We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years 2013 in New York!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2014

For my first time to New York City, I went for 5 nights over new years eve 2013. This hotel was an ideal 3* hotel in a good central location! It's just a couple of minutes from Macy's and also Times Square!

The rooms are quite small but they are comfortable and ideal as your only sleeping in them! With the package we got we got breakfast included in the 24 hour cafe attached to the hotel which was brilliant, because the breakfast options were huge!!!!

If it's your first time in New York I would recommend you to do the 'Hop on, hop off buses' and the water taxi because both will give you a good chance too see all around Manhattan and you can get off for a couple of hours and then pick it back up and carry on the tour as they run a couple of times an hour!

Also if it's a special occasion I would recommend you go to 'The View' at the Marriott because it rotates as your having dinner to give you an amazing view of the city at night! It's not a cheap night out but it's worth the money if it's a special occasion!

Would definitely go to this hotel again if I went back to New York! And I would recommend going over New years is amazing as you can see the famous Ball Drop in Times Square, see it snow and also go shopping when they have all their big sales!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holliedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,130 - 5,136 of 11,595 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just arrived back from NYC and thought I should review the New Yorker Hotel.
Rooms are more than adequate for sleeping, beds are great and maid comes every day.
Location is great for Empire State, Macys, Times Square.
The hotel is annexed by an amazing diner called Tick Tock. Great staff and good portions.
We were lucky enough to have room 1939 with a stunning view over Empire State.
Would recommend to anyone. Whilst not the smallest of hotels, it runs like clockwork and the deco entrance foyer is stunning. Great staff.

Room Tip: 1939 has the best views over Empire State
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were in NY in order to show our dog in the big dog show. This limited us in our choice of hotels. We chose the New Yorker hotel as it was one of the official dog show hotels complete with doggy toilet area in the cellar and free transportation to the show.

Unfortunately, on arrival, the check in clerk tried to overcharge us and put us in a room with two double beds. We had booked a room with a queen bed. It took the manager and an hour of our time to fix it.

Have you ever visited NY in February? If not, I don't recommend it. The weather was storm after storm. If it wasn't snowing heavily, it was down pouring. The worst weather possible. We were literally stuck in our hotel room much of the time. This was a problem because there was only one chair for the two of us. There was no room to move around. While the hotel was well insulated against outdoor noises (we really didn't hear the street noise much) it was not insulated for noise from other rooms. We could clearly hear practically everything our neighbor said.

The location was good for the dog show but not great for the theaters. We walked up and saw several plays but the weather made those walks uncomfortable.

The elevators for floors 20 to 40 broke down one afternoon for over an hour. We had just made it to our room in an elevator before the break down. Those after us had to climb stairs.

To explain the title, the room was so small it truly felt like a prison but the weather made it a welcome place of respite.

Room Tip: Don't accept on of the prison size rooms unless you are only there for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanaramaRidgeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

2nd visit to the Hotel New Yorker in August 2013. Only rated this as average this time due to the fact that we had no water for 2 nights running so unable to get a shower or flush the toilet. Staff still half and half, some friendly and some damn right rude but this seems to be the norm for NY which is a shame. Hotel is very spacious but rooms very small. Great location close to Empire State Building. Think id try a different area of NY next time I go though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed in the Hotel for the 2nd time frm 3rd to 9th February. We had a brilliant stay in the hotel. Check in was very quick and room was ready immediately. Room was very small with no view unlike the previous room I was in but what can you do? .. Tick tock diner is so handy to be able to go there at any time(24hrs) and it has a side entrance directly from the lobby. The only issue we had with the stay was that the Westminster dog show was on that week and there were a lot of dogs which didn't matter until a lot seemed to be on the same floor as myself(25th) and the person with the dogs kept leaving with one dog and leaving one in the room unoccupied. The dog would howl until the owner returned. This happened on a number of nights and when I informed the front desk they said they were unable to contact the guest so in turn could not do anything about the problem. I would have taught they would put all guests with dogs on the one floor since there was so many of them and i'm sure were booked well in advance!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank nymco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at the New Yorker for 5 nights in feb 2014. We stayed in room 3714 (37th floor), with views directly facing the Empire State Building, room small but plenty of room for two large suitcases plus additional shopping, very clean and very comfortable bed. Staff all great and very helpful. Excellent location and would definitely stay here again. Only downside was the shower which had a mind of its own, sometimes boiling at other times freezing, but you got used to it!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank laurajy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked a standard suite and once I checked in and arrived at my room, it had not been cleaned. I went back to front desk and Muhammed apologized and gave me a new upgraded suite. It was a beautiful full suite with a living room, dinning area and bedroom with a walk out balcony overlooking the city. Spectacular !! Thanks again Muhammad and staff for the upgrade. This hotel knows how to take care of its guests.
John Newsholme

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#104 of 469 in New York City
4,407 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,280 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $163 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing