We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend escape. We explored a good deal of New York City, which meant we were often traveling far away from this secluded Financial District location. But even being off the beaten path, we enjoyed this hotel. A short walk to the subway, we were able to easily get further North. This is of course also quite close to the new WTC memorial which we were glad to explore.

The service was decent, but nothing to brag about.

Overall, a fun boutique hotel, if you're looking for a quiet spot as your home base.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for writing your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry your experience with my staff was not exceptional as I would expect. Please contact me directly next time you are coming to NY so I can ensure your satisfaction is up to our standards.
Warm Regards,

Scott Koster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    439
    102
    38
    14
See reviews for
208
612
120
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I needed a one night stay in New York for a work trip. A Bloomspot deal arrived in my email inbox for Gild Hall, so I purchased it, since the reviews were very good and the overall vibe looked appealing. The decor appeared modern retro, with a lodge in the woods type of vibe, but stylish.
Everything went smoothly upon my arrival and check in. The room was a bit more spacious than other boutique hotels in the city. Whenever I needed something, the front desk staff was very responsive and very quick (i.e. free drink vouchers that were part of my Bloomspot deal: someone delivered those to my door promptly, as well as a cord I needed to borrow for the internet).
The bar in the lobby (The Libertine) was comfortable, and there is an upstairs lounge above the bar, which was a nice option.
The location is a bit tucked away down some smaller streets, which made it feel slightly more private for being in New York. Very convenient to Financial District attractions and easy walk to SoHo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unicornsandrainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for the great review! Give me a call next time you are coming to New York

Scott Koster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I enjoyed the hotel. It has multiple sitting/bar areas and is a good hangout spot, with lots of interesting people to watch and talk to. The room itself is nice, but i think i got upgraded as i got in late and they were sold out. Sometimes a bit too reliant on being cool from a service standpoint. Area is all offices, not much of interest to see if you want to kill some time. If you are there on business and stay in the hotel for a few hours, i think you will like it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy the 911 memorial, South Street Seaport or Batery Park. Please let us know next time you are coming to town and we will have our concierge set up some exciting things for you to do in the Financial District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

1. Put on a smoking floor without being told (did not know they still existed)

2. Charged for every incidental items (internet, apples in the lobby, etc.)

3. Front desk decidly unhelpful, had to call down twice for things they should have told me at check in.

4. Bathrooms not up to date

5. Excercise room out of water.

Overall, just a lack of attention to detail and nickle and diming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
I am sorry that you were not satisfied. Please contact me directly so we can discuss the details of your stay in person.

Kind Regards,

Scott Koster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stsyed here in April. In heart of financial. Good for weekday business travel. A little far from weekend activities. Is very close to seaport. Few markets nearby. Subway 1 block away.

Staff very friendly. Loved the decor. Creative, interesting. Would highly recommend. Especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day trip to NYC. Stayed at Gild Hall with a friend. While I can't say it was a horrible stay, the room is lovely, just like the pics. The hotel decor is great. I just think the staff needs more training on how to be consistent. My friend arrived before me, she checked in, then I arrived 2 hours later. Neither of us were offered a glass of Prosecco, as I observed other guests were, the next day, but to be fair, this was a totally different staff checking in the newly arrived :-(. No coffee available, unless you walk a short distance to Starbucks, which isn't bad, however, when you're hungover you really just want it at your fingertips (don't judge).
The next day the cleaning person only left one wash towel?? We called down and it took over an hour to get another. If you are use to getting body lotion, shower gel, shampoo & conditioner, bring your own lotion & shower gel, these are not provided. I liked the location, the cab drivers did not, but it was quiet, and not hard to walk to. There isn't weekend room service, but it's New York, you can easily, walk out the door, turn the corner and right up the street is a wonderful restaurant & gourmet grocery. In all it's not a kid friendly hotel, and since I don't have any that was fine by me. Its is a boutique hotel, whatever that means. Not sure if I would stay there again, given that there are other places to choose, that provide simple amenities, for around the same price or less.

Room Tip: Ask for a top sheet. The room temp was perfect, not too cold and not too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

On a weekend, Lower Manhattan is less frenetic than Midtown. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Gild Hall over the past weekend. The location is great, tucked away in one of the maze of little streets in that part of the city, and really close to several subway lines. If, like me, you are a runner, you have easy access to some great routes (Battery Park, Hudson River Park, Brooklyn Bridge). If, like me, you are a shopper, you are close to Century 21 and a short walk from the Tribeca and SoHo shops between West Broadway and Broadway. (Tip: SoHo gets very crowded by 2 PM - most shops open at 11 AM on Saturdays so aim to go between 11 and 2 if you want to avoid the crowds).
The room we had was well-appointed and on a high floor so far enough away from street noise, although this area seems pretty quiet at the weekend.
The hotel bar was chocker with the after-work crowd on the Friday but very quiet on the Saturday.
The only disappointment was the breakfast. The restaurant is closed at weekends so there is a continental breakfast buffet only. Not very good value or quality. I can overlook that - I'll stay at the Gild Hall again.

Room Tip: I'd go for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing