We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake George, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The employees were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to get into our room within 45 minutes. The room we had a great view of the river and the city lights. It was nice being so close to Penn Station and lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. I suggest Keens Steakhouse for one. It was perfect weekend for the two of us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. It was very quiet up there also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,346
    4,439
    1,788
    539
    333
See reviews for
2,921
3,596
534
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,087)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I came in on a red-eye from California and arrived at the New Yorker at 0730. The desk clerk was extremely helpful - she explained that the hotel had been full the night before and no rooms were available. However, she said she would call me as soon as a room opened up - she called at 1030. We had a very nice corner room with two beds on the 35th floor, with a view of the Empire State Building three blocks away..

We were in the hotel for five days, with a tour group. Evidently the size and quality of rooms varies quite a bit. Rooms with 2 beds are bigger than rooms with one. Some in our group had two beds and two baths, but an alley view and no heat. Others found their room too small and asked - and received - a bigger room. Ask at the desk about your room, and don't be afraid to request another.

Our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom where mold and mildew is often a problem. Beds and sheets were clean too, and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly.

The hotel has several elevators - one bank for floors 1-20 and another express for 2-40. Waiting and over crowding was rarely an issue. Security guards stand at the elevators and, especially later at night, ask to see room keys to prevent unwanted visitors.

We had one meal at the adjacent Cooper Tavern - salmon, which was very good - and several meals at the adjacent Tick Tock Diner. The Tick Tock is open 24 hours a day. Food is average but it comes quick.

From JFK to Manhattan by taxi is a flat $52. We had to get to Queens, near JFK, and got several rates quoted by cab drivers and by Dial7 car service. The transportation desk at the hotel quoted the highest rate. Ultimately I booked a car from Dial7 for $50.

The New Yorker offers free wifi. You can pay extra for faster broadband but we used the free. The service is good for only 12 hours, so you need to reconnect often. Wifi was fine in the room, but erratic elsewhere in the hotel or at the Tick Tock.

The hotel is on the subway line and across from Penn Station. Macy's and Herald Square is just 2 blocks, Times Square 6 blocks, any number of markets and eateries nearby. DuaneRead is right across the street, open 24 hours, with a small market and pharmacy. We never felt uncomfortable walking at night, at least from 8th Ave to 5th and from 34th Street to 47th. We had a Metro card and used the subway frequently, which we found to be fast, easy and safe. Of course we we not out in the wee hours either.

Give the New Yorker a try - I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask many questions about the room, tell the desk clerk what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1montereyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The New Yorker is a typical New York hotel. Small room, big price. It is very old and we loved the architecture and the history. When walk in, you feel like you are going back in time. It is in a great location if you are there for a conference. You can walk to the Javits Center and Empire State Building. If you like to walk, you can walk to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Yorker in early September. This was our first stay in the city so we were nervous about chosing the right hotel. Once we arrived, and met the hotel staff all our worries went out the door. From the valet, to the front desk, security and housekeeping, all the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. At check-in we were automatically upgraded free of charge, to a room with a view. We didn't even have to ask! It was such a nice, unexpected gesture and we were grateful to have a larger room with a view of the Hudson. We had no issues with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean.
At the end of our stay when valet returned our car, there were no issues.
We've already booked our next stay at the New Yorker in December and are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Yorker's location is great. It is an old hotel but very clean and the rooms are a nice size and clean as well. The elevators are fast and there is hardly any waiting (12 elevators!). We just needed a view to make it better. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Staff is nice and attentive. Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise get a room above the 20th floor. A/C is central and great (no window un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14,281 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#214 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,577 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#229 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#273 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing