We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my first time to New York and was recommended this hotel from the travel agents. Prior to coming I was put off some of the reviews but I can honestly say there was no need to be. This hotel is perfect for those who want to explore the city. It is in a fantastic location whether your trip is for shopping or exploring the city.
Any requests we had they were dealt with straight away. The staff were so helpful with helping us with our bearings and suggesting places to eat and where to go. If you are looking for a good base in Manhattan this is definitely your hotel. It is not overpriced and the rooms were not bad all.
I am not one for staying at the same hotel twice but I would come back here because it is just a perfect base. One thing I always look at is the customer service and this hotel delivered on that. I would like to make reference to Carlos in Security whose service was fantastic and the concierge team who were always happy to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0sie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,606
    4,754
    1,917
    586
    369
See reviews for
3,172
3,844
573
1,285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed five nights on 34th floor in a one bedroomed suite - it was huge - with the Empire State Building directly opposite our bedroom and a large balcony off the lounge. Just lovely and so reasonably priced. Excellent location for accessing all the sights and a 24 hour diner plus a smart restaurant on site. I slept on a sofa bed in the lounge and it was amazingly comfortable. Two enormous walk in wardrobes and really well sound proofed, didn't hear any other guests during the entire time. I suppose if I was being really picky I'd say the bathroom was a bit dated but the shower was fine and always hot and towels and toiletries were replenished daily. We were there during the heat wave but the air conditioning was excellent. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carola109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I came here with friends for 4 nights and we were aiming to be out a lot (which we were) this was a great place for us as it seemed every cab we got was $10 to and from. Fantastic location and really next door to Madison Sq and we did a lot of walking to other destinations such as the shopping and to the bottom of the Empire State Building.
Rooms are small, but as I said, as a base fine and we had 3 of us to a room with 2 double beds, just enough space for all the shoes and bags.
It was a little run down in the public areas and the rooms- and the bathroom needed up dating, but a refurb is happening at the moment (which will most likely impact what was a VERY reasonably priced hotel). And for the price and location it wasnt in anyway bad!
Hopefully the upgrade going on now will not make this affordable hotel into something more exclusive.
ideal for friend trips, or those wanting to just sleep and dress in the hotel room.
There is a diner next door, which is OKAY - one of the least interesting meals we had, was fine for a hangover boost pre-shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDUK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 8th floor of the hotel and thought it was outstanding. From a design perspective, I loved how the light sconces have picked up on the overall art deco and traditional design elements of the hotel. I also liked how the wall sconces and the desk lamp were similar in desig and tied the room together very nicely…Even the design of the drawer pulls on the night stands and dresser worked with the overall design…

I worked for an hour or so at the desk and it is perfect sized and the chair extremely comfortable. The bed was firm, the linens were high-quality and I love the beaded leather headboard. The size of the room was very generous by NYC standards and the stall shower and pedestal in the bathroom were great…I’m less of a TV guy but wow…the room comes complete with a sizable flat screen TV. The bathroom linens were the right combination of soft but absorbent.

Overall, the room, and whole experience at the hotel, was very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A great rate allowed us to upgrade to the Tower Suite, which is super roomy with a separate livingroom and bedroom, each with its own tv. Stayed a week. What we loved about room 4009....
-Amazing views out all windows.(see pictures)
-Super comfy bed.
-Wonderful housekeeping staff kept it spotless and always greeted us warmly.
-Big bathtub for a soak after a long day.
-Location location... not only for walking, but for getting anywhere in the city. Cross-town bus stops across the street... ACE lines downstairs and 2,3&4 lines a block away.
-Tower suite has a roomy 'fridge with some drinks which were no charge... and they kept the coffee pods coming as we went through 6 or 8 a day!
-Free internet was good.
-Elevator to the 40th floor was amazingly fast and we rarely had to wait more than a minute max.
-Security to the elevator (don't understand why this bothers some... It's NYC... good to know that people on your floor are actually staying there.)
-It was snowing and the heating was GREAT and very quiet.... also loved that the living area and bedroom had separate controls so we could keep the bedroom cool for sleeping while keeping the rest warm.
-Included breakfast on 39th floor was good enough to get you going with good variety and a little protein (cheese).
Disappointments:
-They knew it was a big birthday for hubbie, but acknowledged in no way.
-Unfriendly woman at the breakfast room check-in (but really helpful guy working the room.
-Lost all hot water for several minutes (per other warnings on this site)... it only hapened to us once during the week, but once is too much. It is clearly a problem at the hotel, so fix it already! This is the main reason for 4 instead of 5 stars.

All in, we had an amazing stay at the New Yorker Hotel. It's charming and old-world and the tower suites make you feel like you're at home. We really could have happily stayed a month. Only hope we can return one day.
-

Room Tip: Scaffolding outside of some of the hotel... call ahead to make sure you get a room where there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the New Yorker a few years ago now. This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are very nice and have everything you basically need for your stay. We did not spend very much time in our room at all as we were out every single day sight seeing!! Loved New York and will be staying again hopefully :-))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THFCRAGGoldenGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good hotel and friendly staff. We had 3 rooms between us, all of which differed greatly in size but all did what they were supposed to do- gave us a good nights sleep! The location is the biggest draw being within walking distance of Times Square, etc. and close to the Subway. A great base for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marble90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 467 in New York City
4,293 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
18,102 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 467 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,484 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,550 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing