We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best place you can find for long stay terms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Park Inn
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best place you can find for long stay terms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is not a hostel anymore, but a great place to rent a room for long terms (30 days or more).
They re-did everything last year, and the studio apts are as news!
I really enjoyed the 4 months I stayed there: the room were great, the staff working there is more than very nice and were very helpful to me, maids did a great job cleaning. The building is located near the subway (line 1, 2, 3, B, C) and central park! very convenient.
If a return to NYC, I definetely go back to this place! Only bad thing: no laundry in the building, although there is one near the apts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccm785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    33
    17
    23
See reviews for
11
29
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

To all those who have been there I'm sure they agree with me. BTW they changed their name to central park inn don't let them fool you. Definitely the worst place you'll stay in while visiting New York or any city for that matter. I walked in to a disgusting studio I uploaded photos of the state I found it in given that I paid for cleaning fee. I haven't slept a day at that place nor will I ever pass by it. I hope this will be of value to anyone who would ever consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MASU_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had to stay here one night when some other plans fell through about a year ago. These people are scammers. They told me one price over the phone and then raised it when I got there. The clerk tried to ask for a big tip after he grabbed my bag up the stairs without asking. Just pay for a cheap hotel instead.

Also this is not in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Echo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, Good location, near to the subway and places to eat aswell as newsagents close, also close to the road where Starbucks coffee is!!!

I would come back again!! as its very good value for money!!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friends were visiting the US and we met in New York and stayed here for three nights. I hadn't stayed in a backpackers for many years so had to align my expectations. It seemed ok for a backpackers - usual things of rooms being very tight, window rattlers for airconditioning, I had a shared bathroom and other family had a two bed ensuite. The place seemed clean enough and staff were helpful with local directions. The Hostel is a short walk to delicatessens and other little local food shops and bars up on Columbus and Amsterdam and just a few steps away from subway stop which was perfect for our purpose of getting out and seeing the city. Overall it did the job for staying somewhere cheaper than I would nornally do but will probably be staying in a hotel or vrbo place next time in NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoCrows123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hostel has bed bugs which was an extremely expensive mistake for us.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank Budgetraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights around new years 2 years ago and then in may last year. Considering we booked relatively late (close to new years), I was surprised that we could get affordable accommodation around new years eve. I was satisfied with the 6 bed dorms, they were a little cramped, but as expected for price, and it wasn't unbearable.

The second time we stayed we booked a private 2 bed room. This was much nicer and well priced too. Much more comfortable and roomy. I suggest this if you are willing to fork out a little more.

The staff were great. The place has character. The facilities work. It was reasonably clean. Not much else you can ask for I suppose!

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfrancisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#395 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Property: Central Park Inn
Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-4657
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Park Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing