We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Slightly terrifying hahaha.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Park Inn
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slightly terrifying hahaha.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Well first of all, don't bring guests back to this hostel - if only to straighten their hair haha! The manager nearly beat down our bedroom door at 2 in the morning to throw our friends out, he then was after a $20 fee to have overnight guests. It was all rather terrifying but quite hilarious too!

The receptionists are lovely, the cleaners need to learn how to crack a smile. The rooms were pretty small but beds were comfy.

It is pretty much in Harlem and kind of scary when wondering round at night. Takes a while to get to all the main attractions but very close the Central Park and that was where our best days were spent.

We got woken up by the wretched pigeons in the morning and could hear the drunks singing at night - I quite enjoyed that though!

I'd probably go back though; if they'd have me ahahah!

Then again - when we were leaving, at about 4 in the morning, some scary homeless guy walked in (no one was on reception, and he actually had a key to let himself into the rest of the hostel.) I mean, it's nice that they let them into the warm but this character looked really scary and threatening!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryBumpkin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    33
    17
    24
See reviews for
11
29
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Pros: cheap & location (like other many others Hostels there). STAY HERE ONLY FOR EMERGENCIES AND NEVER PAY MORE THAN ONE NIGHT, THERE IS NOT REIMBURSE. Cons: awful tiny uncomfortable bed, tiny locker, very noisy you can hear every step around, not payment with cards only cash, very small bathroom just for one person at the time, just to beds for room and you can finish sharing the room with NOT-BACKPAKERS but New York exotic fauna, the TV room is very uncomfortable and the kitchen useless, not elevator, the list can keep going for a while but you probably have a enough for a rational decision.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day close to subway and city. Quiet enough to have a baby stay

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margieoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hostel is located on the Upper West Side on Manhattan, located just 100 meters from the 103. st metro station, so the location is very good.

The rooms and showers are OK, and there is free wi-fi internett.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EivindO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

14 July 2010 we went for 7 days to the big apple. We were with 3 students. 2 of 18 years and 1 of 19. We were looking for a cheap hotel/hostel. This one was one of the cheapest and we wanted a private room. After we mailed the hostel if we could check in at the age of 18, we decided to go for it.

We came by plane from the Netherlands and landed on EWR (Newark) in new jersey. We took the NJ Transit to penn station and from there to the 103st by metro. It was really easy to find and the hostel is really close to the station.

We came in for the first time and the entrance looked a bit old fashioned. There was a man at the desk and we gave him our reservation and paid the whole stay. he gave us our key. We slept on the first floor. We went inside the room and it looked really good. There were two queen size beds and a bathroom with a shower. Also there was a small kitchen with a microwave and sink. Also the room had airco although it was a bit noisy at night so we turned it very low before we went to bed.

Overall the service was great. At night there was a guard in frond of the door so strange people couldn't get in. Also there were lockers but don't forget to bring your own lock. And everyday the room was cleaned. So that was really good.

The hostel 150meters away from central park and Times square is about 30 minutes away by metro so everything is very close and easy to find. At the other side of the street is a little supermarket were you can buy your breakfast.

If you go by metro to the hostel be careful that you don't take the express metro because it does not stop at 103 st!

For a budget I really recommend the hostel! I had a great time and I will definitely go back if I'm in New York.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUnedin New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

You guys are awesome. Your service was absolutely brilliant. Of the hostels we stayed in in the States over the last month, yours was absolutely the best. The room was great. The hostel was spotless. The staff all helpful, (despite us being such klutzes - I changed the booking twice, my luggage got lost at the airport and you guys held a spot for my bag should it eventually arrive while I was travelling, my friend left his shoes behind....sigh) but you guys were helpful, tolerant of our hopelessness, and generally, just brilliant. Your cleaners deserve a medal - the place was so clean it squeaked. The room was tidy, clean and the bed was comfy. We love you, Central Park Hostel. How else can we let other people know about how just good you guys are? Robyn, New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hostel is a block from central park and less than a block to the subway. Parking was easy to find even in new years eve. Bathrooms are clean and the shower is nice and warm. It also had the cheapest prices around the city.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianadavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#380 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#424 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#18 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Property: Central Park Inn
Address: 19 W 103rd St, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-4657
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Park Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing