We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price - excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrie, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great price - excellent service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the New Yorker from July 3 - 6. We had an excellent room for the price. The point to be made is that this was my first time in NYC. I had to get to Citi Field to see the Mets and to Yankee Stadium to see the Yankees. This city can be a bit overwhelming at times, however, the Conceirge(s) Suzie and Gail could not do enough for us. They helped us get tickets, and gave us exact directions on how to get to where we needed to be. The subway was closeby and they gave us the exact information we needed to be confident to get to both games. They were friendly and engaging to everyone who approached thier desk for help. I will stay at the New Yorker on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeafFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,602
    4,742
    1,912
    585
    368
See reviews for
3,167
3,837
572
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is top of the line and good value worth stay from its history, location, and property. The room size is impressive, the room temperature control is easy to use, the televesion is good quality. The bath room is very poor, although the towel supply is pretty. The bath tub and tap water control is not comfortable. The quest parking (so-called vally parking) is very. very, very poor. The pick up of your car took more than 45 minutes from a remote location and very few service persons working.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Victor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

the hotel is very convinient for manhatton . the staff are very friendly . room was ok avarrage..we stayed for the first part of our honneymoon . the experience of new york was well located..The room was small but had everything we needed. hotel is very close to the empire state building and couple of blocks from time square and the hudson river

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the New Yorker over the July 4th weekend. The hotel is well situated close to the Blue and Red subway lines which makes it easy to get around as well it is walking distance to many shops and restaurants. As with most hotels in New York the rooms are small but they are clean and well maintained. I was not disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at the New Yorker for a conference in June. First, the good:
- The centrally located hotel is easy to get to—and if you're traveling for work, there are very close delis, a Duane Reade and a Starbucks right across the street. All essential for an easy business trip.
- The room, while not large, was clean and the bed was comfortable.
- The staff seemed nice.
- I loved the old sign and the historic elements of the hotel.

Now, the less good:
- The bathroom needed a serious makeover. The lighting was bad and everything just felt old. Vintage has its place, but for me, that place is not the bathroom!
- The meeting rooms were freezing. Not just "help you stay awake" chilly, but freezing.

Overall, I would stay here again if I had a good reason, but I would probably seek out something more modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience encountered and for not meeting your expectations. It is through guest feedback such as yours that we can work towards bettering our guest experience. I invite you to contact me next time you plan your trip to the area, I would gladly assist you with any request or questions you may have to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,021 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,287 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,541 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing