We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again...ever.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again...ever.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here in September...it was ok...nothing spectacular. My room was VERY small, and the bathroom was not clean when I arrived. The only person who bothered to care was the operator when I called to have my bathroom cleaned. She was very helpful. The night manager could care less about this issue. He did not seem pleasant either. As others have said, the location is good. That's about it. This place is not worth the stars it has. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service and for the substandard condition of your room. At The New Yorker Hotel, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness.
Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards.

Please be assured that this issues you’ve raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent issues from recurring. Therefore, I’d like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to New York City.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,447
    4,543
    1,817
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,001
3,679
546
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Booked this hotel through First Choice.
We arrived earlier than stated check in but the nice young lady on reception checked us in and would inform us when our room was ready. Our room was ready half an hour after check in. Getting to our room we were rather disappointed that we had travelled over 3000 miles for our honeymoon to be given a room with twin beds and a view of a wall. We did go to reception and asked the staff if we could move to a better room. They sorted us out with a double room with 2 windows, one with a view of The Hudson River and the other with a view of Times Square. The room was small but perfect for us. Bathroom was a nice size, with a rather large window.
Staff where lovely and very helpful.
We stayed for 5 nights. The bed was very comfortable, had perfect nights sleep every night. (Room 3725) every day we came back from being out our room had been cleaned, bed made and bathroom replenished.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room it is always worth asking reception if you can change to a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Random_angel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at he New-Yorker for seven nights at the end of November 2013 in room 2653.
The location of the hotel is great, no doubt about that.
Our major issue was with the shower - water in the shower had sudden changes in temperature and went from normal to boiling hot followed by very cold every two or so minutes. We spoke to the reception and didn't get any help on this although someone came to check it and saw the problem. Imagine having this issue for seven days and feeling there is no one to talk too.
The second issue was that in the mornings the cleaning staff talking and arguing loudly while making the rooms and cleaning the hallways, we could hear every word through the thin walls and it happened five out of seven mornings we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. On behalf of our team we do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

Please know that our management team is passionate and committed to the continuous improvement of our services. Your comments and concerns have been shared with our Management team for further follow up with their respective areas.

I invite you to contact me next time you plan your trip to the area, I would gladly assist you with any request or questions you may have to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

To start with, this is the second time I have stayed at the New Yorker, and I expected good things from it. I had the misfortune of staying in one of their metro rooms and from the moment I entered the room (which was 2614) I regretted not staying in the cheaper 3*hotel (which i know had bigger rooms and included breakfast in the room price) I had canceled my 3* option in order to stay at this 4* hotel, the room without a doubt was the smallest I have ever stay in 20 years of visiting The big apple the wardrobe was so small the hanger had to be turned sideways so they would fit.

The cases when in the room completely blocked one side of the room, and the flat screen TV was tiny to go with the tiny room, so this in my Humble opinion was not a room worthy of a 4 star hotel (it was more akin to a 2.5 star) and worst still not worthy of the New Yorker I once knew.

On a positive note the staff were nice, the location was adequate for getting around the city and the fitness facilities were outstanding if you like as I do to workout in the mornings you will not find a better hotel to accommodate your exercise needs

Room Tip: Avoid the metro rooms (room 2614) their are a lot of 3 star hotel that are better value for the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_O_E_pioneers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We do value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a business.

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. In addition, please accept my deepest apology, as certain rooms in the hotel within the same accommodation category can be different sizes based on where the room is located.

We would like to make this right, please reach out to us directly prior to your return so that we can give you the experience you deserve!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked our room for Thanksgiving as we were attending the Macy's Thanksgiving day parade.
This hotel was in an excellent location!! Close to Macy's, Times Square, Manhattan Mall and we didn't find the walk to Central Park to bad either.
The parade route is partially on 34th St and we had to walk a few blocks out of the way to get back to the parade route as 34th St was already closed by 5:30am.
The room was small and the bathroom was anciet however it was clean and we had a nice view. The service was great. Mohammed at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a choice into what type of room we wanted. The diner in the hotel (Tick Tock Diner) was open 24/7 and the food was good and reasonably priced, McDonalds and Starbucks were right across the street as well. A few cons for me is that the room did not have a coffee maker; even though we were on the 34th floor you could still hear the noise outside; the shower temperature was either really cold or burning hot and the curtains had to stay shut in order to keep the room warm as it was quite cold near the windows but overall and mostly due to it's location and price, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel that is chic and has an absolutely fabulous location, this is the one! My friend and I had a great time here and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling in the city. The staff is great and super helpful and the rooms, although a bit small, are gorgeous. Even the outside of the building looks great. We could even see the Empire State Building clearly from our room!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK051007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just come back from a four day trip to New York where we stayed at The New Yorker, we were met by Mohammed on arrival who couldn't have been more helpful, having explained to him it was my daughters 21st he presented her with a box of chocolates and a card and did his best to book us into a room with a good view, we were not disappointed as we had a clear view of the Chrysler building and a fairly good view of the Empire State. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The tick tock diner was fantastic value for money and is open 24 hours which is great when you have been on the go all day!! I definetley recommend this hotel....fantastic location, value for money and above all fantastic staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,779 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing