We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #280 of 478 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Good service. The 1930s hotel was 'of its age' and the room on the small side. Quiet and clean though. If you want a well located base and are more interested in exploring the city as opposed to spending time in your room, then this place could be for you too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andymillard0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,990
    4,099
    1,620
    479
    305
See reviews for
2,583
3,266
496
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

this was my second stay in the new yorker and it will definitely not be my last this hotel is absolutely amazing the staff are so nice and professional from check in right through to check out. On checking in we found out we were to be upgraded and had a choice of river or city view, we chose city view the room was absolutely amazing and the room itself was very spacious with two double beds big bathroom and closet with in room safe. the only thing that was missing was a coffee maker and after asking the reception that was resolved quickly, also the tic-tok diner that is attached to the hotel is lovely too and fills a hole in your stomach, can't wait for my next trip to new york to stay at the new yorker again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckelly9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the New Yorker mainly because of its location, close to Penn Station. We took the train from Newark Airport, so we didn't want to go far from Penn. The location is very good in that sense, however, we found that it was extremely busy all the time around the hotel - yes, I know its New York and it was August, but we had been before and stayed nearer to Central Park where it was much quieter. You had to fight your way through the crowds every time you left The New Yorker.

The lobby of the hotel is magnificient - however, the rooms are pokey, dated and disappointing - have seen better days. The first room we were booked into proved to have a huge wet patch by the bathroom door, so we had to ask to be moved - which the hotel accommodated very quickly.

Whilst wi-fi is free, we never managed to log onto in the room - it just went round and round - except for in the lobby - so a bit of a waste of time saying its free in the rooms. There were enormous queues to book in luggage with the concierge in the mornings and reception was generally slow.

The final straw was when we came back from an evening out to find the toilet wouldn't flush - when we phoned down to reception we were told there was a problem with the water which was switched off till 5am. We had to request that someone brought us bottled water to brush our teeth. There was no apology, but we decided to forget it till the next evening, when we came back to find a note under the door to say that there was no water again till 5 am. This time were were annoyed and, having phoned the numbers on the hotel's letter and had the phone put down on us, we went down to reception.

The long and the short is that, once we were successful in speaking to a manager, we were given a fair hearing and promised a refund of one night's charges, which we did eventually get.

Overall, the rooms were disappointing and the response of the management to the crisis with the water (which affected several hundred people) was slow, unapologetic and unsympathetic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skywalker047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The first room we were given STUNK like cigarette smoke, after having signed our life away that we wouldn't smoke in the room upon check-in, it was disappointing. We were moved to another room. After having lived in the heart of downtown of a major city, I can say that noise doesn't bother me - but it was INCREDIBLY loud, and we may as well have been sleeping on the street. The bathroom was dreadful. It was circa 1960, with mold in the shower. The bed was hard, and the sheets were very creased, it looked like it had been slept in! The staff were very nice and friendly, but they never remitted a final folio on check-out and we had to chase the hotel for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleylevittovadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The employees were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to get into our room within 45 minutes. The room we had a great view of the river and the city lights. It was nice being so close to Penn Station and lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. I suggest Keens Steakhouse for one. It was perfect weekend for the two of us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. It was very quiet up there also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I came in on a red-eye from California and arrived at the New Yorker at 0730. The desk clerk was extremely helpful - she explained that the hotel had been full the night before and no rooms were available. However, she said she would call me as soon as a room opened up - she called at 1030. We had a very nice corner room with two beds on the 35th floor, with a view of the Empire State Building three blocks away..

We were in the hotel for five days, with a tour group. Evidently the size and quality of rooms varies quite a bit. Rooms with 2 beds are bigger than rooms with one. Some in our group had two beds and two baths, but an alley view and no heat. Others found their room too small and asked - and received - a bigger room. Ask at the desk about your room, and don't be afraid to request another.

Our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom where mold and mildew is often a problem. Beds and sheets were clean too, and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly.

The hotel has several elevators - one bank for floors 1-20 and another express for 2-40. Waiting and over crowding was rarely an issue. Security guards stand at the elevators and, especially later at night, ask to see room keys to prevent unwanted visitors.

We had one meal at the adjacent Cooper Tavern - salmon, which was very good - and several meals at the adjacent Tick Tock Diner. The Tick Tock is open 24 hours a day. Food is average but it comes quick.

From JFK to Manhattan by taxi is a flat $52. We had to get to Queens, near JFK, and got several rates quoted by cab drivers and by Dial7 car service. The transportation desk at the hotel quoted the highest rate. Ultimately I booked a car from Dial7 for $50.

The New Yorker offers free wifi. You can pay extra for faster broadband but we used the free. The service is good for only 12 hours, so you need to reconnect often. Wifi was fine in the room, but erratic elsewhere in the hotel or at the Tick Tock.

The hotel is on the subway line and across from Penn Station. Macy's and Herald Square is just 2 blocks, Times Square 6 blocks, any number of markets and eateries nearby. DuaneRead is right across the street, open 24 hours, with a small market and pharmacy. We never felt uncomfortable walking at night, at least from 8th Ave to 5th and from 34th Street to 47th. We had a Metro card and used the subway frequently, which we found to be fast, easy and safe. Of course we we not out in the wee hours either.

Give the New Yorker a try - I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask many questions about the room, tell the desk clerk what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1montereyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,277 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,918 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,897 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,896 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#339 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing