We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a find, what a deal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gracie Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gracie Inn
Ranked #66 of 81 New York City B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find, what a deal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

So glad we stayed at the Gracie Inn! Old school charm, really cool manager, quiet neighborhood with great restaurants all around - East End Kitchen was terrific! Gracie Inn is quite possibly the best value in the city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    15
    25
    66
See reviews for
43
48
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We staied here 5 nights during honeymoon and it was the worst start we can thinking of.
The rooms are cleaned only at the starting of clients(they said): our room in any case is not well cleaned.
We had a good time as long as we staied out of the room...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cappe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsasse, General Manager at The Gracie Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I do not know who guest "Cappe1976" is. We looked back 3 weeks in our log book and in our reservation system. We have reservations for 4 nights and 6 nights but, nothing for 5 nights.
Our housekeeping service is "industry standard" for the United States of America. For the record, I will explain it. We clean every room prior to arrival. We enter the room every day and remove the breakfast tray, empty your trash, do your dishes and make your bed. If your towels are on the floor we replace them. If you hang them up we assume you are going to reuse them. (there is a green eco sign in every bath explaining this) We change sheets every third day unless other wise requested. Maybe they had a DND sign on their room? I wish I could give more insight, I hope this information is useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The manager was fantastic. He had a crib ready for us and waited until our arrival for check in at 6 pm. The room was clean and perfect for the bike tour with a kitchen included. Given space constraints for NYC it is exactly what I would have expected. Great choice and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icudoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is so nice and clean. I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and it was wonderful. The staff were nice and the breakfast was really good. The room was really clean as well and the attention i received was great.

Room Tip: This hotel is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked directly with the hotel due to it's location. I was visiting a friend who lived just a block away so I took a chance. The staff is very nice and friendly although I was staying for just one night by myself so I didn't need much attention. Breakfast arrived exactly when I requested. The studio room on the fourth floor was clean and nice but it needs updating, particularly the kitchen and bathroom. It is on a safe street but the room is definitely not soundproof. I'm used to a quiet, suburban setting where I live but I didn't expect the same for the Upper East Side--bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Loud people outside about 3 a.m. and then the hotel noises started about 8 a.m.--it is an old building and you can hear people easily as well as the elevator. Yes, there was a hair dryer and iron in the room--in the kitchen cabinet. Overall, I'm glad I stayed there and would consider staying again. It's New York City--it's all about tradeoffs!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, a higher room would probably be quieter although I was on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pstnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Old style Inn with class. Some rooms look more like dorm rooms with kitchenette but overall it was a nice hotel. Did not do breakfast.would need service to be mOre Attentive, but overall a very nice stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBryanSHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel looked really nice on the website but the reality was a huge disappointment. The rooms were cramped, the furniture was old, the banister was loose, the carpet looked dirty, the cooker didn't work, under the bed was dirty, the fold down bed was old and rusty. The hotel is not staffed in the evening and we got no response from the contact phone number. We checked out the following day and had the inconvenience and expense of finding another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glasgowsouthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsasse, General Manager at The Gracie Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Our confirmations clearly states our office is not open 24 hours a day.
My cell phone is one the phone in the room, the office door and the front door of the hotel.
We spoke to them the next day and told them that we had no missed calls and no voice mails but, they made up their minds that they wanted to leave. We wished them well and waived the early departure fee. Honestly, their were 5 women and only one bathroom (which is clearly stated on our website) We at the hotel think that their budget just was not realistic when they reserved their room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#337 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#261 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#257 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#325 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#244 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Upper East Side
Oakwood at the Blake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gracie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gracie Inn

Property: The Gracie Inn
Address: 502 E 81st St, New York City, NY 10028-7004
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gracie Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see critics reviews in Frommer's New York with kids 2009 and 100 Best Little Hotels New York 4th Edition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gracie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing