We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Clean, friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Ranked #283 of 475 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I came in on a red-eye from California and arrived at the New Yorker at 0730. The desk clerk was extremely helpful - she explained that the hotel had been full the night before and no rooms were available. However, she said she would call me as soon as a room opened up - she called at 1030. We had a very nice corner room with two beds on the 35th floor, with a view of the Empire State Building three blocks away..

We were in the hotel for five days, with a tour group. Evidently the size and quality of rooms varies quite a bit. Rooms with 2 beds are bigger than rooms with one. Some in our group had two beds and two baths, but an alley view and no heat. Others found their room too small and asked - and received - a bigger room. Ask at the desk about your room, and don't be afraid to request another.

Our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom where mold and mildew is often a problem. Beds and sheets were clean too, and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly.

The hotel has several elevators - one bank for floors 1-20 and another express for 2-40. Waiting and over crowding was rarely an issue. Security guards stand at the elevators and, especially later at night, ask to see room keys to prevent unwanted visitors.

We had one meal at the adjacent Cooper Tavern - salmon, which was very good - and several meals at the adjacent Tick Tock Diner. The Tick Tock is open 24 hours a day. Food is average but it comes quick.

From JFK to Manhattan by taxi is a flat $52. We had to get to Queens, near JFK, and got several rates quoted by cab drivers and by Dial7 car service. The transportation desk at the hotel quoted the highest rate. Ultimately I booked a car from Dial7 for $50.

The New Yorker offers free wifi. You can pay extra for faster broadband but we used the free. The service is good for only 12 hours, so you need to reconnect often. Wifi was fine in the room, but erratic elsewhere in the hotel or at the Tick Tock.

The hotel is on the subway line and across from Penn Station. Macy's and Herald Square is just 2 blocks, Times Square 6 blocks, any number of markets and eateries nearby. DuaneRead is right across the street, open 24 hours, with a small market and pharmacy. We never felt uncomfortable walking at night, at least from 8th Ave to 5th and from 34th Street to 47th. We had a Metro card and used the subway frequently, which we found to be fast, easy and safe. Of course we we not out in the wee hours either.

Give the New Yorker a try - I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask many questions about the room, tell the desk clerk what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1montereyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,048
    4,170
    1,650
    491
    308
See reviews for
2,667
3,311
501
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The New Yorker is a typical New York hotel. Small room, big price. It is very old and we loved the architecture and the history. When walk in, you feel like you are going back in time. It is in a great location if you are there for a conference. You can walk to the Javits Center and Empire State Building. If you like to walk, you can walk to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Yorker in early September. This was our first stay in the city so we were nervous about chosing the right hotel. Once we arrived, and met the hotel staff all our worries went out the door. From the valet, to the front desk, security and housekeeping, all the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. At check-in we were automatically upgraded free of charge, to a room with a view. We didn't even have to ask! It was such a nice, unexpected gesture and we were grateful to have a larger room with a view of the Hudson. We had no issues with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean.
At the end of our stay when valet returned our car, there were no issues.
We've already booked our next stay at the New Yorker in December and are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Yorker's location is great. It is an old hotel but very clean and the rooms are a nice size and clean as well. The elevators are fast and there is hardly any waiting (12 elevators!). We just needed a view to make it better. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Staff is nice and attentive. Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise get a room above the 20th floor. A/C is central and great (no window un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated close to Times Square and Madison square garden. Penn station train and subway is very close by so ideal for getting about Manhattan and getting to JFK and Newark airports. It is a huge hotel and although rooms are quite small I would definitely stay there again. The hotel I has an air of grandeur to it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#134 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,179 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,330 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#317 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,983 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,046 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#340 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Property: Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing