We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

It lived up to its webpage. Great location, comfortable and fun rooms, friendly staff and reasonable rates. For a visitor we were right in the heart of things. Jay was a great host.
The only problem was the internet was so slow. Dial up speed. Other than that great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crichard300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    316
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
281
1,068
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our four day sister trip to NYC was terrific and certainly enhanced by Chelsea Pines Inn. What a gem in a great location. We were pleased to find a room that could sleep three. With the subway just down the block we were able to get all over the city easily. The staff at Chelsea Pines was always helpful, sincerely interested in helping us find our way around and accommodating in finding us wine glasses and opener. We loved the daily newsletter and its recommendations. One of our favorites was a Greenwich Village restaurant Garage within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Missing_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My sister & I flew in from Canada for a four-night, fast-paced visit to NYC on May 29th. We feel incredibly lucky to have found the perfect place to stay. All the previous reviews were right - convenient location, comfortable, delicious continental breakfast, etc. Whether you are movie lovers or not, the decor is charming. But my greatest praise is reserved for the best host and staff you could ask for. Jay, Al and everybody gave us great recommendations and advice for everything from cabs to restaurants to best time to pick up Broadway tickets. And beyond that, they were just so sweet and funny and warm and incredibly nice. I almost want to go back just to visit them. Skip the Time Square hotel and stay somewhere special - the Chelsea Pines Inn!

Room Tip: A room overlooking their backyard patio is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnacavallo, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

When you look for a hotel in New york, the important things are: a clean place in a good location, possibly with a good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff.
For these reasons, go to the Chelsea Pines Inn and you will have all this, plus some other smart ideas like the morning newsletter.

Room Tip: better a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The best hotel I have ever stayed in, all the staff welcome you back by name and have a genuine interest to know how your day went and how they can help to make your holiday even better. The breakfast is a treat to come down to. The place is an oasis of calm as you step in from the busy city on our first day coming back from our walk a member of staff rushed to get some iced water for us and told us to sit down, relax and cool off! No other hotel I know takes that kind of effort and gives that kind of care to their visitors. It is so well sited, being so close to the Chelsea Market and the restaurants of Chelsea and Greenwich Village and a few steps from the subway including the very helpful L line you are never more than 15 minutes getting to where you want to go in the city! I can't say enough about this hotel, it made us feel special and we look forward to the chance of going to it again next time we visit NY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyuk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Chelsea Pines Inn was a perfect place to stay during our first visit to New York. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, the room was cosy and clean, the breakfasts in the lovely garden a perfect way to start a busy sightseeing day. Getting invited to a wine&cheese party, mingling with the staff and guests, made us feel very welcome. The location is great, situated right next to the wonderful Highline Park, Chelsea Market, and 14th street/8av subway stop. I would definitely recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn for anyone visiting New York!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinki_lady16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I recently stayed at the Chelsea Pines for the third time. It is a fantastic little hotel in a great spot, perfectly situated for Greenwich Village, Chelsea and the Meatpacking District. The staff are very friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are a treat. I would definitely recommend this place as a base for exploring New York.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emacl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
773 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#114 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing