We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Ranked #283 of 475 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had originally booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Pennsylvania for myself and friends from Scotland. When we arrived at the hotel they acknowledged we had booked but said they were oversold and would not honor my reservation.They were extremely rude. They did not offer to walk us over or a cab. We had to walk the 2 very long blocks with our luggage. They told us to go to the New Yorker. When we got to the New Yorker the people could not have been nicer. They immediately got us 2 rooms and let us check in at 10:30 in the morning. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The diner attached to the hotel was wonderful. All in all in was a great experience and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,048
    4,170
    1,650
    492
    308
See reviews for
2,668
3,311
501
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, well serviced. We changed one room as it was so small and it was no bother. Good diner and restraint attached, diner is 24hr. Good service all round. Would go back. Great position for Maddison sq garden and subways.

Room Tip: If room is small just ask for another
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a great experience from valet parking with











This was a great experience from valet parking our car with
Hector,to the front desk check in with Onelia Green to the beautiful suite with a view of everything! The room was beautiful,decorated in art deco(a personal favorite of mine) and the facilities were terrific. I agree the beds were super comfortable and the choices in the breakfast room were varied and delicious. All in all,a brief business trip became a mini vacation! I would choose this hotel for location,price and great value.

Room Tip: Corner suites are luxurious and the views can't be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We decided on a long weekend in NY to see a Broadway show and chose the New Yorker because of location. Unfortunately we were not that impressed with the room itself. It was very small and cramped and the bathroom was equally small. We did have a nice view of the Hudson River but would have rather had a room where we had some place to sit other than the bed. True there was a chair at a desk but there was no room to pull the chair.
The lobby, shop, bar and restaurant we nice and we used the business center as well. All were very well maintained. I can't say the reception folks were that friendly to us upon arrival but the bar and sundry shop staff made up for them.
If you are looking for a place with a fantastic location and don't care about room size then this is a good hotel - although even the location didn't make it a value in my opinion.
We had two small complaints - someone was hammering and drilling in the room next to us and we had to call the front desk so we could take a nap. I believe they were rehabbing the room. And the hair dryer kept over heating after only 30 seconds - but we called the front desk and they brought us another one.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of room before you commit - make sure you're okay with it. It's nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose this based on value for money and location and reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is centrally located near Penn Station and the subway and a few blocks from Time Square and close to numerous stores. It is an older style hotel but has character and is immaculate. The entire staff - from the Front Desk, to the luggage handlers including the Transportation and Concierge were all friendly and helpful. We had a small issue with our room but Mohammed the manager insisted that we move and we got upgraded to a suite overlooking the entire Manhattan skyline with the Empire State Building in full view - what a treat. The beds are super comfy. This is a hotel I would definitely recommend to others. Both our rooms were quiet so no issues there. The New Yorker embraces the feel of New York!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view - it might cost a few dollars more but is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NieseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and initially we were given a room overlooking the river. We particularly wanted a room with a view of the Empire State Building and the next morning a member of the check in staff very kindly changed our room. Although the room was smaller, the fabulous view more than compensated.
We had prebooked hop on hop off bus tours. However we found, due to heavy traffic, it was quicker to walk to some attractions in midtown.
I would particularly recommend the boat trip around lower Manhatten which was one attraction included in our bus tour deal.
There was a diner and a restaurant in the hotel.The restaurant was very pleasant although a little too expensive for us. We thought the Tick Tock Diner was ideal. It was open 24/7, reasonably priced, had a varied menu and was very popular with residents and non-residents alike. Our only criticism was the portions were enormous, way too much for the normal appetite.
Would definately recommend this hotel, it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms on the higher floors with a view to the east
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannaLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#134 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,179 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,330 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#317 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,988 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,057 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#340 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Property: Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing