We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend Peter Arrived at the New Yorker sat 30th Nov when we arrived we got upgraded as it was peters birthday the room we were given was amazing very clean two comfortable beds an amazing powerful shower , the view was fantastic , the location was close to everything , staff very welcoming & friendly . We would stay here again amazing thanks to everyone at the New Yorker we had a great stay . :-) thanks Chirsty & Peter
HAPPY HOLIDAYS

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chirsty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Ryagual@nyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,449 - 5,455 of 11,730 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Located in central Manhattan this hotel was a great base for sightseeing.
The room provided was comfortable and clean and the staff were attentive and helpful.
Would recommend this hotel and I would personally stay again when I return.

Room Tip: Book a safety deposit box in the reception when you arrive as the room I occupied did not have a saf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alun n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Friends and I booked into The New Yorker and requested a room with two bathrooms which we were lucky enough to get. Staff helpful and the room was clean and quiet (not usually expected in New York) We had to ask for a tea/coffee machine - not enough cups for us but we managed.
I would really recommend this hotel as being so central and thus we could really enjoy the delights of New York.

Room Tip: We had a room on 19th floor which was on 34th Street so it was a bit quieter than being on 8th Avenu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueH1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you take the train you cannot bet the Penn Station location but even if you do not this is very good locale. Most rooms are large. Bathrooms are small but adequate. Clean if worn in spots. Not enough signage. Gift stop on lower level not well identified. I would skip the Tick Tock Diner and some of the meeting rooms are in very poor repair.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Spent a week in the hotel.Small rooms but we paid extra for the view which was over the Hudson River .The rooms were extremely clean and the staff were very friendly and polite.Although there were no coffee machines in the room we just asked and one was provided complete with coffee pods and sugar etc at no extra cost.The hotel is within easy walking distance of Time Square macys etc.

Room Tip: Paid extra for a room with a view the view over the Hudson was lovely especially watching the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppersday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is our 2nd time at the New Yorker as we loved it so much we had to.come back. We preferred this hotel's location and the staff are brilliant, nothings a problem. Rooms are really clean, although small but we had the most amazing view from our window. First time we stayed we were lucky to have a balcony! The Tick Tock Diner which is joined onto the hotel is really good and again staff are really nice. Always really busy but great service. We cant wait to.come back to the New Yorker <3

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here in September...it was ok...nothing spectacular. My room was VERY small, and the bathroom was not clean when I arrived. The only person who bothered to care was the operator when I called to have my bathroom cleaned. She was very helpful. The night manager could care less about this issue. He did not seem pleasant either. As others have said, the location is good. That's about it. This place is not worth the stars it has. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service and for the substandard condition of your room. At The New Yorker Hotel, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness.
Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards.

Please be assured that this issues you’ve raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent issues from recurring. Therefore, I’d like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to New York City.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Ryagual@nyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,345 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,881 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
19,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 469 in New York City
5,443 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 469 in New York City
7,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing