We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable.”
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Park Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tolerable.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Unless you have no other choice, I would recommend staying somewhere else. The bathrooms are horrible, the area noisy, and quite honestly rough. The staff are okay, the beds are okay. The bars on the window don't fill you with confidence. Overall, it's actually okay, but I would avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Oli487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    33
    17
    23
See reviews for
11
29
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all , this is not a hostel anymore! Now they only accept extended stay.
They have single room , couples room and 2 bed room.
The place is one block from Central Park and Subway station (B,C) .
The most part of rooms have , tv , small kitchen with a small fridge and internet.
The staff are very nice.

So if you'll stay in NY for a month or more and doesn't want to pay the expensive fees to rent a place , this could be a good choice to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrunoRenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is not a hostel anymore, but a great place to rent a room for long terms (30 days or more).
They re-did everything last year, and the studio apts are as news!
I really enjoyed the 4 months I stayed there: the room were great, the staff working there is more than very nice and were very helpful to me, maids did a great job cleaning. The building is located near the subway (line 1, 2, 3, B, C) and central park! very convenient.
If a return to NYC, I definetely go back to this place! Only bad thing: no laundry in the building, although there is one near the apts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccm785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To all those who have been there I'm sure they agree with me. BTW they changed their name to central park inn don't let them fool you. Definitely the worst place you'll stay in while visiting New York or any city for that matter. I walked in to a disgusting studio I uploaded photos of the state I found it in given that I paid for cleaning fee. I haven't slept a day at that place nor will I ever pass by it. I hope this will be of value to anyone who would ever consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MASU_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had to stay here one night when some other plans fell through about a year ago. These people are scammers. They told me one price over the phone and then raised it when I got there. The clerk tried to ask for a big tip after he grabbed my bag up the stairs without asking. Just pay for a cheap hotel instead.

Also this is not in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Echo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, Good location, near to the subway and places to eat aswell as newsagents close, also close to the road where Starbucks coffee is!!!

I would come back again!! as its very good value for money!!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friends were visiting the US and we met in New York and stayed here for three nights. I hadn't stayed in a backpackers for many years so had to align my expectations. It seemed ok for a backpackers - usual things of rooms being very tight, window rattlers for airconditioning, I had a shared bathroom and other family had a two bed ensuite. The place seemed clean enough and staff were helpful with local directions. The Hostel is a short walk to delicatessens and other little local food shops and bars up on Columbus and Amsterdam and just a few steps away from subway stop which was perfect for our purpose of getting out and seeing the city. Overall it did the job for staying somewhere cheaper than I would nornally do but will probably be staying in a hotel or vrbo place next time in NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoCrows123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#188 of 467 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#395 of 467 in New York City
1,503 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#328 of 467 in New York City
5,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 163 in New York City
551 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
International Student Center
International Student Center
#36 of 163 in New York City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Property: Central Park Inn
Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-4657
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Park Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing