We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nickeled and dimed in a sumptuous environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #42 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nickeled and dimed in a sumptuous environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Let me get the problem out of the way first: $15 A DAY FOR WIFI IN YOUR ROOM AND NO CHARGE IN THE LOBBY?????

So: people can wander in off the street to check their email, but once you are a paying customer, no such. This is totally idiotic but if you aren't using a laptop ignore this part and move on.

The rest was just magical! Great helpful staff, very cool public premises. Felice is a worthy Italian restaurant and the bars are perfectly decorated.

Location is excellent, Wall St/South St Seaport area. Too many tourists but what can you do, it's NYC in the summer, Ground Zero, etc. Very near Fulton St for subway access.

Room was big enough for two, unusual for a boutique hotel. GREAT A/C !!! Nice furnishings and prompt hot water.

Wifi policy only loses the fifth star. I got a great rate on booking.com, elsewise would have been way too pricey for me.

Wonderful choice, highly reccomended!

Room Tip: Room 164 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind note about how much you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and our amazing staff. Regarding your WiFi comment I would like to introduce you to our "REPEAT" guest program. Please contact me directly so I can explain in more detail...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    425
    98
    38
    14
See reviews for
197
594
112
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Whether or not you fully agree with my assessment of this hotel, if you've stayed at other NYC hotels, you're bound to find that Gild Hall is above average--at a minimum. And, to boot, it's very reasonably priced. It's particularly well-suited for those leisure travelers who prefer not to be in the commotion of Time Square and other touristy areas of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeLuxury35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks to guests like you and the great comments we are not going to be the "hidden gem" for much longer for sure. Please come back soon...

Thank you,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Gild Hall in May and enjoyed our stay. Since it was our first visit to NYC, we had lots of questions for the concierge. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and their helpfulness. For us, the location (financial district) was good. It was on the subway line, and an easy 10 min walk from the South Street Seaport (where we caught the hop-on-hop-off bus). The rooms were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The air conditioning worked GREAT. The only downside I can think of is that there are not very many places to eat nearby at night. Not a huge deal though once you know this as you can just make sure to plan around that or hop on the subway. We did have one dinner at the Italian place across the street from the hotel and it was really good. One tip would be that wifi costs $15/day if you want it in your room, but is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Carrie F,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed our excellent customer service during your stay and the hotel with all of its amenities. The next time you stay with us we are going to show you how many restaurants and bars there actually are in the downtown area.

Best regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found Gild Hall on Hotwire.com and wasn't sure what to expect since I had never heard of it. When I pulled up the website I was both shocked and excited to see where I would be staying over the weekend. Though the hotel doesn't have much signage out front and the street is rather bla, when you walk in the door the ambiance and eclectic decor instantly make you feel like your in a modern luxury hotel. The unique ambiance and furniture alongside the spectacular bookshelf staircase help make it such an unexpected Wall Street find. The lobby also has a quaint bar and additional whine bar upstairs with dimmed lights and a romantic yet hipster feel. All of the staff I interacted with were very real, pleasant, and seemed to genuinely care that I had the best and most comfortable stay possible. The room was very classy and the bed was very comfortable with exquisite leather like head boards and fluffy pillows. I usually can find a complaint to make but here I found none. This hotel is truly a gem of a find and I will most definitely be staying here on my next trip to to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Isaac D,

Thank you so much for your raving review. We were so excited to hear about your wonderful Gild Hall experience and we can't wait to welcome you back. Please note that we have forwarded your note to our staff and it definitely put a big smile on their faces...

Thank you again,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family and I stayed at GIld Hall for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a very rustic and charming feel to it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and don't shy away from any requests. As for the rooms, I would say it is a very standard NYC room. I've definitely seen better, but it's a great place to just crash at night. If I were to sum it up, it's a small, but pricey boutique hotel. If you are looking to stay closer to all of the action, stay somewhere more uptown. If you don't mind being away from the hustle and bustle, Gild Hall is a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redskins2971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We are looking forward to having you back in the near future...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently while visiting the city for a friends' wedding. We mainly went off of the sites' web site and the recommendation of the wedding party.

The stay was absolutely a pleasant surprise. From the friendliness of the front desk staff, to the upscale look and feel of the furnishings in the common areas and in our room, it really felt like we were getting a lot more hotel than what we paid for.

Check in was smooth pleasant, the desk was in direct view of the restaurant, which looked really appealing after a three hour drive. We headed there immediately after check in and had a very good meal.

The room was very sleek and modern, the housekeeping staff did their job perfectly, not much more to say here really. We did not get a chance to check out the fitness facilities.

Honestly the only downside is that the location is a little bit removed from some parts of the city. It was not by any means bad, but the Financial District is a bit dead on the weekends -- the nearby Starbucks all closed at 8pm (although there was a pretty sweet grocery store down the street with lots of baked goods and plenty to grab for a late night snack). It is also a bit of a hike to head uptown. I feel this is a fair tradeoff considering how much hotel you get for your money here, but it is something to keep in mind.

We would absolutely stay here again and have recommended it to several friends already.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToadandTenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear ToadandTenu,

Thank you so much for your great 5 star review. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly in order to arrange your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon...

Best wishes,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed there with my business partner in June 2013.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Especially, David at the front desk.
David is presentable, professional and very helpful during our stay.

Room
- compare to standard New York hotel, I see it as reasonably spacious.
- Spotless Clean and very comfy bed.
- provide C.O. Bigelow Apothecaries shampoo and conditioner.
- extra cost for wifi.
- extra cost for consuming the bottle water provided by the hotel.

Hotel
- Really like the decor style of the hotel
- free wifi at the lobby
- convenient location ( very close to Wall St/ the financial district/ the subway /and the pier)
- small gym room
- no roof top terrace
- have a nice lobby / library area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Denise C,

Thank you for your kind review and your detailed comments. Please come back soon...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing