We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5/5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #34 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Great location if you are working downtown or you just want to get away from the general noise of NYC. Brilliant staff, v helpful, responded to all requests quickly. Good bar that has a happy hour from 5-8pm. Downside is that the rooms are nothing special, quite small, dingy, not helped by black carpet. Window blinds that don't shut property, tiny bathrooms and actually overall quite cheap looking with a tartan blanket on the bed and faux leather headboard. I think the prices are v. steep for what you get and in that part of town I think there are better options. One thing I couldn't get over was that if you wanted an ethernet cable you had to buy one ! I wouldn't not stay again, but it wouldn't be top choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

We arrived early in the morning after an all night flight and were greeted and given helpful information about the city. The staff directed us towards a restaurant to eat breakfast and then after we went out sightseeing we came back and our room was ready early.

Overall we loved the staff - they were extremely approachable & had some great information about the city that was really helpful. They were always warm & courteous even when we acted like tourist with some ridiculous questions. We had an amazing time in NYC and contribute much of this to our delightful stay at the Gild. If we went back to NYC we wouldn't think twice before staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

A marvelous hotel in every way except location. The lobby has a distinct character that mixes ultra-hip with classic old fashioned charm - featuring a cross between an alpine ski lodge and an ivy league library. Terrific value for the amenities. Only drawback is its location down in the Financial District... but it's really just a short subway ride away from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastrack101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Although a little too far downtown for my business meeting(s), I had no regrets about staying at this cool boutique locale. Typical small NYC hotel rooms, but a nice lobby area and good staff

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

stayed one night, booking just two days before arriving, and had a bill of under $200!. What a price for a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location.

Location... great location just one block off the main streets. (some women travelers may be concerned, but not that bad). Cabs were easy to find.. although my cabbie needed directions to get there.

Building... with only 9 rooms on each floor, you can imagine that this is small... but the lobby is nicely appointed, the bar cosy. Everything is tastefully decorated.. with little nooks to visit. And quiet! No sirens or crashing garbage trucks heard from my room. Unbelievable difference from my last visit to any big city.

Rooms... who says they're small??!! I've had smaller rooms at HoJo and Ramada. Decorated in ebony wood and dark leather, the room is, again, tastefully decorated. a large 46" flatscreen TV is a nice touch. I was in the "smallest" room, so the desk/dresser wasn't very deep, but I could still get some work done after dinner. Yes, the translucent plastic wall between the room and the washroom could put people off. Having the toilet just next to the wall facing into the room doesn't help.

Don't plan on breakfast at the hotel... $15 light breakfast through room service could be replaced by walking two - three blocks for some lovely French pastries.

At first I was taken aback by the $10 charge for internet access (and no WIFI).. but then I remembered the price of the room.

In the evening, there is a wide range of restaurants and bars... I was there on Thursday so they were all well populated (Do New Yorkers ever go home?).

All in all, a fantastic stay. I see why London Times rated the Gild #68 in the top 100 hotels IN THE WORLD. (note this wasn't top boutique hotels).

Definitely planning a trip back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Very nice and hotel staff were very accommodating. Nicely decorated, very comfortable (and roomy for NYC standards) rooms and very private. I am still questioning the people who wrote reviews about the bathroom see through doors...... what is your problem?? Had never booked with a boutique hotel in NYC before this and now I will never go back to the large chain hotels. This was a quiet place to come back to after a long busy day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsmom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Hotel is fantastic and great value. Great beds, awesome flat screen tv. Very convienient to the subway.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonNantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
501 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#71 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#14 of 469 in New York City
697 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 469 in New York City
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $201 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing