We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Park Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$389
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$308
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$283
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
36
54
33
17
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
54
33
17
23
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 163 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I wouldn't not reccomend this hostel, but I would like to think there are better ones in New York. It was pretty cheap ($40), but I am sure there are cheaper still and for what it was - a room shared with one other person - it was fine. The staff did their job - filled out the paper work and gave me a key...they weren't unpleasant they just didn't go out of their way...or smile. The hostel itself was somewhat sterile...a few posters and stuff but nothing exciting. The lounge was comfy and it was nice to sit and have a drink with fellow travellers after a long day of walking.
the area leaves something to be desired though...yes it is by central park but there are some not so nice kids in the area. We saw a bunch walk down the street jumping on cars, kicking them, yelling, etc. I am very glad I took the bus :)
All in all, staying at this hostel didn't take away from my experience in NYC, but it also didn't add too it. It was a bed, I felt safe inside, and it was cheaper than a hotel. Perfect for me because I only needed it for a quick nights rest...if you are looking to be wowed and to meet a lot of people - I suggest looking for another hostel though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegGypsyGirL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My stay at the Hostel was ok. The Beds were clean,a good A/C and T.V. When you walk in there is a bad odor but the clean rooms make up for it.The morning staff were very rude,like they didn't have no care to help me at all.The night staff however made my stay a better experience.Andre was very helpful,friendly,and he even carried my luggage upstairs!! Junior was also very nice and helpful. I can see myself returning back just because of them.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettytina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Nice, big rooms, cheap price for only sharing with one other (I'm more accustomed to being in big dorm rooms with 4-12 others). Good for the UWS. Really nice staff, and the atmosphere was safe and friendly. The water in the shower never got hot, though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrixyeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I had the Twin Double Studio Apartment and it is excellent: all brand new and clean, it is one room with two queen beds, so not very large, the bathroomi s all new with a large shower. In the room there is tv and air-conditioning (a bit noisy), free wi-fi. The small kitchen in the room has a fridge, a sink and microwave. For cooking you can use the stove in the common kitchen area on the same floor. In the basement there is a large and confortable lounge with tables, sofa etc. for having your own breackfast and lunches. HThe hostel is safe and staff is nice. You have to pay only cash or travel cheques, but there is an ATM inside. It is just 50 mt. from the subway "103rd street" (but only local trains stop there) and just in front of Central Park. Few bus stations from the famous Apollo Theatre in Harlem (do not miss the amateur night every wednesday!).
May be it is a bit far if you plan to go downtown every night (trip by train takes about 30'), so I would recommend especially for families that do not plan to go out every nights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dardoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Booked for 7 nights and tried to check out after 1, but due to policies we could not get a refund, the area is horrible, nothing to do, nothing to see and the locals were intimidating and hostile, the only positives about this hostel is that there was air conditioning, it is a short walk from central park and there is a metro station at the end of the street. which is not a popular station, meaning you must wait a while between trains. If you are after a social hostel DO NOT stay here, we found everyone including the majority of employees to be rude and unhelpfull, there was one lady behind the counter i found to be hospitable and helpful.
i also found security poor and im pretty sure this place doubles as a halfway house.
we will never stay here again and i will make a point of people NOT staying here on their trips to NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddrummer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews