We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at Gild Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #33 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Gild Hall this past Aug. 2011! My son lives accross the street, so it worked out perfect for us. The hotel was very clean, bed comfortable, and and the decor was real trendy. It does not have your typical drawer space for clothing, but what they did have was plenty for the two of us over a weekend. Why stay at a Holiday Inn when you can stay at a Thompson property for the same money!They even have a complimentary umbrella in the closet to use if there is rain during your stay! We kept checking their rates and found a very good rate that fit our budget...also a free "welcome" drink coupon was included! Yes, it may be quiet, which was great for us, but they have the South Seaport only a few block away which was great to just tool around! We loved it, and would stay again! Kathy Liberatore

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is very quaint and a very high end boutique hotel. The rooms are designed fabulously. The service is fantastic. I rate it 5 stars and highly recommend the Thompson hotels as a fantastic value.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I spent a week at the Gild Hall in Mid-September whilst on business in New York.
The Gild is a nice enough hotel, and boutique in style.
On the plus side it is in a quiet location and very close to the the heart of the financial district.
On the negative, given how close it is to Wall St. as a business base the rooms let it down.
I needed to work in the evenings, and ended up sitting on the bed as the desk (if you can call it that) provided was totally useles; it's only about 18 inchs wide and already clutered with a lamp and drinks trap before I tried to squeeze a laptop in only to find the slot to slide my knees under the desk was in a corner, directly below the lamp. OK I could have shifted the lamp and other bits, but there was no where to shift them too. Frustrating.
The iPod docking station in my room was broken too.
Other than that a typical NY hotel room; on the small size and dark (something else I don't like).

OK for a short break, but don't expect to do any work in comfort in an evening.

If you do stay, there's a good dry cleaner 50 yards down Platt St. who do a next day service (dry cleaning & laudry) for a fraction of the cost of the hotel

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stylish and trying but doesn't live up to the Thomson Chain brand and is on the lower end of boutique hotels. No room service on the weekends.....carpetting in the rooms needs cleaning (this on the basis of two rooms)....the room bathrooms have a door facing the bed and the entire entrance (wall and door) of the bathroom is transparent - even if you are travelling with a very close companion, this becomes frankly weird.

No fan in the bathroom (so a long shower fills the room with steam), ventilation uneven in the room (super cold or no air at all)....no coffee maker in the room, and your closet light is connected to the neighbors - so when you walk by the closet you and their light goes on. They walk by their closet, your light goes on! Digital signal on the television (not that you are in NYC to watch tv but....) is slow and uneven.

Limited food in the area - remember it's the financial district - but it's close to the Seaport which is a really nice part of the city, fewer tourists and calmer, quieter etc. On the positive side it's quiet and the staff is super helpful.

Like this hotel enough but the weird bathroom issue is enough to have me stay away. Boutique hotel? At between 325.00 a night they need to do better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank velo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear velojmp,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We value your feedback and take each comment into serious consideration as we persistently strive to improve our services to accommodate the needs and desires of our beloved patrons.

We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on our superb customer service and we assure you that our staff members are able to address any concern that may arise during your stay. As well, we are always standing by to offer great food and event recommendations or transit information to make your stay seamless and enjoyable.

Again, thank you for sharing your review with us. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again upon your return to New York.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

First of all, the entrance to this hotel is on Platt, not Gold - we definitely did frustrating laps of NYC after exhausting Gold Street as the flags on the hotel emphasize the Thomson Chain rather than Gild Hall itself.

That being said, once we found the hotel our overall experience was great - the gentlemen at the front desk and dealing with the cars were all exceptionally polite and friendly. For example, When we asked for a map, they offered to recommend sites or routes to walk around.

Our room itself was nice - very masculine finishes with a leather headboard with buckle details and a black/grey theme in bathroom.

My two main gripes - the bathroom, while well appointed had a few minor frustrations. First, there is no bathroom fan. This can be less than ideal for showering as it results in an overly steamy bathroom but also, and this might seem funny, but there is a certain degree of privacy afforded by the bathroom fan. Especially when the bathroom and the 'living space' is less than 5 feet away from one another. The bathroom door itself also didn't close very well and had 'ribbed' glass so my fiance laughed that he could see me through it. Finally, the fancy design of the shelves didn't really allow toiletry bags to fit properly and the sink was a pedestal design which didn't help with storage either.

Secondly, for a rather refined hotel, the connecting restaurant, Libertine, was a major disappointment. We received a voucher for 20% off and even so felt we grossly overpaid for substandard food. Several things we asked for were unavailable that evening, including french fries and a few appetizers. Because we were on a 'splurge trip' we got dessert despite a fairly disappointing meal and the sorbets were half melted, which our server pointed out by saying 'yeah they are kind of melted but you have spoons..." The restaurant also felt fairly run down - the sticky bar feeling that I associate with university days rather than a NYC hotel.

Overall, would stay there again happily if I planned my meals better beforehand. It didn't help that we stayed in the financial district on a stat holiday so everything was closed in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank swtpeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear swtpeaz,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Gild Hall. Your feedback is invaluable to the improvement of our service and accommodations, and we appreciate the helpful comments you provided. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the privilege of serving you again upon your next visit.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Me and my girlfriend visited New York City last year for the Eminem and Jay-Z concert at the new Yankee Stadium in September of 2010. We looked up on the internet which hotel to stay in the city. My girlfriend picked Gild Hall because she thought it must be nice if it was located in "Financial District". I was skeptical but she was right! The great service started as soon as the cab pulled up at the front entrance of the hotel. Check in was fast and simple as if they new it was us as when the cab pulled up. The hotel manager, Benjamin Chan (if i remember correctly) knew what he was doing. He knew all the places to get the NEW YORK FOOD that locals rave about, even restaurants in Queens. Everyone was professional just the way i like it. NICELY DRESSED and courteous. Pretty much everyone was in a suit and tie and NOT sloppy. That's one of my pet peeves. You can't just have a nice suit (especially one that doesn't fit) but you also have to look good!. Nicely decorated rooms,very clean and everything was operable. Actually one of the elevator went out of service as my girlfriend and I were going to Megu(which recommend if you want the best quality of beef) but on our way back to the hotel, it was already fixed! I was in the Marines for four years and now I'm a successful designer and I worked hard my whole life; I want what I spend to be worth it and everything perfect. Gild hall did the job and I recommend it to anyone who knows and appreciates quality.

Note: When we headed out to go to the concert(which was AWESOME!), my girlfriend wanted to experience the NYC subway system. Again, the manager came to the rescue! He gave us the best way to get to the stadium with added information on the area and how the subway works!

Room Tip: We had a room near the top which was really high and cool when looking out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Designers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Designers101,
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Gild Hall. Superb service and comfort are our top priorities, and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here for one night on September 11. This hotel is in a great spot situated in a quiet area. I had a great night sleep (which is almost unheard of in NYC). My room was well appointed but a typical small, cozy NYC hotel room. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. While I didn't go to the bar it appeared to be a very hip and happening spot. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelMamma07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear TravelMamma07,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Gild Hall; we love hearing from our guests. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the privilege of serving you again upon your next visit.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
502 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 469 in New York City
699 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 469 in New York City
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $201 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing