We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, QUIET hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #42 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, QUIET hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

A great, quiet location if you plan on using the MTA (and why wouldn't you). Nice comfortable beds and super clean. Close enough to walk to Chinatown for that late night meal. The only potential drawback is the glass separating the bathroom. It is by no means transparent but not quite opaque either. If you're traveling with that not-so-intimate partner, you may be privy to a little more than expected, At the right price, a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fubijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    425
    98
    38
    14
See reviews for
197
594
112
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

We felt spoiled by ALL the staff for the whole long weekend. The front office was just the best and every staff member you met walking around the place just couldn't do enough for you.
The receptionist said as we arrived from a shopping trip:
"Let us take all your shopping to your room while you relax in the bar."
When was the last time you heared these perfect words at ANY hotel lately?

We upgraded to one of the suites found at the end of each floor, it was huge and SO comfortable. The rooms were large (for NY) but we just decided to have the extra comfort and the bed, bedding - just everything was 1st class. Some people might find the long walk from bed to the loo a problem - we just laughed and said the exercise was good for you!

I am a bit of a grumpy OM and can find fault in everything - but we couldn't find anything to complain about. The decor wont appeal to all but then I am not too keen on curry shop swags and tails and gloved butlers - but Gild Hall is just so comfy and relaxed you have to like it.

The first floor lounge is just so cosy for a romantic evening ....
We are going back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Usually when I come to NYC, I stay in SoHo or the Lower East Side. If you plan to go out in those areas or even up in the East Village or Chelsea, this hotel is a bit out of the way. But the price can't be beat for a Thompson boutique hotel. The subway is close by but Fulton Station is not easy to figure out. You'll also need to transfer to get to where you need to be. Some of the direct lines to that area also don't run on the weekends. The hotel will call a taxi for you so getting out of the area is not an issue...

I stayed in a standard room the first night and then upgraded to their biggest suite, both were really great. Really SOFT and heavenly beds. Service was friendly but sometimes slow as they didn't have enough people working the front desk. I'm still working through a dispute with the hotel as their housekeeping through out one of my shopping bags. Usually for the amount of money spent here, I wouldn't have to go through this much trouble for a reimbursement. However, management has been courteous throughout this situation.

There is only breakfast room service but many restaurants in the area also deliver. Since you will be in the financial district, many of the neighborhood bars and restaurants might be closed. I'd really only recommend this location if you know the city well and will not be around the hotel much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

I stayed at the Gild Hall in September 2009, while in NYC for a quick break before heading elsewhere int he US on business.
The hotel's great - large rooms, clean, and good value.
However, the location could be a down-side, depending what you're visiting NYC for. If you're on business, you're right in the heart of things with easy access to Wall Street etc.
For leisure, it's less good. Easy access to Battery Park and the ferries, but beyond that you're facing a subway guide to get anywhere - especially weekends, when a lot of the shops and eateries in the immediate area are closed. Fulton Street subway station is also hideously complicated.
Also thought that any hotel charging this much should have free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

My husband and I wanted to spend our 25th anniversary in downtown NYC. I booked the Gild Hall Hotel based on reviews and the location. It was a great choice! It's walking distance to the Seaport, the Hudson River walkway/park, and Battery Park. We wanted to do the Ellis Island Tour and also be able to go on long walks, so this area was perfect. The hotel is a funky little place with a great staff - very friendly and attentive. I lost a shopping bag at the bar one night, and the staff really bent over backwards to help me find it. The even offered to watch the security tape to see if it had been stolen. I've never encountered people so willing to go beyond their job description.
The room was a good size - the only strange thing is that the bathroom is walled in with frosted glass blocks, so you can see the person on the toilet. Even after 25 years together, that's just too much information. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of closet space.
The only bad thing about this location is the lack of places for a good breakfast on the weekend. Since it's a business area, a lot of the surrounding shops are closed on the weekend. The diner that the staff directed us to was horrible.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Booked this over the phone directly with hotel after several websites (including their own) showed no availability. Location was perfect for us since we have family a block away. Room was above-average size for NY standards, interesting decor, nice atmosphere overall. Only hitch was the smoking room they originally assigned; we had to wait about 1/2 hour to be re-assigned but everything worked out OK. Would definitely recommend this if you're looking downtown.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnyman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights before moving mid-town. Loved the location as it was perfect for exploring this part of NY and felt very safe at all times of the day and night. the hotel was very comfortable but like other reviewers did not like the bathroom door - very inappropriate. Didn't find the hotel staff particularly friendly, in fact we felt as though we were just about tolerated. They just answered our questions as briefly as possible and never offered any advice or additional information. On the plus side we never heard any noise from outside our room and the bed was extremely comfortable with excellent bedding. There was no iron in the room but we asked for one and it arrived straight away. All in all a good choice of hotel but didn't want to spend time in the lobby as we felt this was quite depressing with no atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoSunnyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing