We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great stay here in Aug 2013. Very large room (although could see some smaller rooms on the fire escape plan) and quick check in and check out. Great customer service, fab location.
Front desk were very polite and welcoming.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best but you are in NY City....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,766 - 5,772 of 11,586 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recently stayed in room 2241 ... avoid rooms like this one if you can. It is right outside the cleaners cupboard, so from about 7.30am it is really noisy. The worst aspect of our stay was the noise of water pipes from neighbouring rooms (both above and beside!). The hotel is in a great location (near Penn Station), and is kept very clean. Follow other peoples recommendations and get a room on as high a floor as possible, that is the only way to avoid street noise.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dunkirk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We started off our Honeymoon with 4 nights in New York at The New Yorker Hotel. Prior to departure I had emailed the hotel to inform them that our trip was for our Honeymoon, Ronny at Guest Services replied to say they would upgrade our room. On arrival we saw Mohammed, what a character he was, very funny and extremely friendly. Mohammed duly upgraded our room so that we had a view of the Empire State Building, when we entered our room I couldn't believe the view- it was like something out of a picture book, incredible!!!

All staff at the Hotel were very friendly and happy to do anything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was of a high standard with everything you need on a City break. The hotel was spotless.

The location of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing, I don't think you could be more central. Most major sites are within walking distance, and for those that are a bit further (Ground Zero) the tube station is across the road.

The Tick Tock Diner attached to the hotel is incredible for breakfast, great way to fuel you for the day, you can eat as healthily or unhealthily as you like, My favourites were the Protein Breakfast and the New York Strip with scrambled eggs.

If i were to go to New York again I would definitely stay here and highly recommend it to anybody visiting this amazing city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautifully restored hotel designed in the 1920s with a spacious foyer. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. We had two 'Queen' rooms that had useful sized safes in them and spotless en-suites. We didn't mind the room size as we were out all day but the hotel should manage people's expectations regarding the very small rooms and then travelers would be less likely to complain on here.
The E subway is directly outside the hotel on 34th and Penn Street Station is half a block away which is useful as if arriving from JFK you can use the Airtrain to Jamaica ($6) and transfer to the LIRR directly to Penn Station ($16) saving the long wait for a taxi at JFK.
The privately run Tick Tock Diner on the street level is a bit of a lottery and you can find better diners on both 33rd and 34th street.
All the hotel staff were so helpful, thank you, nothing was too much trouble and if we visit again we will definitely stay here again but may upgrade to a larger room.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can to avoid street noise, above the 20th flloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 1980 and returned recently to see that it had been sympathetically restored. The service was efficient and courteous. The Bar was atmospheric offering a variety of cocktails and a happy hour. The bathroom in the bedroom ensuite could have possibly been updated but all in all a good value, central hotel which was close to Times square and Macys. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeenieWeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed (family of four) at the New Yorker for four nights, and we all agreed that the service and location is excellent. Friendly and helpful staff a special thanks to Mohammed at reception he put us up in the suite on the 25th floor with a fantastic city view. We used the Tick Tock Diner every day, good food and excellent service. Transportation staff were also very helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to use again. Many thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2530 with great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#105 of 469 in New York City
4,405 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,237 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,801 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $161 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing