We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk was great, Muhammad made my day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #279 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked a standard suite and once I checked in and arrived at my room, it had not been cleaned. I went back to front desk and Muhammed apologized and gave me a new upgraded suite. It was a beautiful full suite with a living room, dinning area and bedroom with a walk out balcony overlooking the city. Spectacular !! Thanks again Muhammad and staff for the upgrade. This hotel knows how to take care of its guests.
John Newsholme

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,221 - 5,227 of 11,704 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent 2 nights here w/my daughter. Excellent location, not only to NYC attractions, but to the Megabus bus stops. Not in all the craziness of Times Square, but easy to get there. Staff was excellent & attentive. Our room was a decent size, no view, but that didn't matter this trip. Comfortable beds and nice bath. We enjoyed eating at the Tick Tock diner where portions are large & it's attached to the hotel. There is also a fun mexican restaurant kitty corner from the hotel with a nice outdoor rooftop eating area. We'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We chose this hotel to stay at with friends to attend an event at Madison Square Garden. Not only is it well located for the Garden, it is also right next to a major metro station. The entrance to the metro is right outside the hotel door - a big plus in poor weather. We also attended 3 Broadway plays and found walking to be just fine and a way to see the surroundings. We had a view of the river from our room and in the other direction is a fantastic view of the Empire State Building. The room was under 200 square feet. There was some plumbing noise and the rooms are not very soundproof.
We stayed for a week. Usually I get a sore back from hotel beds, but this one was great and extra pillows arrived promptly at our request.

Room Tip: For a special treat, ask for a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Central location, easy to get around Manhattan by bus or metro.
Got a good deal staying in February, so could afford a suite. This meant we got free breakfast too, this was a good buffet selection up on the top floor. On the weekend we got a breakfast voucher for the diner downstairs.
Cool decor, and great views of the Empire State Building or Hudson River.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here with my parents for 4 nights in October and we were all very happy with it. No problems whatsoever, the room and the bathroom was clean, we always had hot water and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is huge but everything seemed to run smooth. Great location, a minute from Penn Station and 5-10 minutes walk to Times Square. We didn't have a great view but we were only in our hotel room to sleep anway.
Free and reliable wifi, there was also an option to pay for faster wifi but I didn't use it.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norosesnoskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My mum and I travelled from Australia to NYC in July-August 2012. We originally rented an Air BNB apartment but it didn't work out (apartment was not as advertised) and so we wanted to get out immediately. We had stayed in the Ramada in LA prior to NYC and were impressed, so I googled the Ramada in NYC and found The New Yorker. It was an expensive stay but we were impressed. The service was impeccable, the room was big and the bed was comfortable. One night our toilet overflowed the the hotel asked if we wanted to upgrade our rooms (we said no because it meant we'd have to pack them unpack all our stuff!). We stayed for 16 nights.

The hotel was close to the subway, restaurants (love 9th avenue), Macy's and Chelsea.

We hired a fridge for $20 which was very useful. We would have liked a microwave though.

A really great stay - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights the weekend after thanksgiving. We arrived at the hotel early and was able to checkin at 10am! Room had 2 double beds and was one of the more spacious rooms with a nice view of the Hudson. The drawback was the tiny bathroom and lack of hot water. Some days there was no hot water for hours. The tic to diner was really convienent after a long day and subway right next to the hotel. Hotel was $249/night and I think a good value for location and during a holiday. We stayed at Marriott marquis 2 nights before here and I liked the marriott hotel a lot more but it was a lot more expensive. I would stayed here again if I had to go to the convention center.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2trlfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 469 in New York City
4,866 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 469 in New York City
19,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#282 of 469 in New York City
5,433 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 469 in New York City
7,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing