We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #30 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Gild Hall when we were in town for a family wedding. It was my first time staying in the financial district of NYC (all other times I've stayed in mid-town), so some pros and cons:
Pros:
--Much quieter than most hotels in mid-town - most other hotels, even if you're on a high floor in a good hotel, you still hear constant street noise all night. Here, it's pretty quiet after about 7pm (and completely quiet all weekend). Also, the hotel attracts business people for the most part, so not a lot of young kids running around making noise.
--Convenient to the subway (about a block and a half walk to Fulton St. station), then only about a 10 minute ride to midtown. Also plenty of good coffee/bagel places , as well as several drug stores and convenience stores within a block or two.
--Excellent service. Whether we needed a cab, theatre tickets, recommendations on good restaurants nearby, or a bandaid after a long day of walking, the front desk staff was ready to help, and among the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered in New York. Tomo in particular was awesome.
--My husband still has not stopped raving about the great gelato at the hotel restaurant.

Cons:
--The financial district shuts down in the early evening, so if you want to be in the midst of NY nightlife and hotspots, it's not the best location. But again, it's only a short subway ride to mid-town.
--Most cabbies in NY have never heard of the hotel (since it's a smaller boutique hotel), so make sure you know the address and cross street if you're taking a cab to the hotel.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend it! Thank you to the staff there for being so friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingDiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear TravelingDiva51,

Your detailed and amazing review is very much appreciated. Your kind comment about our friendly staff was already forwarded and put a smile on all their faces...

Thank you again,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    443
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
215
622
124
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay was a combination of business and pleasure. The staff was extremely attentive to our needs. They were a tremendous help by providing directions, assistance, recommendations for dining and sightseeing - anything we needed. I would love to find a reason to get back to NY and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jim A,

Our staff was thrilled to read about your raving review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Your friends at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel...

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's convenient to the subway for anywhere you might need to go in NYC. I went on the weekend and found it refreshing to have good coffee shops for breakfast close by without the lines and crowds you find elsewhere in Manhattan.

My hands were full (with hot coffees) and a front desk staffer pushed my elevator button without my asking so I give them credit for great customer service.

Rooms were clean and beds were comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance in the future.

Best wishes,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice hotel, staff were kind and helpful.
Location is too far downtown for most NYC tourist hotspots.
Good for Ground Zero,Staten island ferries,Wall Street etc
Transport using subway & buses is good.

Quinny

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind note about our hotel and our staff. We are looking forward to having you back soon by convincing you that the location of the hotel is actually much more desirable than perceived by you.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Off the beaten path yet convenient to transportation and within walking distance to the sights of lower Manhattan, this hotel delivers on many levels! The neighborhood is quiet with very little car traffic. Hotel decor is sophisticated and comfortable. Our rooms were equally comfy and good sized. Rooms were immaculately clean! Big comfy bathrobes and slippers, ahhh. The suite had a well appointed kitchenette and spacious sitting area. The concierge staff are knowledgeable, very helpful and genuinely nice. The in-house restaurant and bar were lively and apparently popular with locals. The food was good Italian and the wine list was three pages long! Finding this hotel was such good luck! To be sure, I will stay there on my next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: King suite was the size of a small apartment. Both rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Pynki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear 57Pynki,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and all of your great comments.
Please come back soon...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found this hotel through Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. If you are looking for a quiet boutique hotel away from the chaos of Times Square, consider this hotel. The service is excellent and the facilities as described on the website. Travel delays into LGA turned a 1 hour flight into a 13 hour delay. The front desk was very sympathetic and apologetic when the hotel keys would not work properly. After four attempts we did finally get into an upgraded room. A bottle of champagne and fruit tray from David Finch, Asst Manager of the Front Office proves the service you will get at this fine hotel. We had an opportunity to eat in Felice (hotel restaurant). It was delicious! You are walking distance to South Street Seaport, Brooklyn Bridge, World Trade Centre and major subway lines. There are no sounds of any traffic as this hotel is tucked down a few small side streets. There is a convenience store 2 mins away that supplies everything you might need and a Starbucks as well. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us including the exceptional service provided by our outstanding team. Please contact me directly in order to arrange your next stay with us...

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Traveled for work, which is located a few blocks from the hotel. I travel every month or so and so far, this was the cheapest and yet most likely the best hotel I've been at this year. Great service, awesome room, no BS. exactly what I need.
Will come back again.

I wish that had a some loyalty program affiliation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Anton K,

Thank you for your 5 star review. Please note that an exclusive hotel rewards program is currently in the works. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for further updates...

Best regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 468 in New York City
433 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
365 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#36 of 468 in New York City
371 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing