We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A less successful second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #36 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A less successful second visit”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was pretty impressed with the Gild Hall on my last visit, so it set a standard for this visit.

Though not awful it's fair to say it didn't live up to my original visit. My room was markedly smaller, maybe I was unknowingly upgraded last time. To be clear by NY standards it was still acceptable, it was larger than other rooms I have stayed in this price brackets. It seemed the cleaner was a little lax this time. There was a mark on the top of the duvet and one of the bath towels had quite a few marks. They both appeared to have been laundered but nobody had noticed that they weren't quite clean. I complained about the towel but decided to let the duvet slide.

The service on the front desk and from the bell guys is always friendly and helpful.

The breakfast room service didn't have a menu available and had to be ordered in the morning which put me off. It all seemed to be rather suffering from teething troubles.

There seemed to be no meaningful Room Service outside of restaurant hours which surely defeats the point. Getting back to my hotel at about midnight, I was unable to get any food or a recommendation for take out. Leaving me going to bed hungry.

The most troublesome experience was the restaurant, Felice which had opened since my last visit. It had been relocated upstairs to the wine bar as the downstairs space was hired out for a wall st. party. The to me seemed like an average middle of the range menu, but then maybe I've been spoilt here in Europe. I had a Burrata Toast (Crostone ?) with Aubergine(Eggplant) and Courgette (Zuchini), which was fine, there wasn't a great amount of Cheese and it could have had more taste. Then I was asked to order my main as the kitchen was closing (before 9:30), I dutifully ordered a Ragu. A few minutes later the waiter came back and let me know that the kitchen had actually closed! He was very apologetic and clearly just seemed rather helpless.

I was speechless for a moment and then let him know this just wasn't acceptable. I had a glass of wine and half a starter and wasn't prepared to pay for that and then seek the remainder of my meal elsewhere. He went away to consult with the manager and a while later the manager came back to apologise and said he'd resolved it and I would have my meal. When it arrived it was decent, nothing mind blowing but perfectly nice. I had another glass of wine and some cake which both ended up being on the house to apologise for the earlier issue.

So though they were very sweet and they resolved the issue it wasn't a positive experience. Average food, and needing to complain just left a bitter taste.

Overall this is still a well priced option in downtown NY, with a decent FiDi location if you need to be near Wall St or World Trade Center, and nice staff, it just needs to pick up it's game. Improvements in Room Service, Restaurant and Cleanliness would put this back to a 4 or 5 rating.

Room Tip: One of the higher floors would be good if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckyblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please contact me directly so we can discuss your stay in detail.
Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    439
    101
    38
    14
See reviews for
207
610
120
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and always found the staff helpful and accommodating. Located near several subway lines, it's convenient to get around and quiet at night due to its neighborhood location. Quirky decor due to a glass wall between the room and the bathroom, but for solo or couple stays it's not a problem. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Every room I've stayed in has been comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Needed a place in the financial district and we discovered Gild Hall. A neat place. The room is OK, not a wow, but the best thing about the hotel is Felice-the wine bar and small restaurant off the lobby. Great selection of Italian wines, creative cocktails and good food. What more is there.

Room Tip: For us it was the price paid for the room. We were able to secure a $275 a night room rate through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjlobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant Felice and our wine bar La Soffitta. Come back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for a weekend with my friends. Great value for a hotel in the financial district and a great spot if you spend your time split between manhattan and Brooklyn. Rooms are decent sized for NYC hotel and the staff were so friendly. Will definitely make this my hotel of choice to stay at in the future - there are so many overpriced and drab hotels in NYC so it was a pleasant surprise when I stayed at the Gild Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your great comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have to say it is, by far, the most interesting hotel I've ever stayed at. I was looking for a 4-star reasonably priced hotel around the downtown area so I could quickly shuttle to Brooklyn at 6:30am on a Saturday morning for the Rock 'N Roll Brooklyn 10K. And this is actually one of the hotels I was looking at because I heard good things about it. And when I did the Hotwire Super Secret hotel booking I was able to get a good deal for this hotel. It is pretty much in the middle of the busy and dirty downtown/financial district area but it's location is great! It is about half a block from the Fulton St subway station, it's a few streets away from Leo's bagel (yum!), and it's so close to Wall St and it is like a block or 2 away form South Street. Oh yeah, the WTC is probably a block away. It is in a sweet corner between Platt and Gold so it is not awfully busy. It looks like other brown buildings around it so it can be easily missed but the flag can help spot it. The doormen and reception desk people are very nice and accommodating and helpful. The lobby has that nice modernized sitting area with "animal skin" as carpet (cool!) and it has it's own pub area too. The elevator is room key activated because of the pub area and the 2nd floor library/private party area, so that only guests can access the hotel room floors. As for the 2nd floor library, it has a lot of books around, a nice sitting area, and actually a bar area. The room that I got was the regular king room on the 5th floor. It is SMALL. Pretty much looked like a loft. The bathroom is literally 5 steps from the bed and though the sink and bath tub and bathroom decor are nice and new the door is frosted glass and you can see whoever is in the bathroom. So my best friend and I when we each use the bathroom had to make sure the lights are off so the other cannot see the inside of the bathroom. The room decor is modernized country home-- it has antler looking chandelier and the bed board is this padded leather board and the cabinets and tables are this rustic-brown color scheme. It is very MODERN. The housekeepers are very good. They keep the room clean and smell clean. I also like how fast they are to get us a taxi when we needed it. Overall, my experience is good. It's a nice retreat after being outside in the busy financial district area.

Room Tip: If you're going to book this hotel through sites like hotwire, priceline, and the like make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silwJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I live in New York and checked into the Gild Hall after being displaced as a result of Hurricane Sandy. After staying here for nearly two weeks, I can't say enough good things about this place. The hotel, from top to bottom, is beautiful and modern. The restaurant Felice (which is a huge improvement from its predecessor, the Libertine), wine bar on the second floor (the whiskey cocktails are amazing), and the pristine rooms are sophisticated without being pretentious. The staff - Scott Koster the general manager, Tomo, David and Caitlin, the assistant managers - have been nothing short of amazing. Their care and attention have made my husband and I feel so at home during an otherwise trying time, and we couldn't be more grateful. We are now fans of the Gild Hall for life and look forward to coming here for dinner and drinks in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

this is not an easy hotel to find in the financial district, especially on foot from the subway. deserted late at night down there and tons of construction. small bar on site but not very appealing. harry's pizza bar is next door, which is a plus.
if you have business downtown this is a decent spot. nice modern rooms and mine was reasonably spacious. a bit of a trek if you've got business elsewhere in the city but with some very low rates over the summer it was worth it for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing