We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Not so good rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manhattan Broadway Hotel
Ranked #424 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good location. Rooms relatively clean and comfortable. Beds not too bad. The tv was not working ok, so we had to switch rooms. Reception was helpful. Not really three star, more like two..Imagine something like in the Tarantino movie, four rooms

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 697 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

"A crack in the wall" is an accurate description but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very hospitable and helpful. Hard to beat the location between 7th and 8th avenue four blocks from times square. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Reserved 3 rooms, were told they overbooked. Had to squeeze into two rooms. Got money back for one room, but no discount for others. Rooms were small but clean. Would recommend if they can get reservations on track. Great location. Second time in New York, both times i was only in room to sleep and shower, why would I want to spend more time in room, when I can be out in New York City. I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank crazy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this hotel with Expedia.com and in all honesty, the site should be embarrassed to be partnering with this business. There should be some kind of screening process for any hotel to be included on these accomodation sites!! The room was $250 for one night, booked during the time of the MLB All-star game because I had a business conference that following morning.

The photos displayed for this hotel are beyond "gross representation" of this 3rd world hostel. It is not a hotel, it is a building that someone converted by finding mattresses, bed frames and sheets from the salvation army. Your towels will proudly display signs of use from those before you. The "beds' were mis-matched mattresses on top of shotty "frames". The pillow didn't even have pillowcases. One blanket had stains, the other was a cut-up piece of fabric. The "desk manager" was a sleaze-ball living in denial that the rooms in this hostel are "clean". When we demanded a refund, we were told he could not do that because we were upstairs too long (30 minutes max, as we were scrambling to find another room elsewhere), and that in that time he could have booked the room for someone else. Mind you, this was 11pm at night on a Tuesday. When I said I would call my bank, he laughed and told us "Good luck with that, we already have your money."

It might be a good price/room for someone from a 3rd world country, but for anyone looking to not get bed bugs, lice or carry some roaches back to their own homes, it's a scam of the highest level. They will run your card and have you sign a form before viewing your room to ensure they have your money whether or not you can stomach spending the night in this run-down roach motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andresa0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was an entire deception, for 30~ buck I decided to get this one over some others but the quality is on the floor:

- Tiny and Stinky (very, very... VERY stinky) room
- Flies in the bathroom
- Low maintenance
- 15in TV with 5 channels and bad reception
- Horrible bathtub

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and you will get something way better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, everything was perfect from our room to the hotel service. Would definitely return. The location was very convenient for our travelling needs such as shopping, sightseeing. This was the Perfect NYC location!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've stayed with my son at the said hotel for 5 days. As anticipated, I am not expecting a 3-4 star service but considering the location, it's just fantastic. Whatever personal requirements are at the door-step ...... Hotel staff are quite helpful and don't expect to have meals (you'll have plenty to choose from)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZainHaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#377 of 470 in New York City
746 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#414 of 470 in New York City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 470 in New York City
2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#396 of 470 in New York City
1,646 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Address: 273 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $87 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist class boutique hotel, economically priced, clean, well appointed rooms. - Heart of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Broadway Budget Hotel
Hotel Manhattan Broadway
Manhattan Broadway Hotel New York
Manhattan Broadway New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing