We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Urban Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Real Urban Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was looking for a small boutique hotel. Was afraid that it might comes out with not the appropriate level and was glad to find out that the room were large enough and very clean, staff was friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere is great. close to metro station and enough to dine around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShimiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear ShimiO,

Thank you for your review. We hope you will be making a return visit soon...

Kind regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    432
    101
    38
    14
See reviews for
203
604
116
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I went to NYC with my girlfriend for a day trip and found this hotel for very reasonable rate. The ambience of the place is very unique compared to other franchise hotels. It definitely added an entirely new element to our trip to NY. We actually enjoyed staying at Gild Hall more than traveling about the city! The entrance to this place might be a little tricky to find, but with a smart phone and general awareness it wasn't a problem getting there. The lady at the concierge was very helpful in directing us to the nearest subway station and did everything possible to guarantee our good time. This will be the first hotel I look up the next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJam1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear SamJam1991,

We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your review...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Took my family here and wasn't sure what to expect when I saw the lobby. Very cool and kind of hipster and we are not. However, don't let that fool you....the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. My kids loved to sit in the lobby and pretend to play checkers. The room is a very good size for NYC. The bed was crazy comfortable and the room was quiet. The hotel is on a small street without a great deal of traffic, so there was very little noise at all.
Easy parking across the street. Amazing pizza place also across the street, that we enjoyed back in our room after a long day of site seeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Ginnelle E,

We are glad you and your family enjoyed a terrific visit. Thank you for your note and we hope you all will be staying with us again soon...

Sincerely,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The lobby, bar and restaurant are really beautiful. Unlike any other i've seen in a hotel. Even the smell reminds me of the rural outdoors.

The service was as you would expect from a premium brand like Thompson. Everyone was helpful and was excellent at their job. Virtually no waiting to check-in or check-out. The cleaning staff did a great job, the room was perfect. The bed and linens were perfect. I slept better than i do at home.

Some might complain that it feels old, but thats part of the charm.

Lots of amenities around ( grocery, pharmacy, coffee shops and restaurants), so you dont have to go far to get what you need.

Would definitely stay again and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Andre L,

Your recommendation is greatly valued. Thank you for posting! We hope you will be staying with us again soon...

Best regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Gild Hall is located in tight area that is hard to find if you are not familiar with that area. There is a lot of ambiance with the design of the lobby and the hotel restaurant. This hotel might not be a good fit for families or seniors.

The rooms are not large but the one I stayed in has a high ceiling. Since the building faces another building, there is not much natural light coming through the window. The light bulbs used for the ceiling lights and lamp are also not bright so expect a gloomy surrounding. Compounding the gloominess is the black carpeting.

The bed frame is larger than the mattress and due to the tight space between the bed and the desk, I keep hitting my shins at the edge of the bed when I walk between them. The pillows seems to have no firmness as you lay your head down on them, your head sinks to the bottom.

It is also difficult to work on the desk as its depth is short and work space is limited. The heating\AC unit seems to need maintenance as it produces a loud buzzing sound that is very distracting.

Even though the room is small, the bathroom size seems adequate. The water pressure from the shower is weak. The lighting around the bathroom mirror is bright but the sink is a pedestal so there is no counter space. The toiletries are good.

The front desk people are nice and helpful but I see them treat some guests a little bit better than others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear copan28,

We appreciate your feedback and will be reviewing the details thoroughly you have provided as we continue to improve. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at +1 212.232.7818 or bblaha@thompsonhotels.com in order to make things right for you.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronceverte, West Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We picked Gild Hall because it was right across the street from our daughter's apartment. She moved to NYC just 4 months ago. We loved the neighborhood with grocery, .diners, drug store , subway and restaurants all close by. Any an all help that we asked for was taken care of immediately. Everyone was so friendly and greeted as we came in or went out. They gave my daughter her own key so she could come and go as she pleased.

Room Tip: We were opposite the elevators but never heard them. The hotel is on a one way street and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Vi H,

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return for another trip to visit your daughter in the near future...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Nice lobby, friendly, helpfull staff. Nice and clean room with an awesome bed, comfortable and soft, really cozy.
We just stayed 1 nigth, but i would definately book this hotel again, if i'll be in NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, Alex768. Thank you for your review. We hope you will be visiting us again on your next trip to NYC...

Sincerely,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing