We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the New Yorker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the New Yorker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hotel great staff, gave us birthday and anniversary upgrades!
When ever I'm in the city I'm staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,486
    4,595
    1,842
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,051
3,721
552
1,235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location! Easy and direct route from JFK...Penn Station right outside the hotel doors provides convenient access to all the sights. Walking distance to Time Square, Macy's and 5th Ave, Rockefeller Centre etc. We had an amazing view of the Empire State Building from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Service and food/beverage in attached diner and bar was quick and delicious. Rooms were on the smaller side, but very CLEAN and quiet. We spent all our time exploring New York City, so the room size was not important to us. Great hotel with lots of character and excellent access to everything!!

Room Tip: Queen rooms are much small than ones with 2 Dbls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We hadn't read much or seen much about this hotel as it was a spur of the moment 3 day addition to a holiday in florida so a travel agent just picked the hotel for us and told us the price (a very reasonable price and our holiday ended up cheaper when flying via new york instead of straight to orlando). When we walked in we thought we must be in the wrong place as it is a beautiful reception area with exceptional service to help with luggage. The room was modern and comfortable if not a little bit cramped and due to the location of our room we sadly only had a view of the opposite room's window instead of the city (even though we were on the 23rd floor). Soundless night as far as corridors were concerned with only a few car horns disturbing the peace (nothing that bothered us too much as we were both from an area with a lot of traffic noise anyway). Overall we were very impressed!

Room Tip: Don't book if afraid of heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We checked in and had good service, until trying to get up the elevator where a bell boy was checking room keys, my friends was up in the room. He wouldnt let him up. I stated to him that it is a dumb rule especially when we were the only ones being asked for keys. He then told me to shut up. I went to front desk to complain as they basically call me a liar. From there we were scared of letting the maids coming into our room to clean it. Next day we were greeted in the hallway from a maid saying she was told she has to clean our room. We said fine. When we came back to the hotel room our safe was open, and all my credit cards were dug through. When i made a report about this they stood up for their staff and said that it is not possible for maids to access the safe. The maid that was "told" to clean our room, failed to remove our garbage, change our sheets. I strongly recommend going to a different hotel as paying $2100 for 9 nights was nothing but a horrid nightmare. Worst thing is i have stayed at this hotel more than once, but the first 2 times never had a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
btrbklyn, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your business at the New Yorker Hotel.

We value every guest right to write a honest review of their stay.

The New Yorker Hotel is a 912 room classic hotel located in the heart of New York City with impressive service. We understand some guests will make complaints on social media that were not addressed to management of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived at Penn station, walked across the street and were met by a most pleasant clerk by the name of Samira (who, by the way, is wonderful and deserves a raise) She immediately gave us a room I'd been unable to book online which was roomy and had everything we needed. The hotel served as a perfect home base for tooling around the city and the attached restaurant was reasonably priced with tasty food!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade..you never know :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,506 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,172 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#306 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing