We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC. The front desk and bell staff were very courteous and helpful. At check-in, we were offered an upgraded room. The room was spaceous, clean, quiet & tastefully decorated. The location is very convenient. The lobby is beautifully decorated. Couldn't ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonvisitorBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,921 - 8,927 of 11,932 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

We booked our New York trip through a travel website that included our flight and hotel for a really great price. This hotel was the place included. The location was perfect. It's in mid-town right across the street from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. Times Square is in walking distance (about 10 blocks) and Koreatown/Chelsea is down the street. There were many restaurants to choose from in the area as well.

We arrived at 1:00pm and was told our room was not ready. They have a service that will take your bags so you can explore the city, which we did. When we came back at 3:00pm, they apologized for the wait and upgraded our room to a suite. Excellent! Our room was on the 27th floor with an excellent view of the city and harbor. The room was a bit small, but very cozy and plenty of room for 2 people. The Tick Tock Diner is located on the lobby floor and is a bit pricey ($35-40 breakfast for 2 people) with slow service, but the food was good.

For our next trip back here, we would probably stay here again because of the price, service and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CrabbyKing93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Very friendly staff, very busy, small room but clean, 'couldn't swing a cat' comes to mind, the bathroom is very small, with old fashioned taps on the wall so getting an ambient temperature is tricky for showering and very small towels ladies, the size you would normally wrap around your hair!! Would I stay there again - no.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiphamSynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I brought a group of high school students (64) to NY for a journalism convention at Columbia University. I've done this three times and stayed at a different hotel each time. This is the first time that I've found a place we will definitely rebooking for our next visit.

Upon arrival, our keys (for 20 rooms) were ready and we had no problems checking in. The hotel is located right around the corner from Penn station and about a block away from the red lines.

The in-hotel diner was great -- good food and reasonably priced for New York. The rooms were generally spacious, though there was quite a difference in size, with one group even getting a room that had two bathrooms. The only issue was that the water temperature in the shower was inconsistent, but that's pretty minor.

Overall, we had a great experience and will we back in two years.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlbalmeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I just recently returned from my trip to NYC and stayed at The New Yorker. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would definitely return! The room was clean and the bathroom was impeccably clean as well. The location is perfect for theatre goers. No taxis to worry about as it is walking distance to Broadway and Time Square. My teenager particularly enjoyed the convenience of the Tick Tock Diner especially after a show. The diner is attached to the hotel. Good food and very reasonable. We stayed on the 26th floor so we didn't hear any of the traffic. The concierge was friendly and helpful and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
I am definitely returning to this hotel when I return to NYC!
TIP: the hotel has a storage space in case you need to store your luggage due to a late flight.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

despite a lot of reviews we had read ,we really thought hotel was very good.It has been modernised to a high standard.rooms are spacious and in good nic.Location is close to all we could walk to hells kitchen times square etc.The bar was always busy for both food and drink always a buzz.,over all very happy,would deffo stay again

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRockIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We had read many reviews before deciding upon a hotel for our New York stay, finally choosing the New Yorker. We were thoroughly pleased, brilliant choice! The hotel has a bit of character having been around a while! The receptionist who dealt with us was very friendly and helpful (even though an obnoxious guest was stood having a go at the staff at the same time!) Fab location. Great pillows too we slept very well! Concierge was very good, advised us of the Stage cafe a few blocks away for breakfast which we loved and Uncle Jack's steak house, beautiful! Advice- book the 48 hour hop on hop off bus tour thru the hotel $54 each, well worth it. We had a fantastic break in New York and would definitely return in a few years.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Services at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

Dear Sally2312,

Everyone here is so thrilled that you were “thoroughly pleased” with your stay in our hotel! And I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. I was also glad to see that you used our concierge’s services. They can assist all of our guests with many services, including theater tickets, sightseeing tours, transportation to and from local airports, restaurant reservations, florists, and more. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
New Yorker Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,460 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 471 in New York City
7,140 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $126 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing