We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfortable Inn - Excellent Value, Friendly Staff”
Review of The Gracie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gracie Inn
Ranked #59 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Quaint and Comfortable Inn - Excellent Value, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The Gracie Inn is a quaint, bed and breakfast-style inn hidden in the middle of Manhattan. There are significant differences between B&B inns and modern hotels and the Gracie Inn is no exception. The Gracie Inn is friendly and functional, but not fancy or four-star. It’s clean and comfortable, but not immaculate or luxurious. If you’re looking for a contemporary, state-of-the art hotel with 24-hour doormen, bellmen, room, concierge, housekeeping, front desk service, etc., you’ll be disappointed and are better off paying 2 to 3 times as much per night elsewhere. But if all you really need is a clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay with a friendly staff, basic furnishings, nice linens, affordable rates and a little eclectic charm, then you will love Grace Inn. It’s in a great Upper East side neighborhood with numerous cafés, restaurants, and grocery markets nearby and the free-Wi-Fi is a huge plus. The location is ten-minute walk to Central Park and convenient to public transportation. Front door is locked after business hours, but guests are provided with an access key. I’ve stayed in luxury and business hotels in NY and for me, the extra services are not worth hundreds of dollars more per night. The experience at Grace Inn is far more personal and peaceful. I’d stay there again in a New York Minute.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    15
    25
    66
See reviews for
43
48
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Me and a few friends were visiting NYC for the weekend, so we chose to stay in the Gracie Inn. Literally 5 minutes walking distance from the subway and super easy to find. Unlike big hotels, it had the homely feel of B&B, but in NYC! Normally I am a bit sensitive to noise when sleeping, however this time it was not much of a problem. The staff was nice and friendly. Room was pretty clean and cozy. One of my my buddies is an environmental nut, so he was really impressed with the eco-friendly soaps that were offered in the bathroom. Overall, it was a great experience. Check it out, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnedanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Grace Inn was a beautiful historic Hotel with a homey, vintage feel of the "old city." It is quaintly tucked away in the heart of Grace with shops, cafes, and public transit only foot-steps away. The Staff was responsive, polite; and I thoroughly enjoyed the "eco" soaps and shampoos. I would recommend a stay to anyone searching for a relaxing retreat with all the amenities of being in the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacharyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My recent stay was a pleasant suprise. I was not expecting an elevator in a small boutique hotel that used to be a residence. But, my studio on the 4th floor was very clean and very quiet. I like the fact that they use eco-friendly cleaning supplies and that the windows actually open. the international summer staff that intern live on property and were very attentive and always accessible. This hotel is nothing fancy but, a great value for NYC. I will definetly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_cargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I traveled from upstate NY to NYC with my daughter in Dec., 2009 for her to have outpatient surgery at a specialty hospital in the city. We originally rented a room at the hotel associated with the hospital for convenience, with the cheapest room booking at $344/night for a one night stay. After her developing complications, and very unexpectedly have to stay there for 6 nights, I was forced to go elsewhere due to the cost. Through the hospital website, I found the Gracie Inn listed, and now stay there for every return trip to the city. Particularly after dealing with such stressful circumstances of health and money, walking through the front door of the Gracie was a welcome relief. The Gracie is definitely a B&B style hotel, feeling more like a home than a hotel when you walk through the door, which for me is appreciated, and may not be for you if you're looking for a strictly anesthetic, high-price hotel. You have the "homey" feel of a B&B but with your own room(s), including kitchen, bathroom space. The room prices are very reasonable. The staff are very helpful both for your stay there, and area expertise. It is a safe area to walk around in, residential and quiet, and the front door is locked in the evening (you're given a key). There are food establishments, shopping close by. If you have a problem in your suite, the staff are more than receptive in response. This is an extremely quaint, older building, so although unfortunate if it happens I imagine there's a chance something could malfunction, but the staff are quick to respond to their guests, so I can't imagine them not dealing with it in a timely fashion. If you want a reasonably priced, quaint, homey, residential place to stay in a concrete city where the lights never dim, this is indeed the place for you. And a huge bonus to me as an animal lover and owner (although I haven't utilized it yet ) is they are a dog-friendly facility, a great option for people traveling with their furry friend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcon5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

A shabby and dusty room with a new bed and TV still is a shabby and dusty room. We have allergies - our allergies went into high gear. Gone all day sightseeing, returned after 2 PM and found the room just as we left it - bed unmade, dirty dishes, dirty towels. Went down twice to register complaint; no one there. Breakfast trays never complete - something always missing or wrong. Misinformation cost me a $65 parking ticket. The manager very pleasant but incompetent t supervisor. When I called considering Gracie I told the manager I was concerned due to reviews that read much like this. Manager admitted there had been some problems in the past, but assured me things had greatly improved and we would not be disappointed. Elevator out of order on departure date, but no notice to that effect posted on any of the elevator doors. Lugging bags down narrow stairs nearly tripped over vacuum and cleaning supplies. The building and location are okay. The staff are trainees - kids of friends and relatives who don't show up and clean rooms as if it was their dorm room. Very poor supervision. No quality control. They sent out a 'how did you like your visit" email. I responded with above complaints. Never heard a word in return. Don't make the mistake we did. DO NOT STAY IN GRACIE INN HOTEL.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calamus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I cannot begin to express how much I enjoyed my recent stay at The Gracie Inn! It was charming, cozy -- and so warm and inviting.
I was so impressed with your attention to detail -- breakfast in bed was a pleasure and so delicious!! And I absolutely loved how thoughtfully the kitchen was stocked with dishes, flatware, wineglasses -- you thought of everything!
Also, your location is ideal. I enjoyed a beautiful stroll on the Promenade and next time, look forward to enjoying the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park during my stay. . .
Your Inn was quite honestly one of the most perfect and magical hotel experiences I've ever had -- and I promise to tell everyone I know about your establishment. Finding the Gracie Inn was like finding a sparkling treasure right on the streets of New York City!!
Daniel and his staff were so kind, thoughtful, and warm. They were welcoming and couldn't have been more hospitable.
This is the ideal place for a romantic weekend, or to spend time with family and friends. It's like finding home. . .right in the heart of Manhattan.
Thank you so much for everything!!

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
Thank BeeGeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#387 of 467 in New York City
699 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#167 of 467 in New York City
880 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#251 of 467 in New York City
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#276 of 467 in New York City
834 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
3,602 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gracie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gracie Inn

Property: The Gracie Inn
Address: 502 E 81st St, New York City, NY 10028-7004
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gracie Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see critics reviews in Frommer's New York with kids 2009 and 100 Best Little Hotels New York 4th Edition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gracie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing