We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very happy”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

despite a lot of reviews we had read ,we really thought hotel was very good.It has been modernised to a high standard.rooms are spacious and in good nic.Location is close to all we could walk to hells kitchen times square etc.The bar was always busy for both food and drink always a buzz.,over all very happy,would deffo stay again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRockIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,640
    4,792
    1,940
    595
    370
See reviews for
3,212
3,875
580
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We had read many reviews before deciding upon a hotel for our New York stay, finally choosing the New Yorker. We were thoroughly pleased, brilliant choice! The hotel has a bit of character having been around a while! The receptionist who dealt with us was very friendly and helpful (even though an obnoxious guest was stood having a go at the staff at the same time!) Fab location. Great pillows too we slept very well! Concierge was very good, advised us of the Stage cafe a few blocks away for breakfast which we loved and Uncle Jack's steak house, beautiful! Advice- book the 48 hour hop on hop off bus tour thru the hotel $54 each, well worth it. We had a fantastic break in New York and would definitely return in a few years.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Services at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Dear Sally2312,

Everyone here is so thrilled that you were “thoroughly pleased” with your stay in our hotel! And I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. I was also glad to see that you used our concierge’s services. They can assist all of our guests with many services, including theater tickets, sightseeing tours, transportation to and from local airports, restaurant reservations, florists, and more. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
New Yorker Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the New Yorker hotel from 5 to 11 March 2010 and it was absolutely wonderful. I could not fault a single thing about the hotel. My sister and I travel the world for business constantly and we totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel and found our experience equal to, if not better than any other places we have stayed at. We also gave a big thumbs up to the Tick Tock diner. The service provided by the staff is equal to any of the 5 star hotels we have stayed at including W Soeul and various Grand Hyatts. The room had two very comfortable double beds, two wardrobes, a great, if small, bathroom and great housekeeping. Loved it and will definitely be back. 3 star price for a 5 star eperience. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockyourbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The location of the New Yorker could not be better. Macys is one block away, Times Square is only 10-15 walk away and most of the main subway stops are on the doorstep. The room was small but comfortable and clean. The Tick Tock diner attached to the hotel was very good for breakfast with a large menu. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Services at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Dear Becks78,

We are so glad that you were able to utilize our convenience location! Yes, we are indeed only one block away from Herald Square and the most famous Macy’s in the world, a 10 minute walk away from Times Square and we are just one block away from Penn Station and the Long Island Railroad, Amtrak, NJ Transit and 6 subway lines, so our guests can travel all over the NYC area with ease. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait until your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
New Yorker Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

After having sticker shock from the hotels in NY, I got a great deal on this hotel through Priceline. It was absolutely perfect - clean, good location, and nice staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennylou_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Services at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Dear jennylou_7,

We are so glad that you found your stay with us “absolutely perfect!” Exceeding our guest’s expectations is a goal our hotel staff strives to achieve daily and with every single guest interaction. We can’t wait for your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
New Yorker Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My friends and I had booked three rooms, each containing two double beds. This was confirmed on the original booking and a subsequent confirmation.

Upon arrival at the hotel at approx 2pm (check in 3pm) we advised the Receptionist we were here and could they let us know when the rooms would be ready. We were abruptly (so much for the excellant service in the USA) and with attitude advised check in wasn't open for another hour, however the Receptionist then proceeded to check our booking. She was quick to tell us that each of the rooms only had 1 double bed, we advised this should not be the case as it had already been confirmed there would be 2 beds.

After some tooing and froing and showing our confirmation, the Receptionist conceeded we if fact could have 2 double beds and her attitude changed, but not to the extent of apologising.

The rooms in the hotel are very small and could do with updating, that said they were clean.

The Tick Tock Diner is fantastic and here we experienced excellant friendly service and would certainly recommend for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia8901
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Coming from Ireland, we weren't sure what to expect. As soon as we arrived, we were treated with kindness and made to feel very much at home. The staff were very accomdating and extremely friendly.
Anytime you passed a member of the staff, they always chatted and asked you where you are from. **Shout out to Jermaine and Vladimir**
Also booked a town car back to the airport and it was fast and reliable.

We are definitely coming back this summer =]

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Services at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Dear mia8901,

We are so truly glad that our staff was able to make you feel “very much at home.” Our main goal is to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as we possibly can! I was also glad to see that you took advantage of New Yorker Rides, our exclusive in-house transportation.

P.S. Jermaine and Vladimir were quite thrilled that you remembered them!

Sincerely,
New Yorker Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#94 of 467 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,436 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,625 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing