We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #33 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you're coming to NYC and plan to only want to hang around Wall Street, it's a good spot. Boutique hotel, pleasant staff, quiet. It's not terribly convenient to tourists/visitors' interests. No coffee in the room, and they're proud of their coffee when you pick up a cup in the lobby. Everything comes at a cost...coffee, water, tea...is that just NYC? Maybe. Cabbies have a difficult time finding the place. Restaurant and bar staff are friendly. Glad I was on an expense account!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank caligal831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Gild Hall in NYC this past weekend. The experience was excellent and the service was fantastic. Will definitely stay there again! I will list the pros and cons of this fabulous hotel:

Pros:
- Excellent front desk service and response to requests from my room
- Gorgeous decor
- The most comfortable bed and sheets I have slept in at a hotel ... ever.
- Fantastic water pressure and excellent lighting in the bathroom for make-up
- Quiet location

Cons
- $15/day for internet service and $20+ cab fares to go uptown
- Doors to bathroom are clear/blurred, so if sharing a room, make sure you know them well
- Rate went up $100 / night from Friday night to Saturday night

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMacWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the midst of the financial district. Beds are good rooms cleaned efficiently no coming back to unmade beds. As usual in NY they are small but not the smallest just don't bring too much luggage or you will fall over it! Reception is chatty almost at a 5 star level. New restaurant Feliche an Italian opening tomorrow. Free wine and food today lucky me. Food is good, service fast but the chain is excellent so ought to be!
This will be my new haunt in new York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The Gild Hall hotel is a small hotel in NYC Financial District with friendly staff. Rooms are typically small but comfortable and clean. Beds are very comfortable. The location is great for meetings in the Downtown area. The Felice restaurant serves a good selection of meals throughout the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's been one year since my wife and I stayed at Gild Hall for our wedding. They set us up with a room for her and her sisters to get ready and then moved us to a suite for our wedding night. All of the staff was exceptional and extremely accommodating. I would stay for every anniversary if we could!

Room Tip: Any suite is truly amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachmattheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked this hotel through a reputable travel site but when we went to check out they produced a bill that was higher than it should have been. I told them the rate was incorrect and showed them the confirmation but they simply said we'd have the pay the higher rate, that it really wasn't their problem and we should sort it out with the travel site ourselves.

We didn't have time to get into a prolonged debate as we had a flight to catch so we had to leave and I then had to waste time during my holiday writing a formal complaint and chasing them up several times before they finally agreed to honor the rate we had originally been given.

It's shameful that a hotel of this calibre should behave in this manner. If there is an issue with the rate then the hotel should take it up with the travel site directly. Not their paying customers.

What makes this more disgraceful is that it absolutely isn't a one off because there is at least one other reviewer of this hotel who had a problem when booking with a 3rd party travel site. In his case he had to pay more for a lesser room. Disgusting.

Anything positive that I might otherwise have said about this hotel is negated by the shoddy service and dishonourable practice that I experienced.

In addition, you might be interested in the following:

* Air condition unit is noisy.
* The bathroom wall is made up of glass so when you turn the light on during the night, the whole room is illuminated.
* Wifi is not complimentary which is a real bugbear of mine in this day and age.
* There was no room service or restaurant although that will have changed by now as they were about to open one.
* The checkout staff were just rude and unhelpful.
* And finally, it's the only "high end" hotel I've ever stayed in where they only provide shampoo & conditioner but no body lotion.

There are plenty of other hotels in New York so go for one of those!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am sorry that there was confusion with the rate for your booking. Please contact me directly so I can assure your satisfaction. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our entire stay was just perfect, from check-in to check-out. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The king superior suite was beautifully furnished and decorated, spacious and super clean. I've stayed in many hotels, and I can say with confidence that that was the best night's sleep I've ever gotten outside of my own bed. Thank you Gild Hall, for a great experience!

Room Tip: The king superior suite is a must! You'll have your own perfect NYC apartment for the length of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadtulips_mgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
644 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 471 in New York City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#48 of 471 in New York City
647 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 471 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#39 of 471 in New York City
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $164 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing