We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Financial District Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Financial District Location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Attractive, clean boutique hotel in the financial district. The rooms are comfortable and of typical Manhattan size (fairly small). The staff are friendly and helpful and the decor is attractive. If you are a fan of fitness facilitiies, they are very small, so heading over to Battery Park for a run alongside the Hudson is probably a better bet in good weather, but otherwise this is a good, all round hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andy_hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We look forward to your next stay with us, andy_hitchin, and thank you for posting...

Regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    447
    105
    38
    14
See reviews for
224
632
124
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tysons Corner, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. Beautiful decor (very masculine), comfortable, and rustic. It was extremely relaxing (very little noise, which is great), and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and well kept. Should I need to be in the financial district again, I will certainly return. Felice was also quite good.

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbhe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your post and for mentioning our team here at Gild Hall. We will look forward to your next stay with us, robbhe7.

Kind regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My fiance and I had a fantastic romantic stay at Gild Hall. We were OBSESSED with the decor. So unique and hip, with rustic charm. We had a super king in our bedroom which made us feel like royalty. Not only that, the staff was beyond amazing -- when they heard it was our anniversary they gifted us with a bottle of Prosecco. Also loved the financial district (WAY cooler than we thought it would be) and the convenience of the hotel's location. Will definitely be returning and telling all our friends.

Room Tip: If you can, get a super king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliciaRicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear FeliciaRicci,

Belated Happy Anniversary!
We are blown away by your great review! Thank you! It was an honor having you stay with us on such a special occasion. Your recommendation means a lot to us...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stay in NY a lot and in a lot of different hotels. Last week I went again to Gild Hall and this is definitely one of my favorites.

This is a Thompson hotel so the lobby and rooms are all stylish but not overwhelmingly so. Gild Hall is small enough that it doesn't feel busy or crowded when you come in and out of the hotel. I like the location which is away from the bustle of the city, but a convenient base to get around (all subways converge to lower Manhattan), especially if you are going to hang out in SOHO, NoLita, or Tribeca.

Service at Gild Hall is top notch. My stay started with a glass of Prosecco offered at check in, and while the attendant was working my paperwork I mentioned to my wife that we still need to confirm our dinner reservation - he overheard this and offered to make the call himself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P2Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear P2Traveler,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to write. Thank you for your posting.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly in order to make the necessary arrangements.

Sincerely,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a great night at the Gild Hall hotel. It was very convenient, the staff was excellent and there are some new places to try nearby. The rooms have an eclectic style but are comfortably appointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, J M, and look forward to welcoming you back to Gild Hall soon...

Best wishes,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Gild Hall for 10 days at the end of October. The entire interior looks fantastic, and the rooms we're very comfortable. We bought our stay through Hotwire, so it was fantastic value for money.

The location is great, far enough from the chaos of the traditional tourist areas, and the Fulton subway is only a couple of minutes walk away.

The staff we're superb. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Tomo and Perry who welcomed us and gave us a pretty comprehensive list of speakeasies all over Manhattan for us to try out. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Adam W,

Thank you very much for this fantastic review. Your kind comments about our great decor, the comfortable rooms and most importantly about our amazing staff is greatly appreciated.
We hope you will be making a return trip in the near future...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I returned a week ago from a week-long business trip at Gild Hall. Throughout my stay the service was prompt, professional and above all else, engaging on a personal level. The atmosphere feels, probably more than any city-based hotel I've ever stayed in, like home. This is an important quality for someone who regularly travels on business and who is accustomed to a more clinical approach. The same applies to the adjoining restaurant and bar concession - whilst under separate management, it has the same warm feel and great approach to its customers. Staff trouble to remember your name, and make you feel like a real human being. Thanks to the whole team for a wonderful time. I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Near the bar - less of a distance to stagger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDickenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear TimDickenson,

We are always very proud of being called a home away from home by our guests. Your enthusiasm means a lot to us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We look forward to your next visit...

Best regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
446 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
466 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
619 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#102 of 467 in New York City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing