We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Place; First Class In Service and Location”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adorable Place; First Class In Service and Location”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Found this place on TripAdvisor and loved every minute of our stay there. Stylish, fun "movie-themed" rooms and walkways. Reasonably priced to begin with, but the hotel staff, service, and location are what make this place such a phenomenal bargain. Jay and his colleagues were friendly and knowledgeable about, well, pretty much everything. Yes, you may have to walk up the stairs but the staff are more than happy to take your bags up for you. In terms of detail and going the extra mile, Chelsea Pines went first class all the way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipcelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    321
    74
    18
    20
See reviews for
287
1,077
263
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were met by Jay and Al when we arrived and got a first class welcome along with all the information that we needed to have a great stay.

The hotel has a relaxed feel but with excellent service,particularly when Troy or Al are at reception. The rooms are good, we had a suite which gave us a small seating area and a fridge. The bathroom was lovely with a double power shower that you did not want to come out of. The only small negative is the stairs up to the room which was on the fifth floor and there is no lift. But this would only be a problem if you had a mobility issue. The wifi can also be a bit patchy but you do have access to a business centre where you can use one of the two iMac's available.

The breakfast is great and constantly replenished, with a wide variety of cereal, fruit, bread and pastries available. You can also have coffee and a snack throughout the day or night.

Troy organised a show for us and we also arranged the airport transfer through the hotel and on both occasions the service was flawless.

The hotel is within 100 yards of a Subway Station and in an excellent location for Greenwich Village, Meatpacking District, West Village and the High Line.

We would thoroughly recommend the Chelsea Pines to anyone thinking of staying in New York. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMCK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Highly recommended.

Top Positives:

- Great location
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Big room (I was in 503, the 'Rock Hudson')
- Comfortable bed and good sheets and pillows
- Double+ shower with bench, good water pressure
- Big, soft towels
- Guesthouse atmosphere, with other friendly and interesting guests (writers, etc)
- Good breakfast, coffee/cake/cookies always available

Minor Negatives:

- 5 story walk-up, so lots of stairs if on the top floor
- WiFi was a bit intermittent (beware if on business and need urgent internet access)

I stayed in the Chelsea Pines Inn for 7 nights, having booked 5 but being delayed due to a flight cancellation. The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout, and gave me some great recommendations for things to see and places to eat locally. I was travelling alone, so it was super to stay in a place where the staff knew me by name (and I them).

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front (on W 14th St) are double-glazed, so not as noisy as I feared. Upper floors invol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The location is terrific, the interior has charm, and the staff is superb. Some of our room's infrastructure needed updating, but for the price and the service it would be nitpicky to complain. I would definitely stay at the Chelsea Pines again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonigan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this jewel of a place back in December 2011 while our son attended a class over at Dubspot. We knew we were in a great place right from the start as we had booked via priceline and the reservation never came through. The staff was so accommodating and friendly!! We wew fortunate enough to be the first guests to stay in the new Rock Hudson room up on the fifth floor. The entire inn is clean as a whistle-we loved loved the huge walk in shower, the skylight which was original to the building and the view looking out onto New York City. The staff steered us in the right directions and made solid recommendations for restaurants and local shops and sites. We loved the resident cat, Charlie Chaplin. Chelsea Pines is in a great location-very safe and near everything. We will definitely return to this FIND in NYC!! Thank you to Jay and his staff for providing EXCELLENCE-a rarity anywhere in 2012.

Room Tip: Our room was great 5th floor-Rock Hudson :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Chelsea Pines in december just before xmas a treat for her 18th birthday, the inn was brilliant all the staff very friendly there was a birthday card and flowers in the room on our arrival, what a lovely jesture!. the daily newsletter is excellent , gave us ideas and places to go e.g xmas markets, restaurants the highline walkway is fab!!, but also the district itself with young designer markets where we got some unique xmas presents, and my daughter was overwhelmed with the choice. in addition we were heading to century 21 and thought we would visit the world trade centre memorial. little did I know that we needed passes to get in, the inn staff were excellent, they printed off the paper passes - it saved us a long wait in a que to get one at the site, so again very helpful staff. the other essential was being able to have a great breakfast before the long day of shopping ahead - fresh bread, bagels and pastries and the fact that coffee and cookies were always available throughout the day. the room was very satisfactory and the business centre was a godsend for booking extra baggage for the flight home!! so i would definitely recommend the inn and we will be returning thanks again to all the staff at the inn

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresawarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at Chelsea Pines with my adult daughter when I came to the city for a business event and then stayed the weekend. I had read previous reviews so had a good idea of what to expect. There is not elevator and our room was on the 4th floor. The staff took care of carrying bags up and I am sure woudl have carriend down if I had asked. The staff is the best part of this small hotel as they are so friendly and helpful. Linens and bed were very good. There was a refrigerator in the room and a cork screw and glasses were available in the breakfast room. Breakfast was reminicent of European mornings with cheese, meat,muffins and NY bagels, cereal, fresh and dried fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice. There is a lovely little place to eat and in warm weather there is outside space. the location is convenient for Greenwich Village, Chelsea restaurants in easy walking distance. The High Line is close by.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back so very quiet. It overlooked a litle garden. there was plenty of natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochester58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
648 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing