We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service, rooms and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #30 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
“Great location, service, rooms and amenities”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great stay and very pleased with every hotel representative I had the pleasure of speaking with or otherwise dealing with during my stay. Definitely plan to return to this hotel on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Andrea M,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with every hotel representative you had the pleasure of speaking with or otherwise dealing with during your stay. Your sentiments about our superior product and genuine service are truly heartfelt and we are humbled to have secured your loyalty. Please come back soon...

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    443
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
215
622
124
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel was! We were in NYC for my daughter's orientation at Pace University. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful. It has a unique, art deco kind of design to it. The rooms are elegant and well appointed (love the fluffy comforters) and everything was scrupulously clean! The location was perfect (5 minute walk to Pace). There were dozens of restaurants in the immediate vicinity ranging from casual pub or pizza to high end, and everything was easy walking distance. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but I did look at the menu and found that the prices were reasonable. I will be making lots of trips to the city over the next few years and I will definitely stay at Gild Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Lynda M,

Thank you for your outstanding review! We are extremely honored to know that after an extensive search for the perfect hotel close to Pace University you chose Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel for your recent visit to New York City because of your daughter's orientation. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location and our superior room product. Thank you also for your fantastic comments about our comfortable bedding - "love the fluffy comforters"; in addition to our unique design and friendly, courteous and helpful staff. We are most humbled by your commitment to stay at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel over the next few years when visiting your daughter and we are looking forward to welcoming you back home soon. Please feel free to contact me directly in order to make the necessary arrangements...

Your friends at Gild Hall

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Don't let the exterior façade of the Gild Hall fool you. It's quite unassuming and architecturally uninspired. But walk through the doors and you'll be pleasantly surprised. This is one of the largest standard rooms I've ever had in Manhattan and for a very reasonable price, for Manhattan. In the financial district, this hidden gem is an easy walk to Wall Street, the World Trade Center site and Broadway. There are lots of shops, restaurants and pubs within an easy stroll but you're just off the path enough that it's remarkably quiet for downtown. There's a very short, safe walk to the Fulton Street subway station where the A, C or E lines will take you anywhere you want to go. Easy to get uptown or to Brooklyn.

The interior of the hotel is sleek, modern and clean with very professional staff and a secure elevator. The bed is quite comfortable and the bathroom is very nicely done. I can't say it enough, the rooms are huge for Manhattan.

There's a little cocktail lounge in the lobby and a restaurant serving a simple but satisfying breakfast. Around the corner is a great little pub with plenty of good beer and a scotch list to keep you busy. Ask for Finn. If that's not enough, there's a fully stocked mini-bar where you can have a glass of wine in the comfy robe they provide.

Safe neighborhood, first rate staff, and luxurious appointments. This is a great find!

Room Tip: Any and all. Only a few rooms on each floor. Intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear La C,

Thank you for your lovely review! It was such a pleasure to host you on this recent visit to New York City. It is always so rewarding when we are able to pleasantly surprise our guests. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our superb safe location, beautifully appointed spacious rooms, in addition to our great staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip...

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Gild Hall could not have been more perfect to host my family and guests for my daughter's wedding. The staff went above and beyond to make our guests feel comfortable. The rooms were clean and the location was great. I could not say enough about how friendly and helpful every staff member was. All in all, a really great experience.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the king size room, much roomier than standard and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franny1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear franny1054,

Thank you for your fabulous review! It was an absolute honor to host you and your daughter's wedding party. We are so pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and well-appointed, providing you and your guests with a perfect home base for your wedding celebrations. It brings us great joy to know that our concept really resonated with you and your guests. What makes Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel so special is the genuine and engaging service provided by our amazing staff and it is most rewarding to hear that every member of our team went above and beyond for you. We are most humbled by your expression that "Gild Hall could not have been more perfect to host my family and guests for my daughter's wedding". Thank you again for choosing to stay with us on this very special occasion. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Gild Hall Hotel has lovely large rooms, the AC gets down to 65 degrees (can I get a hallelujah), the staff is friendly and helpful, great mini-bar snacks and not eye gauging prices (well maybe the water was a bit pricey at $6)...and the location was superb as I was there on business! Unique decor in addition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raediant36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Raediant36,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that our convenient Lower Manhattan location provided the ideal home base for your recent business trip to New York City. I am thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be beautifully appointed and adequately sized. Thank you for also highlighting our unique decor. We look forward to fostering gratifying business relationship with you and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future...

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Positives: Clean rooms, Very comfortable bed! Friendly helpful staff, good location for sightseeing!

Questionables: We could not open our blinds in our room as their were offices and condo's directly across and close...felt a bit claustrophobic because of that.....No coffee makers in room.
It feels like a budget hotel, room was small, one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in NYC. They wasted half of the closet space with a minibar and expensive alcohol and snacks. We’d rather have more space to put our clothes than expensive snack, alcohol that I won’t partake in.

Bathroom also has two small shelves over the toilet disappointing if you are staying for more than a few days. There is a free standing sink with limited room for accessories. No storage area in the bathroom. There is only a towel bar to hang your towel and no other hooks to hang anything else. They had only 2 bath towels and hand towels, we have never stayed at a hotel that only provides only 2 bath towels, with no place to hang the wet ones if you have to reuse one.

The Bad:
The room we stayed had a glass bathroom door. This alone will make our decision not to stay here again. Whoever thought this idea up must travel alone. We have never seen anything so awkward and annoying. You are in a small room and the only privacy you may ever get is in the bathroom that has a glass door. We had to buy 2 cheap table cloths from the nearby store and tape the doors over. We will not recommend this hotel to our friends based solely on this design. Every time someone had to use the bathroom during the night and put the light on, the entire room would be lit up. Bad design!

It our opinion, Gild Hall is an ok, average hotel, however with that bathroom design, there are much better choices in the city and will look elsewhere when visiting the city in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can open your blinds without having condos/offices directly across from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear oscmj,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean room product, comfortable bed, great location and our friendly & helpful staff.
However, we regret to hear of the negative elements you experienced during your stay with us. Please accept our heartfelt apology that our room product and our bathroom design did not meet your expectations. Please note that the hotel does feature certain room types with a different layout that would definitely meet your needs. I will be more than happy to personally assist you with confirming a larger accommodation better suited to your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly at bblaha@thompsonhotels.com. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in our superior product and unrivaled service...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We live on our boat but we were coming into the city on the ferry from Liberty Landing Marina in Jersey City to see a play ("Sistahs" at St Luke's -- great) so we wanted to spend the late night in town. We stayed at Gild Hall and LOVED it. The financial district is quieter on weekends (perfect for us) but the hotel bar and adjoining restaurant (Felice, Italian and wine bar -- very good) were busy and fun. Our room was a good size, clean, comfortable and I liked the design and color palette. If you are looking for things to do in that area, there are plenty, especially now that the 9/11 Memorial and Museum are open but, in addition,there are many ferries going to many places (Brooklyn, Liberty State Park, Statute of Liberty etc). You can't beat the bike ride up the Hudson River Greenway (the path up the East River is more disjointed). I believe the hotel has bikes (we rode ours from the ferry and they stored them for us downstairs). Cab it or easy subway ride up to plays, Time Square, Central Park, shopping, etc. BUT the best part was the staff -- smart, pleasant and beyond helpful. I'm looking for an excuse to go back soon!

Room Tip: All good from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear SueEL,

Wow! It is such a treat to read your fabulous review. Thank you very much for such wonderful comments regarding our beautifully appointed clean & comfortable rooms and our unique decor & design. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed our great location and neighborhood. We are most humbled by your kind words regarding our "smart, pleasant and beyond helpful" staff and most appreciative for your commitment to return to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel the next time visiting New York City. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly in order to make the necessary arrangements...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 468 in New York City
434 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
365 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 468 in New York City
372 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing