We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Stayed 29th August 2013 - 2 Adults 2 Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #272 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Stayed 29th August 2013 - 2 Adults 2 Children”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at the New Yorker for 3 nights in August 2013 and had a great time thanks to Mohammad who upgraded us to a suite complete with small balcony overlooking the river!
We were only in New York for 3 nights and just over 3 days (on route from Las Vegas) and hadn't done any research on where we wanted to go or sights we wanted to see. We arrived in Newark at 7.00pm and took a taxi into the city. The New York sky line was breath taking! The taxi driver pointed out sights along the way - Brooklyn bridge, Statue of of Liberty, Empire State Building ( on same street as hotel!) and he even pointed out the New Yorker Hotel.
Hotel is Art Deco in design and Mohammad at Reception very kindly upgraded us to a suite which comprised of a large bedroom with 2 queen size beds, tv, walk in wardrobe with safe plus a separate sitting area with fridge and another tv. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is small and again, in Art Deco style. I thought this added to the charm of the hotel.
The location of hotel was brilliant - same street as Empire State, one block from Times Square where you can pick up all the tour buses, around the corner from Penn Station and Madison Garden plus a McDonalds, Starbucks and supermarket opposite.
The staff and other guests in the hotel were very friendly (all were happy to advise what we should see and do) plus the adjoining Tick Tock cafe was great for a late night drink and snack.
New York is a great place to stay - we all enjoyed our stay there and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Apparently, the View Rooms (on higher floors) as the name suggests comes with great views of the Emp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytripper13106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    4,746
    1,916
    586
    368
See reviews for
3,169
3,841
573
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From check in to check out we couldn't have asked for more. Perfectly located for all the main attractions of New York, clean rooms with a daily maid check. Mohammed at check in was lovely even giving me a gift for my husband who's birthday it was and upgrading our room for a view of the Empire State Building.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel as it would accommodate our family of 5. We stayed in June for a week and then came back 3 weeks later for another few days. It was like staying in 2 different hotels. The first time we were greeted by a lovely friendly lady on reception who explained everything to us about breakfast vouchers, wi fi and had staff attend to making up the sofa bed right away. We found the room to be a good size and the sofa bed area fine. The 2nd time we found the whole experience very different. The man on reception was less than welcoming. The room, although the same type booked the first time, was a much smaller room which was not really big enough for 5. The breakfast procedure was completely different and we had to ask about it. We waited for over an hour for someone to make up the bed despite the fact that it was already midnight. Our first experience was great but we did not enjoy our 2nd visit. The foyer of the hotel is lovely and the location is a great base for exploring New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trene37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

2 blocks from Time square, large bedroom perfect for family , 27 floors, wonderful views,
But very very small bathroom and needed renovation.....
.
Staff very nice and helpful. special thanks to Mohammed at the reception desk and Anthany at the assistance desk.

Restaurant downstairs, very good and open 24/24.

Room Tip: Ask for room south east vue to Empire state and Chrisler at 27 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there twice. I would stay there again. It has been refurbished since my last visit in 2006. The rooms were nice snd clean. It is located close to Times Square and Madison Square Gardens. Bloomingdales is a walk away. Close to the Fashion District .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had planned a short ish visit and the combination of relatively affodable prices and the central location made this a good choice. The staff are super helpful, the rooms ( in our case we spent a bit more and had one of the 40th floor Tower Suites) were great and the art deco theme throughout the reception, hallways and rooms was just great.
The 24 hour Tick Tock diner has food to sustain you whenever you want, and to be able to get anywhere in Manhattan via the subway, which is literally 50 yards from the hotel entrance, made it a fantastic choice
Highly recommended - it you are thinking about this hotel, then book it. You won't be disappointed

Room Tip: The higher the better - the traffic noise anywhere in Manhattan is a problem from time to time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#99 of 466 in New York City
4,292 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 466 in New York City
18,079 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 466 in New York City
9,483 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#261 of 466 in New York City
4,547 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing