We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Yorker in early September. This was our first stay in the city so we were nervous about chosing the right hotel. Once we arrived, and met the hotel staff all our worries went out the door. From the valet, to the front desk, security and housekeeping, all the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. At check-in we were automatically upgraded free of charge, to a room with a view. We didn't even have to ask! It was such a nice, unexpected gesture and we were grateful to have a larger room with a view of the Hudson. We had no issues with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean.
At the end of our stay when valet returned our car, there were no issues.
We've already booked our next stay at the New Yorker in December and are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,642
    4,796
    1,942
    597
    370
See reviews for
3,216
3,880
581
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Yorker's location is great. It is an old hotel but very clean and the rooms are a nice size and clean as well. The elevators are fast and there is hardly any waiting (12 elevators!). We just needed a view to make it better. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Staff is nice and attentive. Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise get a room above the 20th floor. A/C is central and great (no window un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated close to Times Square and Madison square garden. Penn station train and subway is very close by so ideal for getting about Manhattan and getting to JFK and Newark airports. It is a huge hotel and although rooms are quite small I would definitely stay there again. The hotel I has an air of grandeur to it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel communal areas do not have a four star feel-they feel a bit functional. However, the hotel benefits from great architecture and original art deco features (high ceiling, grand light fittings) which means it can just about get away with this. The location of the hotel is also good and service was good too.

The rooms are quite nice, and feel less basic that the communal areas. Its great to see that the bathrooms have not been striped of their deco fittings in the name of modernisation.

You can hear quite a lot of noise from next door rooms doors closing - not enough to wake me - but noticeable. If this is likely to bother you you should ask for a more secluded room.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from other rooms (if possible) if you are a light sleeper as bedroom doors closing mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is in an excellent location; it is central to a lot. Mohammed at the front desk is the man. He is incredibly pleasant and has always been helpful upon check-in. The rooms I have stayed in have always been clean, and my stays have always been comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HearYouMe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last week , hotel was ok and central to everything. Service was great especially tony @ the front desk. He gave us a great room with a fantastic view, bathroom was a bit small but we managed. Security was great and friendly. Cant wait to return 2014 !!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nelmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the excellent feedback. I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,322 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,470 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,556 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,635 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing