We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peterhead, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

My boyfriend and i travelled to New York on the 28th May and stayed at the New Yorker Hotel for one week, before we departed i had emailed the hotel and asked if there was any chance we could have a room with a view and was so delighted when we found out we were on the 35th floor with views of the Empire State building. Although the room was on the small side (what we expected of rooms in New York) the location and obviously the view from our room made up for this. The staff were friendly on the whole and we would definitely recommend this hotel it is 2 mins from Macys, five from the Empire state and no more than 15 to times square and Broadway., Can't wait to go back""

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephyb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for the endorsement, Stephyb41! We're glad you had a good time in New York. Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,487
    4,596
    1,843
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,051
3,721
552
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed four nights in January 2009, on fourth trip to New York. Hotel is safe, clean and friendly and within great walking distance of MSG and Macys. You can navigate pretty much anywhere around Midtwown without hitting the subway. Tick tock diner is good value, Triple Crown pub near MSG is busy when sport is on a MSG.Expect small rooms in NYC, you get them in every big city, try Brussels in the week or Geneva- that's expensive

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PinoCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for the compliment, PinoCheltenham! Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

hotel staff friendly and helpful, great rooms and the beds fantastic you get a great nights sleep, couldn't ask for a better location and amenities well its all there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oclag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you for the compliment, oclag! We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel was right by Penn Station and Madison Square Gardens. It was about 10 blocks from Times Square (easy walking). The hotel is old and our room was very small. New beds, central ac/heat, and flat screen tv. The tub and tile in the bathoom was old and simply painted over. If you don't mind a smaller room I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moby200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Everything was a 10 about this hotel. Just couple blocks from Penn Station, it wasn't a far walk from Times Square, either. Very clean, very well run, very comfortable. Diner off lobby made breakfast easy. Price was about $300 nightly, but that's New York. It's reasonable compared to other hotels. A definite recommendation and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americansportswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

One thing you cant fault this hotel on is its location. It is on the same street as Macy's and the Empire State Building, opposite Madison Square Gardens and just 7 blocks from Tmes Square. Opposite is a local chemist/convenience store which is very useful for picking up bottles of drink or any last minute toiletries (as rooms to not have drink making facilities). The tick tock diner attached to the Hotel was nice but was a little pricey and the service was not fantatic.

One big fault however was the size of the rooms and noise levels. The sound of the next room flushing their toilet was so loud it felt like it was in the same room as us and even though we were on the 29th floor we could still hear the street outside. The rooms were very small, there was about 2 feet of room around 2 sides of the bed and the toilet was about 6 foot from the bed on the other side. WIth 2 suitcases and 2 hand luggage bags on the floor there was alot of climbing over things.

We were given a free upgrade from a Metro Room to a View Room (due to early check in which they happily accommodated) but the view was mainly of the hotel on the otherside of the road and not of Manhattan. We would have been very dissapointed if we had paid for a View Room.

If like us you are going to sightsee and will just be sleeping in the hotel rather than spending any considerable time there then it is an adequate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SightseeLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
While we're glad you appreciated our location, we apologize your stay at The New Yorker Hotel did not meet your expectations with respect to the noise and room size. Unfortunately, this is common in New York as their is a premium on space and it is always a bustling place.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to be able to better serve you in the future given the opportunity.

Sincerely,

Glenn Merone
Front Office Manager
212-244-0719 x7793
gmerone@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackworth, uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

this hotel is without doubt a great art deco hotel in a great location in midtown manhatten
the room we got was very large with 2 bathrooms
but unfortunatly for me i was with my wife and daughter and still had to wait to use one of them
the room number was ?????? sorry i cannot give this away as i will book again and will request this room
it is nice to go to a hotel where every member of staff was helpful
the tick tock diner which is attached to the hotel had a good range of food at a very good price
i would reccomend this hotel to anyone going to new york and would use it again
the only down side is that there is no facility in the room to make a drink but the diner is open 24/7 and drinks can be taken up to the room

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukconchords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Thank you for the endorsement, ukconchords! We're glad you had a good time in New York. Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,519 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing