We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meh. good for the money...but thats about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Park Inn
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“meh. good for the money...but thats about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

I wouldn't not reccomend this hostel, but I would like to think there are better ones in New York. It was pretty cheap ($40), but I am sure there are cheaper still and for what it was - a room shared with one other person - it was fine. The staff did their job - filled out the paper work and gave me a key...they weren't unpleasant they just didn't go out of their way...or smile. The hostel itself was somewhat sterile...a few posters and stuff but nothing exciting. The lounge was comfy and it was nice to sit and have a drink with fellow travellers after a long day of walking.
the area leaves something to be desired though...yes it is by central park but there are some not so nice kids in the area. We saw a bunch walk down the street jumping on cars, kicking them, yelling, etc. I am very glad I took the bus :)
All in all, staying at this hostel didn't take away from my experience in NYC, but it also didn't add too it. It was a bed, I felt safe inside, and it was cheaper than a hotel. Perfect for me because I only needed it for a quick nights rest...if you are looking to be wowed and to meet a lot of people - I suggest looking for another hostel though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegGypsyGirL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    33
    17
    23
See reviews for
11
29
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

My stay at the Hostel was ok. The Beds were clean,a good A/C and T.V. When you walk in there is a bad odor but the clean rooms make up for it.The morning staff were very rude,like they didn't have no care to help me at all.The night staff however made my stay a better experience.Andre was very helpful,friendly,and he even carried my luggage upstairs!! Junior was also very nice and helpful. I can see myself returning back just because of them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettytina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Nice, big rooms, cheap price for only sharing with one other (I'm more accustomed to being in big dorm rooms with 4-12 others). Good for the UWS. Really nice staff, and the atmosphere was safe and friendly. The water in the shower never got hot, though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixyeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

I had the Twin Double Studio Apartment and it is excellent: all brand new and clean, it is one room with two queen beds, so not very large, the bathroomi s all new with a large shower. In the room there is tv and air-conditioning (a bit noisy), free wi-fi. The small kitchen in the room has a fridge, a sink and microwave. For cooking you can use the stove in the common kitchen area on the same floor. In the basement there is a large and confortable lounge with tables, sofa etc. for having your own breackfast and lunches. HThe hostel is safe and staff is nice. You have to pay only cash or travel cheques, but there is an ATM inside. It is just 50 mt. from the subway "103rd street" (but only local trains stop there) and just in front of Central Park. Few bus stations from the famous Apollo Theatre in Harlem (do not miss the amateur night every wednesday!).
May be it is a bit far if you plan to go downtown every night (trip by train takes about 30'), so I would recommend especially for families that do not plan to go out every nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dardoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Booked for 7 nights and tried to check out after 1, but due to policies we could not get a refund, the area is horrible, nothing to do, nothing to see and the locals were intimidating and hostile, the only positives about this hostel is that there was air conditioning, it is a short walk from central park and there is a metro station at the end of the street. which is not a popular station, meaning you must wait a while between trains. If you are after a social hostel DO NOT stay here, we found everyone including the majority of employees to be rude and unhelpfull, there was one lady behind the counter i found to be hospitable and helpful.
i also found security poor and im pretty sure this place doubles as a halfway house.
we will never stay here again and i will make a point of people NOT staying here on their trips to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddrummer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

I've just had a 4 night stay at the Central Park Hostel with a friend. We loved it here. We are in our mid 40's and I was a bit worried we would feel out of place in a hostel, but this wasn't the case at all. We booked a twin apartment, which was comfortable & quiet (although it's on the 4th floor with no lift so you need to be able to carry your bags up & down). The neighbourhood felt safe & was interesting - much more like the 'real New York' than staying in a downtown hotel. It was also very convenient, with a nearby subway & some great places to eat within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed her in August 2006 after spending the summer doing Camp America so I was alone travelling through New York before heading home. This was the 2nd hostel i'd booked as the first had awful reviews on here and i'd definitely go back to Central Park Hostel if i was ever in the area again.

The location of the hostel was excellent and easy to find the staff are great and are able to provide you with all the information you need. The hostel itself was very busy at the time and I stayed in a mixed dormitory on one of the higher floors. I stayed for 3 nights and felt safe throughout (I was 18 and travelling alone!) I had a decent nights kip except on one of the nights when about 4 people from my dormitory came in, in the early hours and insisted on turning the light on but i guess you have to expect the unexpected when sharing a room with 9 others!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#23 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#22 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Property: Central Park Inn
Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-4657
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Park Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing