&B than a hotel. The atmosphere is fun and laid back. If you need a snack or a glass of wine you just go downstairs to the little kitchen and help yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sherry North room, which faces the back courtyard. I was a nice size room and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderlust1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    314
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,067
255
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mataro, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I totally recommend this hotel. It is our second time at this hotel and in this case was to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff is especially attentive. Help for any questions on the city. The hotel is central, safe and very well decorated. The rooms are cleaned every day. The breakfast is great, everything is there! Fruit, pastries, coffee (Nespresso), ... super complete! Not hesitate to choose this hotel for your stay in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseSanchez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Chelsea Pines several times over the last few years and each time has been quite wonderful. The hotel is in a very cool location with a host of very pleasant bars and eateries nearby (and an Apple Store one block away...). Rooms are spacious, clean, nicely furnished and, most importantly for me, very quiet. The breakfast bar is relaxed and always well stocked and, as for the staff...I can honestly say I've never experienced such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Jay, Al, Daniel, Trey and all at Chelsea Pines go out of their way to make one's stay in Manhattan a delightful one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennycolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very charming Chelsea hotel. Room was clean and the staff was incredibly friendly and gracious. Definitely plan on staying the next time we're in the city. Located near the Chelsea market and High Line, and a short walk from the LES, where we spend a lot of our time. Free continental breakfast was a nice touch, as was the moustached cat. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyL135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our visits to NYC focus on theatre-going and sight-seeing. We have found that Chelsea Pines is the ideal place to stay. Our latest visit was at the end of September and was immensely enjoyable. The hotel is minutes by subway from Penn Station and there was a room ready for us in spite of an early afternoon arrival giving us plenty of time to confirm our theatre-going options with co-owner Jay. If Jay hasn't seen a show himself yet, he'll have the low-down from friends and contacts so you can count on the best advice! And of course, if you see something he hasn't got round to yet, you'll have a great time passing on your review. We had a top-floor (4th floor) room so with no elevator, you'll get sufficient aerobic exercise that you'll not have to worry about that extra cookie you enjoy from the kitchen. There is an ample and varied breakfast available and coffee and calorific treats are available until 11 in the evening. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the room we had was very comfortable indeed - and with a coffee maker, so getting back from the theatre after the kitchen closed didn't mean we went without. The High-Line park's 14th St entrance is just minutes down the block; Chelsea, Greenwich Village and the Riverside park are just short strolls away and a 20 minute journey on the subway will get you anywhere from the Battery to Upper Manhattan - well-connected or what? We are already thinking of our next visit in the Spring!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I visited here in Sept 2012, greeted by staff every daily who were more than happy to help with our itinerary and helped with organising tickets for a show and a trip to see the yankees. Room was a comfortable size, very clean and good wifi throughout. No lift and a fair few stairs but we were prepared for this. Breakfast was simple but amazing. I have recommended this hotel to everyone I know! Location is good for the highline and Chelsea market, the subway is close by (2 min walk) and 30 min walk to the theatre district.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

i so much love this place- i cannot recommend it highly enough!! spent some time there again for a conference-- not only that chelsea pines inn has a fantastic location directly in the middle of west village (for me, everything was in working distance!), with wonderful rooms each of them having a special movie theme, beautiful and clean bathrooms, a nice view, and a delicious breakfast-- it's much more than that: jay and all the people working there are so lovely and welcoming-- they truly care and have a big heart for their guests. as always, i felt much at home and greatly enjoyed the nice chats and all the support during my stay.
can't wait to be back next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilkeAstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing