We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed last week for four days with my wife. The location in the Financial District was a change from our usual Midtown choice but the subway was so convenient. The staff were very helpful. Janette and Robert provided great assistance. The hotel room was just the right size for people on the go. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was very quiet, a plus in New York.

Would defintley stay here again on the Porter Escapes package.

Room Tip: Took an upper room at the end of the hall which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Richard U,

Thank you for your great comment about our hotel and particularly your kind note about Janette & Robert. This will make their day! We are looking forward to your next stay at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    432
    101
    38
    14
See reviews for
203
604
116
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at Gild Hall for 2 nights / 3 days in March 2013. I booked the Superior Room through their website, where the room ended up being US$230 per night after all the taxes were worked in.

The hotel is located in lower Manhattan, where a Holiday Inn Express will cost you the same amount. With this in view, Gild Hall represented excellent value for what you got in the room, hotel environment, location, and comparison to other hotels in the area.

I thought the location was great, however, if you are a tourist, please consider Gild Hall's Lower Manhattan location. This area of the city is quieter than midtown and downtown (especially so on weekends, when the financial offices are closed). It is about a US$10 to US$20 taxi ride away from downtown and midtown, respectively. There is excellent access to the subway system (24 hours), with the Fulton Street station being a couple of blocks away -- convenient lines of the A, C, 2, 3, 4, 5.

The internet was available for an extra US$15 per day (probably excluded taxes), where I declined on the internet as it was an additional charge. It is lower than what other business hotels would charge, however, it would have been great if it could have been free, even if only in the lobby. There is a Starbucks on William Street 1 block away with free Wifi access.

The staff were well-mannered, pleasant, helpful, and appeared trained for customer service. They seemed to enjoy working there and with each other. We found Brian at the front desk to be especially helpful during our stay.

Gild Hall uses Bigelow toiletries, which is a plus.

Rooms were clean and of interesting appointments. I loved the hallway corridors of Gild Hall. The air felt dry through the HVAC system where I didn't sleep great at night -- but this may be due to the overall dryer air in Northeast US where I was still adjusting. I'm not convinced on the light pillows used in the beds, where I would have preferred standard larger/firmer pillows.

There is a lounge on the second floor where the hotel was flexible to turn down the volume of the music while I took an early morning conference call.

After check-out, I learned that there are fitness facilities on several floors of the hotel. I didn't have a chance to use these facilities even if I would have known up-front. Good to know for next time.

Really a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentobox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear bentobox007,

We appreciate your detailed review of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel and your perfect score.
It was especially great to hear from you how much you liked the hotel, its location and our staff. Furthermore, we are so thrilled to hear about the Brian's great customer service. Please note that we do offer free WiFi now in our lobby area.

Your friends at Gild Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

As tourists unfamiliar with New York City we booked this lower Manhattan hotel through the British Airways website, mostly based upon cost and appearance. We were not disappointed.

On check-in we were welcomed enthusiastically by the reception staff, who throughout the week were helpful and friendly.

Due to the lower-rise nature of the hotel (relative to its surroundings) we didn't have much of a view our, but after long and hectic days of touring the city this made the perfect retreat. With its quiet location we were not disturbed at all by traffic noise or the city bustle.

The room itself was immaculately clean, cosy and extremely comfortable. The only fault personally would be the lack of tea / coffee making facilities in the room, but that could just be my English ways.

The library bar(s) and reception do feel like a world away after busy touristy days and the Felice restaurant within the hotel is excellent.

Initially I was concerned the downtown location was a little isolated but there are many facilities nearby such as Duane Reade & local stores, fast-food, Fulton Street subway, Battery Park, Staten Island Ferry as well as great dining at Felice in the hotel and Harry's Bar at Hanover Square.

Thank you Gild Hall for your great hospitality and for making our NY trip even more enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel with confidence if your looking for a quieter out-of-town spot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevedb076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind commentary and your detailed review. We especially appreciate your remarks to Gild Hall’s great downtown location which is unfortunately not commonly known or sometimes mistakenly perceived as not as pristine. So thank you again and please enjoy an English breakfast tea on us the next time you stay at Gild Hall – A Thompson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel was just perfect for us. We stayed in Feb. for 2 weeks in total and loved it. As other reviews said, it is a GEM. It has a boutique hotel atmosphere, feels welcoming and cozy, especially in winter! The staff throughout were young, helpful and friendly. In New York were life is full on it was a pleasure to come " home" every night.
The restaurant and bar are lively and add to the overall atmosphere of a good place to be. the food, a little slow in getting to the table maybe, is good with an Italian feel to it.
Our room was perfect, bed comfortable with super quality linen. Bathroom spacious and every thing worked. Even with all the guest in the restaurant and upstairs bar there was not noise and we slept undisturbed.
Just a great place, perfectly managed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumofHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your outstanding review. We are so glad to hear about Gild Hall being your "home away from home". Should one of your next trips take you back to New York City we will be waiting for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at the Gildhall for two nights. It is very conveniently located in Downtown NYC close to Wall St and Seaport. The rooms are a good size (for NYC) and the whole hotel has the feel of a boutique style hotel being very tastefully decorated.

The staff were extremely helpful and were able to answer all of my questions. On my departure the receptionist went out in the rain to find a taxi for me and brought it back to the hotel so that I didn't have to wait outside.

The downstairs bar is very pleasant and again, the staff were very friendly.

I did not get a chance to use the fitness rooms but colleagues told me that they are quite small.

In summary - a very good business hotel with a friendly feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear about our staff's "can do attitude" and the great customer service they consistently provide on a daily basis. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with future reservation requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from a 3-day stay at Gild Hall and I was so impressed with their amazing customer service. I came to New York for a business/industry related function and didn’t choose this hotel, but I’m glad the organization I belong to did. Tomo and Janette and the other desk attendants and were very attentive to all our needs. From arranging cab service to making sure items were quickly delivered to our rooms, from helping us find delicious local eateries, to printing out documents for us at no charge; very impressive. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable and surprisingly very quiet! The library, wine bar, eclectic décor, and comfortable seating areas in the hotel give it a hip, chic vibe which fits the area very well. There was a grocery store, some shops, and many restaurants within walking distance so it was also very convenient, but off the beaten path just enough to get a quiet night’s sleep. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Katrina,

We are blown away by your review and we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to Tomo, Janette and the rest of our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's late on a Friday night in NYC lower manhattan and the event I am at is coming to an end. I have no hotel yet. Using my iPhone app I discover Gild Hall only a few blocks from where I'm at.

You know those discoveries in life where you by happenstance come across a remarkable great find? A treasure of a place or location that you probably never would have found except for unusual circumstances. Well Gild Hall for me is just such a place.

I knew as soon as I walked in it was special. You could feel it. Wonderful ambience. And the deal they gave me for a room the next two nights was an outstanding value.

My room felt so comfy. I truly felt at home. Like a second home in NYC for me. The bed was excellent and I fell into a deep restful sleep; unusual for a hotel bed in my experience.

The hotel's attributes are many; beautiful lobby, restaurant, wine lounge, and bar. The room decor, especially the bathroom with its frosted glass door, were great. I think Gild Hall offers tremendous value, even at their full rate.

What I liked most was how they integrated a great Library from the lobby all the way up into the 2nd floor wine lounge.

The staff are excellent, professional, and on top of everything.

For me Gild Hall is now my latest Treasure Find and I truly hope to have a chance soon to go back to NYC just so I can stay there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Erik,

What an amazing review. Thank you very much! Please come back soon...

Your friends at Gild Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing