We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as the 1st part of our honeymoon. We chose this hotel due to its location and reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The location was fab!! within in walking distance of pretty much everything (empire state building, times square, centarl park, rockafeller building etc). The room was very clean and we had an excellant view of the empire state building (room 1940), the only down side is the rooms are on the small side and the bathroom is very squashed (definately not enough room for 2 in there). Other than that cannot fault the hotel. Oh and the diner attached to the hotel (tic tock diner) is afab place for breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,638
    4,792
    1,938
    594
    370
See reviews for
3,211
3,873
580
1,298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My reservation was for a suite. I could not get 2 beds in a regular room. All of them were booked. When I checked in, I asked if there was a 2 bed in a regular window available. Instead of a regular room with 2 beds, they upgraded us to a suite (no additional charge) that had a balcony with view, bedroom with 2 queen beds, a full bath, walk in closet and flat screen TV. The suite also had a den with a refrigerator, closet, a full bath, sofa bed, desk, and flat screen TV. Mohammed was so accommodating. Joking with him, we said the only thing we did not have was a coffee maker. Well, in about an hour, we had a coffee maker. I love this hotel. I have been staying here off and on for 15 years. Security is premium and the Tic Tock Diner has great food. I was here for 9-11, and the black out. The hotel made sure all guests were looked after and safe. Thank you New Yorker for another great week!!

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and large. Ask for a small suite. The price is right. If you upgrade the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathall6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week. We were within walking distance of many attractions including empire state, Rockerfeller centre, Time Square and many eating places. We also walked to central park from here as well. But just across the road/corner is Penn station which means you have access to all of New York within a 5 minute walk. Hotel was tidy and clean. After an initial mix up with rooms (our fault) they were very accomodating and changing rooms and gave us a room with a terrific view of the Empire State Building. There is a bit of street noise but in New York this would be hard to escape anywhere. Rooms as others have said are on the smaller size but quite adequate. Overall it was quite expensive to stay but maybe that is just central new York? Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location looking down 34th Street with a wonderful view of the Empire State Building. Clean and comfortable. An iconic building with a good diner attached. Lucy's Bar diagonally opposite the hotel had a comfortable roof terrace and good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 436DianeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013, on a sightseeing holiday. Our room was clean and comfortable and service was polite. We also used the fitness centre which was a decent size and had enough equipment to keep us happy. It was very close to Times Square and the theatre district - which would be great for most, but wasn't ideal for us as it was quite busy and noisy at street level. We were on the 27th floor and weren't disturbed by street noise at night, but we did have a pigeon roosting on our windowsill one night! :-)

On the downside, the room was very small and a view of a brick wall with a tiny patch of sky visible. Make sure you ask if you want a large room with a view! The hotel has some art deco charm but we found the atmosphere slightly dark and oppressive. Breakfast at the Tick Tock diner was OK, but I suspect there is better available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We searched and searched for accommodations for our group of 5. We wanted to stay together and had difficulty finding a place large enough. The New Yorker fit the bill perfectly. We had a nice suite with 2 comfy beds and living room space with pull out couch, TWO bathrooms and two large closets which meant we didn't have trip over our suitcases all weekend. We also had a nice concrete balcony area off the bedroom, nice surprise. No furniture so we didn't spend much time there, but it was still nice to have some fresh air access and really nice views from there. Elevators were fast!! Staff very nice and friendly. Concierge helpful with subway routes and other suggestions. Rooms were very clean, lots of towels. DEEP tub for soaking sore and tired legs and feet after a long day of sight seeing. Plenty of hot water. Air conditioning worked well. Wifi in room was included and very helpful.

Tick Tock Diner breakfast was simple coffee, juice and pastry but for just $5-10 dollars you can have a nice full diner breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast, waffles, etc. It was very nice to have it attached to hotel lobby. Excellent choice for 5 ladies on a girlfriends get way; would also bring my family here as well. Just a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W00dsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#94 of 467 in New York City
4,314 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,416 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,547 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,616 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing