We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The hotel is top of the line and good value worth stay from...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Ranked #283 of 475 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Longmeadow
2 reviews
“The hotel is top of the line and good value worth stay from...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is top of the line and good value worth stay from its history, location, and property. The room size is impressive, the room temperature control is easy to use, the televesion is good quality. The bath room is very poor, although the towel supply is pretty. The bath tub and tap water control is not comfortable. The quest parking (so-called vally parking) is very. very, very poor. The pick up of your car took more than 45 minutes from a remote location and very few service persons working.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Victor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,048
    4,169
    1,650
    491
    308
See reviews for
2,666
3,311
501
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

the hotel is very convinient for manhatton . the staff are very friendly . room was ok avarrage..we stayed for the first part of our honneymoon . the experience of new york was well located..The room was small but had everything we needed. hotel is very close to the empire state building and couple of blocks from time square and the hudson river

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the New Yorker over the July 4th weekend. The hotel is well situated close to the Blue and Red subway lines which makes it easy to get around as well it is walking distance to many shops and restaurants. As with most hotels in New York the rooms are small but they are clean and well maintained. I was not disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at the New Yorker for a conference in June. First, the good:
- The centrally located hotel is easy to get to—and if you're traveling for work, there are very close delis, a Duane Reade and a Starbucks right across the street. All essential for an easy business trip.
- The room, while not large, was clean and the bed was comfortable.
- The staff seemed nice.
- I loved the old sign and the historic elements of the hotel.

Now, the less good:
- The bathroom needed a serious makeover. The lighting was bad and everything just felt old. Vintage has its place, but for me, that place is not the bathroom!
- The meeting rooms were freezing. Not just "help you stay awake" chilly, but freezing.

Overall, I would stay here again if I had a good reason, but I would probably seek out something more modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience encountered and for not meeting your expectations. It is through guest feedback such as yours that we can work towards bettering our guest experience. I invite you to contact me next time you plan your trip to the area, I would gladly assist you with any request or questions you may have to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time visiting New York and we chose the New Yorker. We had a room with an amazing view that we weren't expecting at all! We could see the Empire State, Chrysler Building and Madison Square garden. The rooms are really clean and comfortable. The bathroom seemed a little dated but again, was really clean and perfect for us. Already looking into going back again this year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanJoshua00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. The suite we had was huge, which is saying a lot in NYC!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Starla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stay at different hotels is New York couple times a year and this time it was The New Yorker hotel. The hotel is located at the business area; may be convenient for business purposes but it is not a good location for touristic stays. More than that, the standard room was so small that only the bed and the very tiny desk were just fitted. The bathroom was so tiny that you can not move if you don't close the door. The decoration is old and tasteless. Although the staff is friendly, I would not choose this hotel again in NY where for this money you can find better hotels at better places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChicDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#134 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,178 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,330 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#317 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,987 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,053 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#340 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Property: Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing