We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
State College, Pa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

The New Yorker is always a great stay. This is probably our 6th or 7th stay here, and we've never had a bad experience. The location is super convenient to Manhattan destinations and subway lines, and a short drive off of the 9A. The staff is always super (thank you again Mohammed!) and go above and beyond to assist the guests. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty small, but it is New York City, and it comes with the territory. This trip was our first stay in one of the newly remodeled rooms, and it was a nice and much needed upgrade. No matter which type of room we've stayed in, the rooms and hotel have always been super clean and super comfortable after a long day walking around. If they would finally upgrade the wiring enough to have fridges in all of the rooms, it really would feel like home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and the staff (especially Mohammed) provided the level of service as expected. Please be assured they will be given a copy of your review.

I hope we continue to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,489
    4,598
    1,843
    567
    349
See reviews for
3,052
3,723
552
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

It is new York, and the hotel is conveniently located at heart of the new York, even is about $400. i think it is worth it, especially we are 4 shared a room.
I room is below standard, it might convert from very old apartment. there is a big balcony next to my room, however, It was locked and not allowed to open. such a shame that the view from balcony would be wonderful.

The security check is tight, especially at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and you enjoyed our centralized location.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I would absolutely return to the New Yorker. Within walking distance to Penn Station, Friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank pbergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and the staff provided the level of service as expected. Please be assured they will be given a copy of your review.

I hope we continue to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is classified as four star - it is not anywhere near a 4 star hotel. Possibly a 2 star
The rooms were dingy and not well furnished.
Mould in the bathroom. Holes in the wall in the bathroom.
I never stayed in a supposed 4 start hotel where the Concierge is not an employee of the hotel - this service is a different company form the hotel. The Information desk likewise, is a sub-contarcted service.
The hotel advertises 24 food and beverage - but this again is not owned or managed by he hotel and is a separate company (Diner) attached to the hotel. I had to return a coffee due to lipstick still on the mug and cutlery was also returned as it was dirty.
The cost of the room is based on a 4 start hotel, but should be a 2 start at the most.

Room Tip: I cannot suggest a 'good' room at all. The public areas were not kept clean. Rubbish on our...
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes they have an environment policy but do not keep to it.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I would like to investigate your stay further but do not have your contact or reservation information. Please email me at brauch@nyhotel.com and reference your review.

I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Having been to New York and previously stayed at another hotel on 7th Avenue we decided to see whether we could get another hotel which offered a higher star rating which was close to Penn Station & MSG without breaking the bank.

We decided upon the New Yorker Hotel based on location, WIFI in the rooms and safety deposit boxes (in room). Upon arrival at the hotel the reception desk was extremely friendly and we were checked in within 5 mins and then directed to the hotel lifts. This hotel has 40 floors but has express lifts from 20-40 so if you were at the higher floors it was far quicker.

I do agree with other reviews the rooms are small but you are staying in a prime location in Manhattan so what more do you expect. The rooms were very clean, the bed was comfy, the TV worked and we had a room on the 20th floor so high enough as well. I have read other reviews about street noise - what do people expect?? You are staying in a city with is 24hrs?? Nothing stops, we didn't have too much issue sleeping given how tired we were from shopping and seeing the sights.

The rooms also had air conditioning which is August was ideal.

Overall really pleased we chose the hotel and the staff whether at the front desk or maids were friendly and always polite.

Room Tip: Wifi tip - they offer a free wifi service and a charging service for $9 a day. The basic service you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and the staff provided the level of service as expected. Please be assured they will be given a copy of your review.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mdina, Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Do not expect latest furnishing and spacious rooms, however it is good value for money considering the location. Close to Penn Station and couple of minutes away from Port Authority terminal. Clean, well educated staff, but very small rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and the staff provided the level of service as expected. Please be assured they will be given a copy of your review.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here while on a four night stay in the city in 2011. It served all our needs the room was good the bed was very comfortable which was a god send on first night as we had been travelling for 22hrs . As we were out & about most of the time we didn't use the hotel's facility's so can't comment on them but the hotel it's self is situated within walking distance from times square .We loved the Tick Tock diner for breakfast were they do the most amazing breakfast waffles & Cooper's Tavern was ideal for an evening meal at resonable prices. We found the staff pleasant & friendly , we would certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENPER0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your stay and the staff provided the level of service as expected. Please be assured they will be given a copy of your review.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,525 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing