We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon AND first time abroad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #277 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon AND first time abroad!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The New Yorker Hotel for 9 nights last December for our long anticipated honeymoon. The staff were extremely welcoming and it was perfectly situated for everything in New York. It is particular conveniently placed for Penn Station (which can take you anywhere you fancy!), 'Best Bagel...And Coffee' (THE best bagel place EVER but sadly the WORST coffee) and the incredible lights of Times Square (close enough to be convenient but far away enough to enjoy your slumber!). I would also like to recommend the Hotel shop which sells all the typical NYC souveniers at a reasonable price; we bought most of our gifts for friends and family from here!

The hotel is a perfect base to explore New York and has a certain charm about it, in a kind of Art Deco dated way! Perhaps not to everyone's taste!

We would like to give special thanks to the hospitality of the hotel concierge who was kind enough to upgrade us to the suite for our stay; it made an already very special trip unforgettable and we cannot thank you enough for this extra touch,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennafrappafrubalaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,565
    4,694
    1,887
    581
    360
See reviews for
3,127
3,796
563
1,270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WALLACE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location - across from Penn station & Madison Square Garden, 2 short blocks to Macy's, 8 blocks (streets) to Times Square & Theatre District. We upgraded to a suite on check in. Huge double room, 1 1/2 baths.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was pleased with the New Yorker Hotel when staying for business. The location is wonderful, especially if you are there for any business at the Javits Convention Center. My room was very small, but it is New York, small rooms are not out of the ordinary. Most New Yorkers probably would have considered it a penthouse! The room and the facilities were clean and the staff pleasant and courteous. I would recommend having more than one bellman attending the desk though. The water pressure, temperature, and shower head did leave a bit to be desired though. The water just sprayed everywhere in a faint mist. I also had a window (opaque of course) in my tub which made it a bit chilly since it was quite cold outside. The restaurant and bar, Coopers, in the hotel served good food and drinks without a wait. I wasn't aware or told of breakfast in the hotel, but the attached Tick Tock Diner was quick, delicious, and a pleasant experience. Overall, I would stay here again given the duration of the trip and if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The New Yorker Hotel is an excellent base. We booked directly with the hotel and opted for bed & breakfast. Breakfast is served in the Tick Tock diner and we weren't disappointed. The food was excellent each time as was the service. The bedroom itself was a little on the small side and the bathroom was in need of a little TLC. Our room was on the 26th floor - I had requested a room in a quiet location and that's what we were given. Thank goodness we were as we could still hear the traffic in the street below. I don't know what the noise would have been like if we'd have been in a lower floor. Times Square is approximately 10 minutes walk and the Empire State Building, Macy's and Madison Square Garden are just round the corner. I'd definitely recommend booking the hotel shuttle back to the airport. It cost $60 for 2 people but was better than dragging our cases back up the street to the Port Authority Terminal to queue for the Newark Airport Express bus. We caught this bus on the way to the hotel. It cost $32 for 2 people. The only trouble was you were expected to lug your case onto the bus with you with no help from the driver. We'd definitely go back to this hotel again. Very clean, comfy beds and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for one in a quiet location, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,497 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,925 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 468 in New York City
6,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing